1992 Buick Regal Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1992 Buick Regal Grand Sport 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres

Summary:

A good comfortable family car that is reasonably priced

Faults:

Repairing breaks very often. I was told by mechanics that the brakes were designed too small for the size of car.

Air-conditioning does not work (broke shortly after I purchased it).

I had to replace the transmission at about 160,000 kms. This may be due to previous owner (s).

Head gasket leaked, but was repaired with minor expense.

Replaced suspension at 150,000 kms.

Body has rust spots on two areas. Had to get some body work done. Things are getting worse again.

General Comments:

Comfortable drive and very spacious inside.

Powerful engine, smooth/quiet ride, comfortable steering.

A little sluggish on turns at higher speed.

Not very good traction in snow during winter.

Good visibility while driving (forwards and back).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2002

1992 Buick Regal Gran Sport 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Acclaim

Summary:

For the money, the performance is there

Faults:

The things that went wrong with my GS were, first my water pump, second my rear disc brake calipers, and that is all.

General Comments:

This car is a runner, so if you plan to buy one for a kid, think before you do. The car will hold it's own against any new Grand Prix or Grand Am on the road. The higher end sports cars, like Mustangs or T/A, well that's a different story.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd November, 2001

1992 Buick Regal GS 3.8 V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon Expresso

Summary:

Excellent luxury sport sedan for the money and comfort

Faults:

Rear brakes burnt up in 1 week after buying it.

Front drivers seat is worn (leather interior).

General Comments:

This car is a definite sleeper with refined feel and looks and can put up without having to shut up.

I am currently looking to buy and add a super-charger to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2001

1992 Buick Regal Gran Sport (GS) 3800 V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3800 V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired71000 miles
Most recent distance73500 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

Great car for the money

Faults:

- Rack and pinion seals started leaking

- Brakes need new rotors, calipers, and pads

- Minor electrical problems.... Dimmer switch malfunctions for int. lights

- Power antenna fails to work

General Comments:

Great car, I plan on keeping it to the death. I love the look on Honda owner's faces, when they get outrun by a Buick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2000

1st Sep 2002, 08:25

Yeah! I know what you mean by the looks on Honda owners faces. I've seen that look many times through the rear view mirror in my 1990 Buick GS.

14th Feb 2003, 16:46

I have just bought a 1990 Gran sport and it has had it's fun with these hi performance Honda's (ha ha) and I do not have $10,000 invested in my car.

6th Mar 2003, 20:01

I've been a proud '92 Regal GS owner for about 5 years now and it still rides incredibly solid. I've taken many cars off of the line with it's "sleeper" looks. As the car gets older I'm thinking about putting a higher performance ignition (MSD) in it so it can still deliver that fine "sleeper" performance. Can any GS owners out there share any thought on that? Thanks in advance.

-Mark.

23rd Mar 2013, 00:30

I retired my 1992 Regal GS 3 years ago. One of the most enjoyable cars I have ever owned, despite the money spent on repairs. The look of disbelief on Honda drivers' faces, revving their engines to 8000 RPM and not being able to out accelerate me, was priceless.

1992 Buick Regal Gran Sport 3800 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 3800 V6
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Mechanically the 3800 V6 is bulletproof.

I've only had problems with the drivers power window, climate control switch, and tranny cooler lines. They have been all replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Overall the family loves the car. The 3800 V6 with tuned port injection is smooth and very powerful. Handling is good, a little too stiff at times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 1998

9th Jul 2002, 21:59

I own a '92 regal grand sport 4-door. It is midnight black with a cloth top & every possible option on it. It is a beautiful car & fun to drive. I've had to replace the front brakes, idle control, & rear struts. I have a problem with the dash lights (low fuel, anti-lock, & check gages) lights that constantly flicker on & off. I like the fact that people call it a granny's car, cause they really don't know how much power the 3800 v6 makes, it surprises the hell out of them. My mom has got a '92 with the 3100 v6 in it which makes half the power that mine does. If anyone knows where I can get my hands on some performance upgrades, I'd appreciate it!

Markhillmann@msn.com.

1992 Buick Regal Custom 3.1 L OHV MPI V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 3.1 L OHV MPI V6
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

ABS brakes replaced twice, passenger front door handle froze and needed replacement.

General Comments:

4 door sedan, a good car, already has 135K miles. Good, dependable transportation. Traditional, really cold Buick AC!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 18 reviews