1989 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 3.8 V6 from North America


Reliable and comfortable, I will keep it forever!


Transmission went out at 3,000 miles.

Paint is beginning to chip a tiny bit.

Water hose at 130,000 miles.

General Comments:

It is a great car! I take it on trips all over the Southeast United States still and it has never given me any trouble. I love the way it glides down the interstate noiselessly. You would not think of a Buick having a ton of power, but it passes without hesitation on 2 lane Alabama roads. You have to be careful or you will start speeding a ton and not even notice it! I just returned from Miami, Florida and it did not give me one ounce of trouble on the 2,000 mile drive from East-Central Alabama!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2004

1989 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 Liter 3.8 from North America




Transmission at 3,000 miles.

Water hose at 130,000 miles.

Air Conditioner at 105,000 miles.

That all I can think of!

General Comments:

My LeSabre is the most amazing car I have ever owned. It is so comfortable and powerful at 146,000 miles. I still drive it on 500+ mile trips for vacation without hesitation. I never worrie about it breaking down because it has given me minimal trouble!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2004

30th Sep 2009, 01:36

Make sure you replace the timing chain and guides at 200,000. Prevenative maintenance that'll keep you from wiping out the motor. Do that and regular maintenance, and I've seen these things with close to 500k on them.

1989 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8LV6 from North America




The only thing that has gone wrong with the car was the vibration damper causing the engine to make a horrible noise. We paid $150 to get it fixed. Other than that it's just been normal maintenance. It does have a leaky radiator though (thanks to my brother) causing it to overheat in our hot ass Boise summers. The price for the radiator is $300. When this car finally goes I will buy another one. This has been the best car in my family, it has outlasted everyone's car. It still has all the original haul ass power and it still drives and rides like it is brand new. I absolutely love this car it kicks ass.

General Comments:

The design is good. The paint kind of sucks though. The car still looks pretty good and everything for the most part is easily accessible, like the back wards hood.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2004

1989 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8L V6 from North America


Usually good cars, but this one was possessed


-Fuel Pump (3 times)

-Mass Air Flow Sensor (expensive bugger)

-Main engine control computer (s) I belive there are two on the Buicks of that year, and at least one of them was problematic for certain!

-Transmission, changed the fluid to find many many metal flakes, much more that is OK. Transmission would slip out of gear when cold, which is most of the time in Alaska.

General Comments:

I don't know what happened! My folks had an '88 LeSabre when I was a kid and that thing is still running like a champ! This one needed an excorcist more than a mechanic. I considered pouring holy water into the radiator!

It was a decent car, for the first week, then it just went down from there. It had great power when it ran correctly. It turned into a nightmare really quick.

It really became annoying when a professional mechanic started talking about just changing out parts until it worked right! What a gyp!

I ended up donating it to the Salvation Army, I just wouldn't be able to live with myself if I had tried to sell it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th July, 2004

14th Jul 2004, 09:24

Anyone who talks about changing out parts until they hit on the one causing the problem does not deserve to be called a "professional mechanic"...

"Groping bozo" would be a more appropriate title.

1989 Buick LeSabre Custom Vortec 3.8 V6 (3.8L) from North America


Great first car


Rear passenger signal went out at about 127800.

Dome light went out at about 125500.

A/C and Heater don't work very well. Needs fixing still.

Passenger manual window broke at about 126000. Easily fixed.

General Comments:

When I first found out my parents first took me shopping for a used car and they chose this one. First thing that popped in my head was "Grandpa Car".

Boy, was I wrong.

People don't realize the power these old Buick's have. The Vortec 3800 V6 engine is sweet.

I love how the hood opens back wards like some sports cars.

The trunk is HUGE. I can fit so much junk there.

The gas mileage isn't the best. But for a V6 it's not bad.

The only thing that sucks is that when you want to listen to the radio, you have to have the engine on. You can't have it in accessory position or the battery will die.

Other than that, an awesome car. And a great deal and only $1200.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2004

21st Oct 2005, 09:00

The 3800 isn't a Vortec engine, it's a Buick engine.