1983 Buick Regal Reviews

1983 Buick Regal from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Previous carbuick regal

Faults:

Alternator.

Fuel pump.

Water pump.

Carburetor.

General Comments:

This was my first car. I bought it cheap so I didn't really expect a whole lot in return.

Got me from point A to point B. (As long as it was in town)

Back bumper area was completely rusted out.

The car stalled at stop signs and red lights. Not a very reliable car.

The car was already 14 years old when I bought it, so it was sort of on its last leg.

Total gas hog.

A few good things: It was comfortable, the AC still worked and the cruise control also worked as if right out of the factory.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th June, 2005

1983 Buick Regal Limited 2dr 305 V8 Chevrolet 4bbl from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission 305 V8 Chevrolet 4bbl Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

The best North American car ever built

Faults:

Absolutely nothing that is not normal for the mileage when specific repairs were done except the electronic touch climate control system required the dash unit to be replaced as well as the fan controller. The brake drums and rotors had to be machined once a year in between brake jobs to eliminate vibrations.

Other repairs were normal, front brakes lasted about 50000 to 70000 Km and the rears lasted over 100000.

Car always sat lower than normal in the front, problem finally solved by installing front springs intended for the Diesel engine model. No other repairs beyond normal maintenance except for replacement of radiator and water pump.

Ball joints and tie rod ends replaced at 200000 Km.

Rear tires laster over 100000 Km.

Changed exhaust system once during the life of the car.

Batteries lasted exactly 5 years each.

General Comments:

This is by far the best car I have ever owned. It was not the fastest, quietest or smoothest, but in terms of repairs and reliability it is number one.

Overall quality of the car was excellent. Never broke down, never had a flat tire, car always performed as if it were still new.

No oil leaks ever developed, never used more than 1 quart of oil in between changes and oil consumption never increased.

Bad rusting problem on wind shield pillars toward the end helped make the decision to trade it. Most of the necessary repairs, which were few, only happened after 230000 Km, and they were all minor.

I recommend this car highly and it should be the standard for all North American cars. I would gladly buy enough new ones today to last my lifetime if they were still in production.

Always did 32 plus mpg. on the highway when driven sanely, usually did 27 mpg. when steadily driven at 75 mph.

The only outright part failure was the speedometer cable at 233000 Km.

Highway performance was great, but it was sluggish from a dead stop due to the very high rear axle ratio: 2.29:1 The only thing I would change is installation of a lower rear axle ratio to help acceleration.

Classic styling and lines, looked very similar to the large Park Avenue, the interior was well appointed. Plenty of front seat room for two adults, not much for the rear passengers. Very comfortable ride.

The change over to the front springs for the Diesel model made the car sit properly and did not hurt the ride. The car would corner absolutely flat and rode as if it were on a cushion of air.

The carburetor required some adjustment when first purchased, and it performed flawlessly after that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2004

16th May 2007, 08:26

I'm looking to sell my late father's 1983 Buick Regal Presidential Limited edition. Low mileage, great shape for it's age. It's in Virginia, near Washington, D.C. Any ideas the best way to find a good home for it at a good price?

Joel Garreau

garreau@well.com

16 May 2007.

1983 Buick Regal Estate Wagon 231ci 3.8L V6 (A) from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 231ci 3.8L V6 (A) Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired64 miles
Most recent distance184500 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Good family car

Faults:

Since my mother first purchased the car in June of 1983, there has been a "rattle" in the rear of the car. I discovered about one year ago what the cause was, once fixed, it hasn't been a problem.

Speedometer has a slight inaccuracy.

General Comments:

One of the most comfortable cars I have owned. Very roomy.

Not bad performance for a twenty year old car, considering the technology available when it was designed and created.

Regal Estate Wagons were rare when then came out, now even more so. It's a cousin to the Malibu Classic Wagon by Chevrolet, Oldsmobile's Cutlass Cruiser, and Pontiac's Bonneville Safari Wagons. They replaced the Century A-body wagon as a G-body wagon when the A-bodies became Front-wheel-drive in 1982.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2002

20th Sep 2012, 22:55

Hmmm, that's ironic. My grandpa had an 83 Buick Regal Limited 2 door also, that he bought new in 83. That car was a piece of junk; the car had problems with it 3 days after my Grandpa bought it from the dealer. It cost him thousands of dollars with this car. It had to be repaired a lot, and like every couple of months, something had gone wrong with it. He had that lemon for about 5 years, and then traded it in for a better Buick Regal. I can't seem to understand why a brand new car would have so many problems, even when it was driven off the showroom. All of his other cars were never like that one. That 83 Buick Regal was probably the worst car he ever owned.

24th Sep 2012, 23:37

His car was probably built on a Monday morning...

1983 Buick Regal Estate Wagon V-6, size unknown from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission V-6, size unknown Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles

Summary:

This is the car that Thelma and Louise should have driven off the cliff!

Faults:

Engine overheated.

Replaced all the transmission seals once and one blew a leak one month later.

Leaked oil badly.

Rods knocked terribly inside the engine.

Very poor gas mileage.

General Comments:

Having experience with this car and seeing other friends and family members' problems with some GM vehicles, I won't own GM anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th December, 2000

26th Mar 2007, 20:10

Um... it's a 25 year old car.

3rd Apr 2008, 22:30

I've owned a 1983 Buick regal estate wagon for 8 years now and the car has over 275,000 so maybe you shouldn't have treated it like a race car and changed the oil in it every now and then. DUH???

1983 Buick Regal Sedan 3.8 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission 3.8 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles

Summary:

Plain Jane.........

Faults:

A/C, choke, stalling during warm up (like all carburated Buick V6's do), fan clutch.

General Comments:

Very reliable, but the 3.8 liter V6 has no guts whatsoever. The fuel economy is almost as good as a new 3800 V6, especially since the car didn't have overdrive. On these Buicks and similar Olds, Chevy, and Pontiac, I wonder who the idiot was who decided to put fixed rear windows with only rear vent windows that open? A good car overall............

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2000

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 5 reviews