1987 Buick Park Avenue Reviews

1987 Buick Park Avenue 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired158000 miles
Most recent distance163000 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

A nice car if you don't mind replacing routine stuff

Faults:

Alternator, catalytic converter, power steering pump, brakes, oxygen sensor, mass air flow sensor, throttle position sensor, crank shaft position sensor, crank, fuel filter, fuel pump, fuel pump sending unit (gas gage), back air shocks, back wheel bearing, transmission and engine have been replaced already and these parts are on the replacement engine.

General Comments:

Very comfortable car, I like the car except I've had a lot of problems with it. Very comfortable and drives excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2003

8th Feb 2012, 10:36

The best car I ever owned was a Buick Park Avenue 1989. I bought it in 2003, sold it in 2007. Worst mistake I ever made was to sell it. I miss that car so much!! Very reliable.

14th Jan 2014, 16:13

I am thinking of selling my 1987 Park Avenue. How much did you sell it for? Mine has 26,000 miles.

1987 Buick Park Avenue 308 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 308 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired90010 miles
Most recent distance179900 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Reliable make of vehicle

Faults:

Catalytic converter rattled and needed replacing around 135000 miles. Timing chain had to be replaced at 145000 miles. Rear wheel cylinder needed replacing about 120000 miles, and my parents who also own an 86 Park Avenue had the same problem around the same mileage mark. Control panel for AC/Heat/Vent blinks like crazy - have to turn it on for a minute then back off to make it stop. Electric windows are beginning to show signs of wear at 179,000 miles.

General Comments:

Overall great car. I have driven this car to Kansas City, Missouri and back and have had no worries. Comfort is excellent and other than normal wear and tear, we have had no complaints. We have even pulled our pop up camper with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2002

1987 Buick Park Avenue Sedan 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Great luxury and adequate performance

Faults:

Water pump, timing chain, gears, and cover went at 110,000.

Torque converter clutch went at 115,000.

Starter at 139,500.

Both front windows stopped operating at 130,000 and 140,000 respectively. An easy fix with a $18 part (each side) from the dealership.

Catalytic converter rattles.

Clearcoat coming off of the top surfaces.

Keyless entry keypad went bad at 125,000. Parts unavailable from GM.

General Comments:

Extremely reliable car. NEVER let me sit in 40,000 hard miles. It loves the highways. A thousand-mile roadtrip is easy work in a Park Avenue.

Engine can be a bit noisy however.

Handling is much improved with wider tires (I put T-rated Bridgestone Touresnas on it).

Excellent in the snow and rain.

Good gas mileage for a car of its size.

Be wary of one approaching 100,000. The timing gears and transmission both need attention around this time. I used to work for a Buick dealership, and have seen it many times. I have also seen many of these cars with 250,000 miles, still on the road.

Plenty of power for passing and merging.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2001

2nd Mar 2003, 23:22

My 1986 Buick Park Avenue has 407,000 miles reading on the odometer yes I know that's tons, but it still runs like a dream I'm not to sure when the motor was re-built however, there is no way it would be running with that many miles and no re-build.

1987 Buick Park Avenue Electra 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance27500 miles

Summary:

Great car!

Faults:

We had to replace most of the electronics that control the engine at a cost of near $1000.

Original exhaust is still working but needs replaced.

Air compressor for the air shocks is bad, but the shock rotted off years ago. Seal on cylinder broke and had to be replaced at 225,000 miles.

Air conditioner has never worked since we owned it.

General Comments:

It handles good.

It has been very reliable with that many miles on it.

Seats are extremely comfortable.

Engine burns only a little of oil.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2001

11th Apr 2001, 08:52

Good description of a great car.

8th Jul 2001, 20:17

I had the same car and would comment the same way. electronics need to be replaced. my muffler rotted off.

1st Jun 2003, 14:11

My 2nd car as a teen being a bad granny car. But the transmission had to be replaced, it would hang between 1st and 2nd.

Other than that runs like a dream, ac still freeze you out muffler replaced by a dual exhaust Flowmaster. The compressor still good replaced air shocks, to air bags that makes it ride more like a Caddillac.

29th Oct 2006, 21:24

I just bought my Buick or had it bought for me rather, since I totaled my Ford Explorer a little while back!

I love this car!

It's only got 59,00 miles on it and it's got Flowmasters on it! The mufflers didn't rot off but the womans' son who owned it decided to put Flows on it just to do it and it actually sounds good for a 3.8

1987 Buick Park Avenue 3.8 L from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles

Summary:

This car has luxury, speed, power, comfort, and reliability all in one!!!

Faults:

Not a lot actually. It was my parents car from 1990 to 1998, and we didn't have a lot of problems with it. Every couple years something minor has to be replaced, but it's been quite inexpensive. But since I've got it, we've only had a battery problem, which was fixed easily, and we just replaced the brakes and rotors (which needed it, big time!!).

General Comments:

I really like this car. I'm only 17, and it's a good, reliable car for someone like me. I like the comfort of it and I like the interior (luxurious). I will always like Buicks now after driving this car, because it's so reliable and comfortable! Oh, I almost forgot, the 3.8 L engine can really haul if you have to go! But the only problem is that the speedometer only goes to 85 but it's easy to bury the speedometer. I'm guessing it can go around 110.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2000

7th Nov 2005, 22:42

I've got an 87 Park Avenue too. Love that car. That 3800 V6 is an awesome little motor. I've got 237k on mine and no signs of it dying anytime soon. Its making 16mpg with my slightly heavy foot, in need of a tuneup (bad). Not bad for a nearly 20 year old car.

30th Nov 2006, 09:53

I have an 87 Park Ave with a rebuilt 3.8 and mine gets 24 average MPH and tops out at 137. Very Solid Car.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 5 reviews