1992 Buick Regal Reviews

1992 Buick Regal 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles

Summary:

Greatest most reliable car I have ever owned

Faults:

I have never had a single thing go wrong with this car, except the window on the driver side wouldn't go down. Cheap to fix.

General Comments:

This was the one of the best cars I have ever owned.

This thing just runs forever without any problems. Plenty of power with great handling.

This is a TANK and indestructible.

Most comfortable car I have ever sat in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2009

1992 Buick Regal SE 3.8L from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85953 miles
Most recent distance92086 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Most unreliable car there is!

Faults:

The computer, fuel pump, fuel filter, brakes, ignition module, dashboard lights, struts.

General Comments:

The car was a great running car in the beginning. After driving it a few months things sporadically began failing. It's been a wasted investment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th February, 2008

27th Feb 2008, 13:47

The vehicle is 16 years old, what did you expect?

26th Sep 2009, 18:28

Brakes, fuel pump, ignition? All things a 16 year old car needs to be replaced? In fact any car 16 years old would need those things... what did you expect?

1992 Buick Regal Limited V6 3.8 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V6 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance208000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

It has been a great car; very comfortable

Faults:

Replaced the water pump twice.

Replaced the fuel pump twice, but this can be avoided by never running the gas below an 1/8 of a tank.

Replaced the struts all around once.

Low fuel light is always on.

Many of the idiot lights are on even though nothing is wrong... really.

General Comments:

The engine in this car is amazing; we have used and abused this car, even towing loads of hay home to our horses!

It still starts right up after 203,000 miles.

It has the original transmission and has just started to slip at little.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2008

1992 Buick Regal GS 3.1L V6 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Good economical car, but expensive to upkeep

Faults:

Blower motor died.

Engine Cradle Broke

Brake Pads Flew Out Of Calipers

Leaked Coolant

Doors didn't like to open

Alternator died

Battery Died.

General Comments:

This car was, when I bought it, a good reliable car. My first problem was 3 months after I got it, my engine cradle snapped, leaving my engine sitting in the parking lot at work. It was leaking coolant before that, but got worse (understandably). My brake pads then flew out of my calipers while on the highway. In cold weather, the pull-down handles on my 2 door didn't want to open, it just wouldn't unlatch. My alternator died, and that caused a dead battery. At the end, my blower motor died and I bought a new car that has lower repairs than this car.

Good fast car, good acceleration, rides like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2006

1992 Buick Regal Limited 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired246000 kilometres
Most recent distance309000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Totally reliable, never a let down

Faults:

I had to replace the signal switch and shortly after a small plastic and copper unit in the steering column for the stereo controls.

The rear brake calipers have a habit of ceasing periodically and then releasing even after service.

ABS light is always on, but the brakes work fine. It will still stop on a dime.

Occasionally the transmission will slip when it's under heavy load (i.e. gunning it) and it whines in lower gears.

General Comments:

Good old reliable GM 3800 never lets you down.

Interior is in great shape after over 300,000kms.

Everything works including cruise.

A great car that has treated me well and I will be sad to give up when my wife finally makes me get a minivan!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2006

1992 Buick Regal Custom 3.1L Vin T from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1L Vin T Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance102704 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Nice ride for the money

Faults:

For the first 11 years of it's life the car used to be my great grandfathers. It only had 52,000 on it and I only paid 2,000 for it. He never drove it over 45 MPH. So when I got the car, mechanically it was a mess. The fix was simple though. New Spark plugs, spark plug wires, air, oil and fuel filters. I also had the engine professionally decarbonized for $150. After that it ran like new until recently when at 102,000 I blew my rear head gasket. I fixed it myself for $600 in parts (Gaskets and valve train parts).

General Comments:

With a 3.1, the car is underpowered if the motor is stock. If you have a choice get the 3800.

I put engineered a homemade cold air induction system and put in a performance chip.

Stock 140HP,170 torque. Now 220HP, 252 Torque on Dyno.

Awesome car though with all that new power it needs traction control.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2005

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 18 reviews