1994 Buick LeSabre from North America


My car has been a good car for the most part; mainly small issues like the windows


I have had issues with the windows not wanting to go up or down.. Has any one tried hitting on the door below the arm rest thing and pushing up/down on the button at the same time? It has so far worked for me in either getting a window up or down. I hope this helps someone.

For those of you that have had trouble with your car losing power. I had this issue, and took it to the mechanic I usually do. At the time it happened to me, I had less than a half a tank of gas; when I took it to the mechanic, I had filled up before going. They said it was the placement of the float in the gas tank that causes the Buick to just lose power. Since then, I have kept my car above half a tank of gas, and have not had that issue again.

General Comments:

Was really considering getting another Buick, however after reading the comments on this forum, and not liking the idea of a battery being under the back seat, I am considering other options. All new cars have new gizmos to go bad, so not sure what to get as of yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th August, 2010

14th Aug 2010, 14:40

The Park Avenue had the battery located under the hood, I also believe the Century had it located there. The 2000-2005 LeSabre is the only model that I am aware of from Buick that had the battery located under the rear seat. I have owned two Park Avenues ('99 and '05), and have been very pleased with both of them.

13th Dec 2011, 11:12

The corresponding Rivieras (the funny rear end ones) also have the battery under the rear seat, and it's expensive!

It needs a special vent for outboard dumping of hydrogen gas, so a trip to the local auto parts store will show you need a Delco one, unless you are willing to deal with the potential risk of cabin fumes.

15th Dec 2011, 16:49

Wrong. Any auto parts store should have or be able to get a non-Delco externally vented battery. It's not rocket science, just an extra hose attached to the vent cap. Other vehicles with trunk mounted batteries, like some BMW models, require the same kind of battery.

1994 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 Series 1 V6 from North America


Great, comfortable highway cruiser, but will nickle-and-dime


Radiator failed at 20k.

Firewall-facing exhaust manifold gasket failed at 24k.

Heater core failed at 29k. (dealer repair- $1k)

Heater core failed at 37k. (dealer repair- $1k)

Ignition switch security feature/key failed at 39k.

Muffler heat shield rivets failed at 45k. (put in new rivets for $1.80)

Trunk release solenoid failure at 57k.

Heater core failed for third time at 58k. (auto parts store for $60, $500 shop labor)

Paint going bad on trunk and hood - oxidization/clearcoat. Garaged until 2008.

General Comments:

Soft ride, solid, and pleasant highway cruiser.

Very soft seats, and reasonably comfortable.

Small outside mirrors.

Cupholder and center console an afterthought.

Outdated at time of manufacture dashboard.

Strong motor, responsive.

Dead bee/wasp/insect removal from high mount stop lamp is difficult.

Hood is heavy to lift.

Locking hubcaps rattle even when properly installed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2010

23rd Jan 2010, 14:24

You stated your heater core failed within 6,000 miles of replacement at the Buick dealer. If that was within one year of the replacement, and you had the documentation to prove you had it repaired, you should not have paid for it twice. GM has a 1 year warranty for parts and labor.

1994 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8L Series I Buick 3.8 V6 from North America


I'm glad I'm the guy who owns that car!


I don't have very many problems with this vehicle, except the cup-holders first of all, have a huge effect on the desirability for the driver & passengers of this car. There's only two, and they fold in and out of the centre console, which I find a little irritating, but at least they can be put away.

The centre console itself is a tad irritating; it's a little flimsy, being only held by two pegs. It makes a good armrest, but it doesn't feel very secure.

The car needs better suspension.

The main sunblock-flaps are very thick.

It's gas sensor/indicator tends to give off false readings once in a while, although I suspect this has to do with the age of the vehicle.

Though it is to be expected with such a large car, it is very expensive to fill up the gas tank, as it goes through regular grade gasoline quickly.

A car this size is very difficult to handle during winter in snowy/icy conditions.

General Comments:

In a nutshell, I love this car. It handles wonderfully in the summer, it's extremely comfortable and pleasant to ride in and drive in too. My passengers love riding in my car. I have only owned it since the summer, and the previous owner didn't drive the car very much, which is why the KMs are so low for a 1994 model. The interior of the car gives a very classy impression, and the overall design of this car is very sleek and attractive. A high safety rating adds to the desirability.

Though pricey to maintain, I would proudly recommend the seventh Generation Buick LeSabre!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2009

5th Dec 2009, 15:42

What do you mean 'a car this size is very difficult to handle in icy/snowy conditions'? You mean a car this small? Because that's not a big car, and it's hard to imagine one feeling more secure in a smaller car in dangerous situations.

5th Dec 2009, 18:22

It's still a pretty decent sized vehicle. And if it had rear-wheel drive then I wouldn't be surprised if it's difficult to drive in snow. I live near a very steep hill and every winter morning if there is snow on the ground, I can be almost positive that I will be passing the distressed owners of rear-wheel drive vehicles. I drive a Honda Civic, and when I've stopped to try to help these people out, after parking on the hill and watching them get towed up, they'll wave at me and then stare wide-eyed as I drop it down into first and pull up the hill without even spinning the wheels. And I've never owned a vehicle with snow tires in my life.

5th Dec 2009, 22:44

No LeSabre is small by any stretch of the imagination! However, they are also not really large, at least they haven't been for years. I drive a Park Avenue and find it very easy to handle, even though it is a larger car by today's standards.

6th Dec 2009, 12:52

LeSabres have been front wheel drive since 1986, Park Avenues since 1985 (alas). They're excellent in snow, of course.