1993 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1993 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

This Buick is quick and slick for less than nothing

Faults:

I had to do a complete brake job including rotors on the car almost immediatley after I bought it. That set me back a quick 700 dollars.

The tires went soon after (138000). They had dry rotted from the previous owner. Than ran my 400 because I chose to upgrade to white walls.

At 140000 miles I replaced the front struts as a precautionary measure. That set me back 200 dollars.

The only other problem was the paint, which had blistered from excessive heat.

General Comments:

I bought this car for 1000 dollars in June 2003. Some people think that this is an old person car but it is not. This can be a car for everyone, I am 17. But I could not be happier with it. It is fast, smooth, and comfy. You really get your bang for your buck with this car.

It is easy to work on as well. I have done all my own oil changes with no fuss or mess. I installed two 10 inch sub woofers and a 480 watt amp in a afternoon. The head unit came out in a weekend. If you like to work on a car, this is your best deal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2004

13th Jan 2004, 07:21

It sounds like you do your own mechanical work so how could you spend $700 to do the brakes? Unless you had to replace some ABS components, sounds like someone really shafted you on the parts prices.

Also, if you did not want the "old person car" image, why did you get whitewall tires?

22nd Apr 2006, 16:29

How much would you like for it.

13th Jan 2011, 19:56

I purchased my LeSabre back in August. 69,000 miles! It's a great car for long road trips and it's been excellent in the snow. It feels very safe. I'm a 20 year old college student, and depend greatly on this car to perform without a lot of maintenance.

Anyway, the only problem I've had is for awhile it wouldn't start. It wouldn't turn over or anything. Sometimes the lights would start flashing. I called AAA, they ran tests on it saying the alternator was fine, battery was fine.. Took it in and my mechanic told me it was a common problem with these cars. Apparently they have some sort of anti-theft system involving the chip in the key. Luckily my mechanic was familiar with the car, and rewired the relay system to where it's no longer functioning and the car starts fine. All under $200 :)

So far it's been a much better experience than my previous 1993 Cadillac Eldorado! Inexpensive parts, and no over heating! Would recommend to anyone.

1993 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 kilometres
Most recent distance112000 kilometres
Previous carGMC Safari

Summary:

Buy a Buick!

Faults:

When I first acquired the car, there were some problems with the A/C unit, but these were fixed for about $150.

One headlight bulb wore out, and was replaced.

I have had no problems with the power windows, but one function on the passenger power seat has stopped functioning.

The car may need a new alternator soon, as it sounds as though the bearings are wearing out.

General Comments:

This is a great car. Even in our cold winters the car starts every morning without a block heater.

The ride and the interior levels of comfort are terrific.

Handling is what would be suspected from a large luxury car with soft suspension. The 3.8 V6 lacks a little power, but makes up for it in fuel economy.

Fuel economy is good, at about 28 mile/gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2003

1993 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8 Series II from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 Series II Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance152000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Grand Voyager

Summary:

Comfortable luxury sedan

Faults:

This car has been in my family since it was new.

It has gone through 6 or 7 alternators, the first 3 under warranty, one of which was replaced months after owning the car.

The transmission seals went at about 100000km.

Brakes and tires have been replaced through regular maintenance.

Muffler replaced.

Turn signal indicator spring broke, so the signal switch would not cancel, cost $250 CAD to fix.

Horn never worked all of the time, was serviced under warranty, still temperamental to date.

A/C was recharged last year, was cold for a while, has warmed up a bit since.

Passenger power lock would lock, but would not unlock, $300 CAD to fix.

Sometimes transmission will not go into drive right away, you have to wait a couple of seconds for it to engage (on occasion).

General Comments:

The car has been in my family since new.

It has had problems, but aside for that, it is a very comfortable luxury car.

It has every option, including the leather seats, which look brand new (except for a rip on the driver's seat), the interior is flawless.

The paint is incredible, it still shines (except for scratches from other people).

The car has the Gran Touring package and it makes a huge difference, the wide 16" tires grip the road like a sports sedan, while keeping the smooth ride.

It is rather big, it is referred by my friends to be an "old man's car".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th October, 2002

31st Dec 2003, 06:18

Above review is pretty much on the money. I have found the suspension has cost me a lot over the last four years. One alternator. Horn doesn't work. Lots of little things over the first two years of ownership (bought the '94 in '00) but lately not bad. Not good either.

13th Jan 2005, 07:51

I just purchased the 1993 Lasabre this pass summer as a second car. I bought it with the same transmission problem you mentioned. you must warm up the car before it goes in drive. a pain in the winter as I live in NY. the car rides beautiful and many of the things that are wrong or rather broke with it I believe is time and wear and tear on the car, the passenger side window door switch gets jammed so you can only use the driver side to work it, the ABS brake light stays on. I am looking for advice to see whether or not I am better off having the transmission rebuilt or take the chance in purchasing a used one. if this is a common occurence with the Lasabre than getting a used one will only leave me with the same problem down the road.

10th Aug 2006, 02:04

6 or 7 alternators? An alternator is supposed last 10 years or more, and often lasts the entire lifespan of the car, that is at least 15 years for a Buick.

This car must have some other electrical problem somewhere that shorts the alternator. But sorry to say, this is typical for many garages, they only fix what is obvious and don't bother looking what may have caused the failure. After changing alternator for several times, you should REALLY ask the garage to find the real problem.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 15 reviews