1999 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1999 Buick LeSabre 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

It was good until recently, it was a good riding car

Faults:

We had an intermittent problem with it stalling out at stops.

Hesitation at startup.

General Comments:

After spending $1,074.00, to replace the ignition module and all coils, spark plug wires, fuel system flush and ejector cleaning, the car still did not run well.

The car was returned, three weeks later, to dealer for a recheck. The car had developed a problem of surging forward when stopping. The problem found this time was a leaking diaphragm in the plastic intake. The service adviser stated this was a common problem for the 3.8 l engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th March, 2004

1999 Buick LeSabre limited V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Faults:

Well the intake manifold blew up, nearly did me and my home, goodbye lesabre total lose... gm says act of God.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th May, 2003

13th May 2004, 22:06

I had same "act of God." @ 52,000 miles my '99 Lesabre was leaking coolant. Luckily took to my trusted mechanic (not GM dealer) who ran pressure test. Showed me where there should have been seam, was a gap & through this gap coolant leaking. Since I happened to have camera with me, I even took pictures! Had I continued to drive, would have blown engine. Mechanic said manufacturer's defect & called GM. Of course they would not agree. Mechanic pointed out (unlike my previous Buicks he had worked on) this one has a PLASTIC upper plenum (i.e. "cheap"). With rental car, cost me $800, but that considerably cheaper than a blown engine would have cost. I just now e-mailed GM with my complaint. We both know what the answer is going to be...

1999 Buick LeSabre limited V 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V 6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Hey, it's a good car as long as you don't have to drive it any where.

Faults:

Wheel bearings busted at 25,000 miles.

Severe electrical problems: Half the dash does not light anymore, the power windows do not work properly (on a winter day, they will go down for no reason), the power locks do not work, replaced MAPS sensor twice (this sensor tells your car when it is out of gas; with a full tank, the car would die at high/low speeds thinking it was out of gas), and headlights/tail lights burn out every 6 months or so.

About once a month, it won't start in the morning.

The pin striping is pealing off on all sides of the car.

This car is not made for extensive driving; it does not handle normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

This is the first GM product I have ever owned and it will definitely be the last. None of the above listed were covered by any warranty. The dealership where the car was bought claim GM's have never had any electrical problems. I beg to differ.

Both times the MAPS sensors went out, I was 70 miles away from home. I was left stranded in the cold with a car that wouldn't start.

The inside of the car is very comfortable (traditional for Buicks), but being comfortable is the last thing to think about when you are stuck on the side of a busy highway with a broken car.

Handling and steering is very uneasy. When turning, the car is not agile or fluent in any manner.

Gas mileage was as expected; about 23 city and 27 highway (top average).

My last car, a Ford Taurus, lived for 296,000 miles. (actually, it was still running very well when I sold it) I think I will stick to Ford from now on.

Sorry GM.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th March, 2003

22nd Oct 2003, 10:34

Ford Tauras running for 300k miles??? Yeah right!!!

16th Feb 2004, 00:26

I have never owned a GM or Ford, but I have seen a few Tempos run for like 250,000-miles with only a new alternator. Some cars will do it. I hear a lot of Taurus Transmission going out around 75,000-miles. I know one lady from Texas who has an 86-Taurus with 167,000-miles on it and no problems. It is true, some cars can run for a long time. Even Ford or Hyundai. I know the taxi crown vics in New York city run 3-400,000 miles easy. Ask a driver the next time you are in NY. He will tell you.

9th Apr 2004, 10:22

Sure, you can get 300k miles out of a Taurus, minus a new engine every 150k miles or so and a new transmission every 75k miles. Tempos were notoriously bad cars (like the Taurus), so I can't believe that claim. "Quality is Job 1"...in what realm of reality? If you don't believe what I say, read the owners' reviews on this site. A person on here bought a new Taurus (which was only 2yrs. old at the time of writing his review) experienced rusting so badly that the car wouldn't pass state inspection! I would hate to find out what aspects of their cars Ford considers "Job 2". ;)

16th Dec 2009, 11:21

It surprising to hear about your problems with the '99 LeSabre, I have owned mine for 6 years and it always starts even on the coldest mornings, and besides having to replace the transmission after 105,000 miles, it has never given me any trouble. Using it as a daily work car, it always gives me decent gas mileage around town, and although it doesn't have the ride of the Park Avenue, it's comfortable and quiet.

It has never let me down while merging into freeway traffic, and its passing speed is more than adequate.

For its age, mine is white, it's a handsome looking car, and it doesn't look too outdated even now in 2009.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 19 reviews