1993 Buick Park Avenue Reviews

1993 Buick Park Avenue Ultra 3.8 V6 Supercharged from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance182000 miles
Previous carBuick Electra

Summary:

WOW, we want another one. They should make more

Faults:

This year we put a new supercharger on it at 165,000 miles. We service it regularly and it still gives us 19 - 27 miles per gal. People can't believe it is as old as it is.

General Comments:

This car runs like a quarter horse from 75 miles per hour, push on the gas pedal and it jumps out of the gate!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2009

24th Oct 2009, 18:41

You are absolutely right. They should still make these cars. I purchased a 2005 with 16 thousand miles last year after owning a '99 for three years. I love these cars and I really don't feel the Lucerne is a rightful replacement. Maybe I will move to the Enclave for my next vehicle. But that will be a while.

7th Aug 2012, 15:59

I bought a 1995 Buick Park Avenue used with only 51,000 miles on it. Had one major repair with the manifold gaskets, and this car has lasted to 198,000 miles. It's been a heck of a ride. GM should have continued to make this car. I love this engine! I really hate to give up this car, as it's still a great ride, but with almost 200,000 miles, it's starting to give me problems. I will miss this car, and thank you GM for making it.

8th Aug 2012, 16:43

Do yourself a favor and buy the next generation model (1997-2005), and you will have a very similar experience. We have a 2003 in the family that I have only done very minor repairs to, now with 107,000 miles.

9th Jul 2014, 17:55

I have a 93 PA. It has 197k miles and runs like a top. Everything still works on it! Even the A/C. No complaints at. It is an amazing vehicle and very reliable!

1993 Buick Park Avenue from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance273000 miles

Summary:

Smooth and reliable

Faults:

Many normal repairs... as to be expected with 273,000!

General Comments:

I love my Park Avenue! My most recent issue is a vibration when I accelerate... that seems to go away when I let off the gas. I'm thinking it's time to rotate and balance the tires, and more importantly check the spark plugs and spark plug wires. Anyone agree?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2009

11th Oct 2009, 16:03

I agree that the tire rotation, balancing, spark plug replacement, as well as a full service throttle body and injection cleaning is probably about due for your car. Also try a product called Heartland Engine Flush available at most lube shops.

12th Oct 2009, 22:59

Also check your transmission mounts. They will cause vibrations as well when they go bad.

1993 Buick Park Avenue 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired131000 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Even with the few problems, the Park Avenue is still one of the best cars I've owned

Faults:

Throttle position sensor fails about once per year, for unknown reasons. Dealerships (2 different ones) cannot determine the cause.

Rear load-leveling (air) shocks developed leaks, which caused the on-board air compressor to run when the car was not being driven, thus discharging the battery. Original style load-leveling shocks were FAR too expensive from GM, replaced with AC Delco non-air struts on rear, and disabled the air compressor.

Have had to replace one coil pack.

Have had to replace air conditioning compressor. Dealer cannot get the air flow to come out on the driver's side when AC is on after 3 times in the shop.

General Comments:

Car has plenty of power for the standard 3800, non-supercharged engine.

VERY economical to drive, 31 MPG on the highway.

Very dependable. Even with the above noted problems, the car has never failed to start, or left me stranded.

Rides wonderfully. After the new rear struts, 4 wheel alignment and balancing, the car drives as well as new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2009

2nd Oct 2009, 17:50

31 MPG isn't real great in my book. But for a car this large it is rather impressive. It seems to me that Buick is the only good car GM can make.

3rd Oct 2009, 14:56

31 mpg is plenty. If you get any more than that you have to have a terribly small, tinny, dangerous little car. Who wants that?

As for me I had a Park Avenue like this and it was nice, but it was nowhere near as good as my full size, full frame, V8 GM cars (Chevy Caprices, Olds Delta 88s).

9th Aug 2012, 12:37

I agree that 31 MPG is very good mileage - very similar to what my Saab 9-3 Convertible got on the highway (and that's with a turbocharged, 2.0 liter, 4 cylinder engine).

Last year I went from a beautiful Saab 9-3 with only 36,000 miles, to a two year older but very nice Chrysler Sebring Convertible with 95,000 miles on its V-6, and surprisingly the Chrysler gets even better mileage than the Saab, consistently getting 34 MPG on the highway. So you don't have to go to a "small car" to get over 30 MPG, and also surprisingly some mid-size & larger domestics reach this level with relative ease.

26th Mar 2014, 18:53

I have a 93 I bought used, and the owner had deleted the air shocks. I replaced them with air shocks. Monroe Sensatracs, and so far, 5 years later, they still work great. I also added the heavier duty cargo coil springs for the back, and they make a big difference in the ride and stability of the car.

The car just turned 450,000 clicks today, and is still going well...

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 7 reviews