1989 Buick Regal GS 3.1 from North America

Faults:

Major problems with these cars are the head gaskets and brake parts. GM has been famous for these nightmares.

To be specific, the 3.1 and 3100 series engines, with their valves tapping and pistons slapping, along with coolant and head gasket issues.

The other is their brakes with the calipers always seizing and locking up!! Sometimes never working, and only relying on front brakes.

If it's not one thing, it's another. Sometimes both if you're really unlucky - like me.

Other than the major components not working, it is still a reliable car.

General Comments:

The car is solid and heavy, very safe in a crash.

My GS coupe is not that fast, because the body is too large for the engine (140hp).

I would recommend the 3.8; they came out in 1990. They have 170hp, and are bullet proof.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2005

1989 Buick Regal Custom 2.8 from North America

Summary:

Nice ride

Faults:

I got hard times with the suspension (shocks, tie-rods, ball joints...)

Everything is loose, I got to tighten the suspension every 7 or 8 months.

General Comments:

What a ride...

You just lay down in this car.

Sit down and chill while driving.

Performance is average...

But the style is really cool.

Since I never spent a buck on that car in 3 years, I bought my ride four 17' chromed wheels on whitewall radials.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2005

21st Jan 2010, 14:07

Good car for life!

1989 Buick Regal V6 3.0L from North America

Summary:

Started off as a great car then lots of problems late

Faults:

Blow head gasket @105K. Would die in the middle of driving it 95K to 105K. AC and Heater broke around 100K. Driver Side window broke @99K. Electronic problems were very costly.

General Comments:

Great Cruising car between school and work. Handled well on long trips. Bad gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2004

10th Aug 2007, 02:02

I don't know why people say Buick regals have bad gas mileage. I have a 1988 regal custom and I get 28 to 30 miles per gallon No joke!!!

1989 Buick Regal 2.8 from North America

Summary:

It has served me well

Faults:

I experienced a blown head gasket do to extremely high engine temps traced to a faulty temperature gauge that I should have replaced sooner.

Current problems: every 6 months or so the car will stall out for no apparent reason, I keep maintenance logs of my car and found no correlation to weather, velocity, or fuel levels. Has anyone else experienced this problem?

General Comments:

Solid car, well built and reliable. Shows little excessive wear and tear on engine and chassis despite many new england winters.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd September, 2004

31st Jan 2005, 22:37

I am the owner of a 1989 Buick Regal GS which I bought new. It now has 248,000 miles and except for a few minor repairs has been trouble free. It has the 3.1 engine and neither the engine or transmission have been opened and it never needs additional oil between 5000 mile oil changes. It has (as far as I know) all the accessories that were available at that time and everything works, but the Left power window is a little slow.

Even at 16 years and nearly 250,000 miles it easily handles the sharpest curves and has great acceleration. This has been and still is a tremendous car with great engineering and has delivered far more than expected.

23rd Oct 2006, 00:42

I have a 89 Buick Regal Limited 2.8 Liter V-6, got a great running car for a car that started having issues at 32k miles cause that's still what it says many years later. well I started having oil leak problems with the lower intake. yeah it smokes. then I have very poor acceleration all of a sudden. no keep in mind this car has a full tune up. service engine soon light comes on when I don't accelerate, goes off when I accelerate seconds later. does anyone else have this issue?

7th Sep 2013, 08:33

most likely EGR or map sensor, or IAC valve.

1989 Buick Regal Custom 3.1L from North America

Summary:

Great buy for the low dollar

Faults:

The head gasket blew at 120,000 miles.

The transmission blew at 125,000 miles (due to rough driving).

Fuel injectors went at 122,00 miles.

Seats are wearing.

Stereo died, and interesting to replace.

General Comments:

There is general wear and tear on the car, but otherwise it is a fine piece of automobile.

The gas mileage is miserable, getting about 12 mpg in the city, and 25 on the highway.

The interior is a very comfortable interior. The seats are perfect for long drives.

The engine makes more noise than speed, but that's really no big deal.

Very cool dash, it is electronic, and it looks really sweet at night.

If the gas mileage wasn't so bad, I would have another one of these cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2004