1991 Buick Regal Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1991 Buick Regal Custom 3.1L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Nice car to drive at a reasonable price

Faults:

This car has had a great number of minor problems. I can only guess at the mileage since the odometer quit working. The car had a vacuum leak which was created by battery acid leaking on a line. The controls for the power windows and door locks have been a major problem. I have had to replace this component two times.

General Comments:

This car has been fairly good to me performance wise. It gets 20 miles per gallon in town and 30 miles per gallon on the highway. The seats are very comfortable and the interior looks very good for a car that is nearly 13 years old. This car has a quiet and smooth ride. The paint looks like it hasn't aged a day which surprises me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd October, 2003

5th Jun 2005, 21:27

I bought my 91 Regal Limited in late 2002 with 204KM on it -- I now have about 290,000 / mostly highway miles... mine is rusting badly around the front wheel trim and along the doors above chrome trim...

I LOVE THIS CAR!!! IS A DREAM TO DRIVE!!!

I'm looking for another in better shape with less miles, would recommend this car to ANYONE who wants to have that bit of luxury along with Reliability and stamina.

1991 Buick Regal Limited 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

At $2500. I feel I got my dollar's worth and more

Faults:

1) Metal tab that holds the gas lid shut has rusted completely away.

2) Metal retainer that secures the plastic cladding on the driver's side door has rusted and fallen completely off. This leaves the cladding to bounce around when slamming the door.

3) The back-lit panel has ceased working, but only on the climate control module.

4) Power antenna grinds nowhere upon starting and shutdown. Needs replacing.

5) Disk pads, rotors all around need replacing.

General Comments:

I purchased the Regal earlier this year. So far, I have found it to be extremely comfortable, a pleasure to drive and good, solid transportation.

The original owner takes all the credit here as his maintenance records and receipts reflect a dedicated routine of service. Thank you, Bob!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2003

17th Nov 2004, 09:17

I have recently purchased a 1991 Regal Gran Sport 2 weeks ago for $750 Cdn. It was a great purchase. The only problems are the ones that have been discussed. The missing gas tank cover, the lights in the climate control have ceased working, and I have already had to replace the brakes and water pump, but the engine, the 3800, which has 220,000 kms still has the power and acceleration it is known for. I think it is a great looking car as it is two tone black top grey bottom with all the original chrome in excellent shape. It really is a great car, I'm looking forward to putting another 220,000 kms on it.

1991 Buick Regal 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

Good car for the average commuter

Faults:

I had lots of 'gadgets' problems: power antenna, power seats, and power windows.

These are expensive to fix if you want to keep them working.

General Comments:

Good overall comfort and realiability!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2003

1991 Buick Regal Custom 6.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

I wouldn't recommend this vehicle

Faults:

Back slide kit needed to be replaced twice.

Front brakes wear out every other year.

Tape player broke one year after we bought the car.

Odometer quit working 5 years after we bought the car.

Transmission is slipping. It needs replaced.

Motor mounts are worn, and need replaced.

Drivers side door always freezes shut in the winter, which causes the rod inside the door to bend, making it impossible to open the door.

Everything is going wrong with it all at once.

General Comments:

I really enjoyed this car during the first two years that we owned it. However, since then, one thing after another keeps happening to it. I don't feel comfortable driving it. I don't trust that I am going to get to my destination safely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th May, 2003

17th Jan 2004, 17:21

Hi.

I too have a 1991 Buick Regal and agree with the comments. Now, I know why my car door locks stick. When I first bought the car, the driver's side door was stuck. The service manager at the dealership said it was an easy fix and that the arm was bent. Well, it is now 2004 and the issue is occuring again. I am experiencing the same issue with the motor mounts too. The water pump was replaced once and now needs to be replaced. I also replaced the radiator last month. I realize it's a 1991. However, I only have 66,000 original miles on it. I babied the car.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 26 reviews