1994 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1994 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8 MPFI OHV V6 - Series 1 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.8 MPFI OHV V6 - Series 1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance199500 miles

Summary:

A classy Buick, with powerful acceleration, and the comfort of a couch!

Faults:

Fuel pump went at 190,000 - not too bad for the original one.

Hood latch needed replacement a month ago.

Car is finally starting to rust at 15 years old!

General Comments:

The car is a big boat with hearty acceleration, very comfortable.

People can use the backseat as a couch!

Handles surprisingly well for a land yacht!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2009

4th Nov 2009, 10:23

Don't get me wrong, I like the early 90s LeSabres a lot, but its funny to hear this car described as a 'big boat'! We've got 1 1992 Park Ave in my family, and my father calls it 'that little car'. (Of course our other cars have all been the full-sized V8 types).

5th Nov 2009, 17:51

That 3800 SERIES 2 is a darn good motor, it'll outlast the tranny for sure and probably the car itself! The Series 1 was actually late 80's if I'm not mistaken. Even though to me a TRUE Buick has a V8 and rear-wheel drive I gotta admit the newer LeSabre was a good design (with the exception of those dang power windows!) Get yourself a '96 Roadmaster (last V8 rear-drive Buick they offered), preferably with the LT1 5.7 V8 (even the base 305 was decent tho) and you'll be a happy camper for real.

7th Nov 2009, 05:38

Actually the 3800 Series I was the good one - the Series II had the bad (plastic) intake manifold, which usually ends up destroying the engine. The Series I's were made from the late 1980s ('88 I think) through about 1994.

1994 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Good car when she decides to work!

Faults:

My car will not idle/rev up.

ABS dash light is always on.

When I twist the key to turn the car on, the brake dash light comes on. When the car does turn on, it may turn off, and the brakes tighten up and the steering wheel tightens.

Please HELP a.s.a.p.

General Comments:

The car is a luxury status car, and gets the job done every now and then.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2008

1994 Buick LeSabre Limited Edition 3.8 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

I like it a lot

Faults:

I replaced the battery like 4 months ago.

Now I think my starter went out, because it won't even turn over now, but all the lights come on.

General Comments:

I loved the car; it is just great.

I just hate it when it breaks down, and I don't know what's wrong with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2008

1994 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired170 miles
Most recent distance154000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

A comfortable, reliable, solid American sedan

Faults:

* Original water pump @ 153,000

* Generator

* Power antenna

* Driver's side power lock

* Spontaneous crack near upper driver's door in left front quarter panel

* Transmission coolant lines leaked/failed @ 154,000

* Generator replaced, multiple times

* Power windows stick at times

* Small oil leak started approx 85K miles

* Front air dam fell off

* Smoke wisps from steering column

* Driver's seat frame cracked, had to be replaced

* Vacuum line controlling front A/C vents loosened

* Master cylinder replaced approximately 4 years ago

* CV boots torn, replaced.

General Comments:

Despite the specific problems listed, this Lesabre has proven to be a reliable, comfortable family sedan that has happily carried me and my family across town and country for the last decade. Ample trunk space provided room for luggage on cross-country trips from Oklahoma to Florida three years ago, and pushed 27-30 mpg fuel performance down and back. Its ongoing performance at 154K miles has made me a believer in the GM 3800 engine series.

Although its age is starting to show, and leading to more numerous, and more expensive repairs, I can heartily endorse this fine Buick product. Its unfortunate that the current replacement for my LeSabre would run close to $30,000 - and that's just out of my budget. If not for that, I'd already have bought a *fourth* consecutive LeSabre...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2004

1994 Buick LeSabre 1994 Buick Custom 4-door seda 3.8 Series 1 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Series 1 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance124172 miles
Previous carChrysler Voyager

Summary:

American luxury for anyone

Faults:

I have not had too many problems with this car. The one thing that I had work done on is the spark plugs, and spark plug wires. The engine began to stall out or even sporadically die while the car was engaged in gear. I took it to the dealership and they said nothing was wrong. This continued on and off for a few months, until a friend recommended a local mechanic. The mechanic had experience with this problem, and knew exactly what to do. It turned out that he owned a 94 Park Avenue, that had been having the same problem.

General Comments:

There are several things I love about this car. To start off with, it has a beautiful shape. The large body heralds back to the time of the classic big body cars that were expected from U.S. car makers.

There is also plenty of room. the interior has more than enough room for people my size. I am 6 foot 4 inches tall, and don't have any problem getting in our out of the car. It also has a great trunk space to pack full of groceries, or build a box for some thump in the trunk!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2003

4th Dec 2003, 10:47

I would like to know what the problem was. My car does the same thing. If you could please respond to adfmart@hotmail.com.

Tony.

28th Jan 2004, 10:21

My wife's car is having the same problem. When we take it to the shop, it does not die when they drive it. Maybe what was wrong with your car might be wrong with hers. Please let me know how you fixed your problem. dtarch@msn.com

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 10 reviews