1995 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1995 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8 Litre 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 Litre 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 kilometres
Most recent distance235000 kilometres
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

Excellent, Inexpensive, and Reliable

Faults:

When we first bought the car, there was a problem with the left hand rear brake, and the dealer repaired it free of charge on the day of pick up. In the summer of 2004, the air conditioning went, and we took it to our Buick Dealer and they needed to replace the compressor and recharge the air conditioner, which only came to about $450. Later, the rear brakes needed to be replaced, which was no big deal- just regular maintenance. In an unforeseen incident, to avoid an accident, the wheels were cranked very rapidly over a bump and the bushings needed to be replaced. That is something which still has not been done, because the car still works just fine, except for a little "clunk."

General Comments:

For the past three-four months, the Buick has been used as a commuter car- 6 Days a week, 600 kilometers per day! Nothing... NOTHING has gone wrong, after putting so many kilometers so rapidly. It is a great car, however we will be trading it in to a Buick dealership for a 2002 Oldsmobile Aurora 3.5. We are definitely going to sticking with General Motors due to their great reliability and low-cost maintenance. The LeSabre is a 9.99/10!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2006

30th Oct 2006, 01:06

Big mistake... stay with the buick. or get another one.

1995 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Has many features of more expensive cars, but reasonably priced

Faults:

Had a little groaning noise from the front, but a quick spray with some silicone grease onto a nut and bushing assembly inside the shock tower cured it.

General Comments:

Beautiful car, well equipped, great for long drives.

Big car that doesn't feel like a tank.

Fuel economy very good for a car in this size class.

My only worry is the Dynaride suspension. Systems like this usually have lengths of hard plastic tubing running from an air compressor to the shock absorbers or struts and when they start to crack from age or get punctured, finding the leak can be an exercise in frustration, especially if multiple leaks form at the same time. The leaks are easy enough to fix with a tubing coupler and a sharp knife once found, though.

Just a warning for anyone reading this review. My car is a 1995, which was the last year in the LeSabre for the old Series I 3800. The 1996 and up models used the Series II engine, which have a potentially fatal flaw which causes the plastic intake to melt and dump coolant into the engine. Exercise caution when contemplating purchase of a 96-up LeSabre or a 95-up Park Avenue or Riviera or any other GM product with the Series II engine in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2006

3rd Mar 2007, 00:14

My Lesabre is a 95 but has the Series II engine in it. Mine was built in December 95 though. I haven't had any issues with the engine, 135k.

1995 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles

Summary:

I love this car!

Faults:

Intake nipple broke at 90,000 miles, but was easy to repair.

General Comments:

Good low end torque and acceleration.

The cabin is very roomy, with lots of leg, arm, and head room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2005

1995 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8 litre efi from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 litre efi Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 kilometres
Most recent distance208000 kilometres
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

An example of how good North American vehicles have become

Faults:

Absolutely nothing. Okay, the front brake rotors were a little prone to warping, and I replaced all 4 struts because the stock ride was just too soft.

Regularly scheduled maintenance and tires, one transmission cooler line.

General Comments:

An absolutely fabulous car. It could deliver 37 mpg when driven sanely on the highway. Very comfortable, quiet ride, no vibrations, rattles, or wind noise.

The seats could have been a little larger.

It gave great service, never any major problems with it. Dual zone climate control was great, and the factory climate control system seemed to know when to divert air to the wind shield by itself!!

It never used or leaked a drop of oil in its life.

I would have purchased another one, but I was given a great deal on a Cadillac and I was not even ready to trade the car.

The interior never faded, and the leather seats looked as good as the day I purchased the car. Very easy to keep clean inside.

The car had one major flaw, and that is any stone that was bouncing on the highway seemed to hit this car. I had to have the hood and roof repainted in 1999 it became so bad.

Performance of the engine was excellent, never a moments trouble with the transmission.

The rear brakes had no noticeable wear with all the mileage on the car.

Very well laid out instrument panel, plenty of trunk space for a downsized vehicle and very impressive ride quality. The stock shock absorbers were just too soft for cornering, so stiffer ones were installed at 100000Km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2004

21st Mar 2004, 06:29

I have a 1995 Buick Lesabre and agree the ride is way too soft. I'm changing the tires to the Goodyear Regatta 2 with a lower profile sidewall and wondered what you used to replace the shocks and or struts? Were they very expensive?

14th Jan 2005, 09:11

I own a 1995 Buick LeSabre Limited. It has 137,000 miles and runs and drives like new. I am very impressed with all the options that come stock, and have decided this is the car I am going to invest in and restore to factory new condition. (Which isn't going to be a whole lot of work.)

Problems with the car include many I have already read on this survey page. But with minimal effort many can be fixed at home. My biggest disappointment is how the interior instrument panels buttons, controls, and steering wheel "chip" or "peel" the paint exposing the plastic underneath. It makes the inside look old and not cared for. I have masked this with a paint pen and it helps some. Trips to the salvage yard to replace them show this is a problem with all the cars I have seen, so I will have to buy new through the dealer. (OUCH!)

But all and all this is a fine car. It has a strong motor and a quiet ride. It has plenty of room, but is not a big and bulky over sized luxury car. I love the rounded lines and look forward to making her into a head turner.

I would recommend this car without hesitation to anyone looking for a well priced nice riding automobile. It has all the looks of the new production cars coming off the line today, and has held up exceptionally well over the years. I'm sure it will be around for many more.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 23 reviews