1999 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1999 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles

Summary:

Very Nice

Faults:

Windshield becomes pitted easily, and the seat belts easily tangle inside the enclosure, but other than that, the car is a very nice car.

General Comments:

It rides smooth even over the biggest bumps, and accelerates very quickly. It is an excellent car and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a new car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2006

1999 Buick LeSabre from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Not ideal for families that love EACH OTHER

General Comments:

My experience with Buick Lesabre 1999 limited caused me to wake up and start looking into car defect websites. It first started when I was rear ended and the seats collapsed, sending the driver in a laying down position, not the best way to be for you or the people seating in the back, I was fortunate and unfortunate I held on tight to the wheel, the trauma to my neck, jaw and back, was severe pain up till now, the jack came flying out of the right wing along with broken glass, hiting my back, lucky because it could have been my face had I let the seat control me, the seat belt, got detached somehow, hitting me in the mouth. General motors calls this a safety feature. I call it pain.

The next incident was the intake manifold exploding lucky me it was not in the garage, the flames reached high levels, could have caused much disaster, had I not noticed my shoe sole stuck to the floor, I never thought the black smoke was a fire, even with all the melted plastic smell, as I hurried out with the phone to call emergency fire department I noticed how bad it was engulfed in fire,...a close call, I got away with a burnt left foot. how many people not so lucky and see the house, the house they own, and the memories, explode along with the Buick Lesabre 1999 limited addition.. bravo..no fault of general motors. Well it is a hard thing to get over.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th November, 2004

1999 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8 series II from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 series II Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance78500 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

I will probably buy a later model of this car in the future

Faults:

Pin striping peeling

Trim around top of windshield is not very secure.

General Comments:

The leather seats look nice, but are not real comfortable to sit on.

I have yet to have any type of problems with this vehicle.

Whether normal or not, the temperature gauge acts weird, especially in cold weather.

Sometimes in really hot weather, it stumbles a bit on acceleration, but not enough to cause any real problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2004

1999 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4 Semi-Automatic
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance160275 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

Good ride, but too many major things go wrong

Faults:

Driver's seat seam came apart at 60000 km.

Passenger's seat seam came apart at 110000 km.

Driver side front window regulator became defective at 138748 km.

Front spring broke at 147597 km.

Driver side rear window regulator became defective at 160200 km.

General Comments:

My other car is a 1991 Oldsmobile Delta 88 with 315275km. I have had less repairs on the Olds than I have to date on my Buick LeSabre that has 160000 km.

While the Buick provides a comfortable ride, the repair costs are much too excessive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th August, 2004

10th Aug 2006, 18:28

Let's see, couple window regulators, couple of seat tears, and a spring, looks like some major repairs here, I think you may be in for an overhaul sooner or later.

1999 Buick LeSabre Custom Fuel Injection from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Fuel Injection Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired45329 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Faults:

Serious problem with the plastic intake manifold (plenum). Engine suddenly locks up and even seasoned mechanics think the engine needs to be replaced, but it is just the plastic part. Approximate cost: $600.00 to replace.

Since the car has over 60,000 miles on it, the dealer could not replace the intake manifold without charge.

General motors has a "bulletin" on this, but no recall as of yet. I was told to keep all receipts in case of a recall.

General Comments:

I would buy another Buick LeSabre again, but I would make sure there was no plastic intake manifold first.

Very comfortable and basically reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd July, 2004

16th Mar 2005, 12:50

The same thing happened to me. It is definitely a design flaw that they have since changed as the new models have a metal sheath that does not melt. I would not buy another lesaber as I have also had major repairs with having to replace two fuel injectors.

11th Jan 2006, 16:23

I also had to replace both upper and lower manifold at the cost of $1300 on my 98 Buick.

14th May 2008, 04:07

I have a 1997 Buick Le-Sabre Custom and have been very careful with all maintenance checks and oil changes and everything was fine, then out of the blue, it wouldn't start. Had someone take a look and they said "Water in the oil, has to be a blown head gasket". I've had 2 other cars with blown head gaskets and this wasn't typical. Had another person look at it and he thought perhaps it was the water pump. After researching this determined not to be taken for a single woman "SUCKER" by a mechanic I came upon this faulty intake manifold problem. Now, do I replace the gasket or the manifold? The only replacements I have found are ALSO plastic, although supposedly "harder" plastic. Any thoughts?

15th May 2008, 11:09

You should replace the whole upper manifold. Some people suggest replacing the lower one when you do the upper manifold. If its the original manifold they have an upgraded kit for the manifold so the problem won't happen for a while again.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 19 reviews