1989 Buick Regal Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1989 Buick Regal Limited 2.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired193000 miles
Most recent distance211000 miles

Summary:

A wonderfully reliable car that gets you where you want to go and saves you money!

Faults:

The only things that have gone wrong were lack of maintanance by the previous owner basically. I replaced the fuel filter, the front struts, and the tires. I did have a fuel injector go out and was kind of hard to do myself. Like every other 2.8 I know, it does have a slight oil leak. It's nothing too serious though. The half shafts in the front end are very week and need to be replaced and that would be a shop thing.

General Comments:

It can be worked on yourself if you have a good mechanic that will give you hints. For how many miles it has on it, it has mild to medium motor noise, but that doesn't scare me. It has been a very reliable car and am glad I spent the $1000 on it.

My brother and his wife both have this era of Regal and they pretty much have been hassle free. I recommend them to anyone who is looking for a good car with good gas mileage. I get 27mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2002

8th Jan 2004, 07:25

Well, I too have bought a used Regal the same year as mentioned above. I acquired it in the summer of 2003 with 169,000kms on the odometer. Its now January 2004 and the OD is at 180,000 and so far it has been a very reliable car even more so in this cold Canadian weather we've had here the past week (-30C to -50C). I have had to do only minor repairs and just the basic required maintenance. Very good car all around, and the fuel economy is exceptional.

11th May 2004, 11:09

I know of a person who has a 1989 Buick Regal Limited with just under 73K original miles. The only thing that was wrong with it was the fuel pump was starting to go. At $700, who can complain!!!

11th Sep 2009, 03:52

I just got an 89 Limited 2.8. It's 20 yrs old and only has 38,000 miles on it. I got it for 700 bucks, just drove it 400 miles and got an average of 33 miles a gallon, wonderful car.

1989 Buick Regal Limited 2.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired49855 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles
Previous carBuick Civic

Summary:

Like it... Would get another

Faults:

Replaced all front and rear brake rotors and pads.

Odometer doesn't work all the time.

Water pump went (man those things are annoying when the bearings go).

Cooling fan shorted.

Replaced tires.

General Comments:

I've had both types of Buick Regals - the older square 1985 2 door style and now the 1989 2 door newer style. I like both, but I'll tell you one thing, the 1989 by far blows the doors off the 1985. For one the 85 was a boat! The 89 has what seems a lot more go. The engines in the 85 were the 3.8 V6 and they are notorious for head gasket replacements about every 10,000 miles. I've been there. And as usual, no reverse in the older models.

I won't even mention the handling differences.

This is a good car. I like it. All of what I have done to it is nothing compared to what I have put into other cars I have bought in the past. The body is near perfect, the interior as well. And it runs perfect! I spent $450 in repairs on it and it's near perfect. I can't complain since the car cost me $500... Old lady sale...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2001

12th Mar 2005, 14:28

Hi---How did you fix the intermittent odometer? Mine does the same thing, also had lots of brake troubles. (sticking calipers). Now have MAP sensor problem. I can't even find the thing to replace it. Please reply. Thanks.

21st Jun 2005, 18:16

I never did fix the odometer, I just left it since it would be illegal to tamper with it. I replaced the rear calipers, known for seizing up. The MAP sensor is on top of the air intake. has a flat plug to it, and it's black.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 13 reviews