1995 Buick Regal Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1995 Buick Regal Grand Sport 3.8 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance73280 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

It's so so

Faults:

I was driving on the highway and all of the sudden, I heard this big pop and my transmission went out and I can only drive 45 MPH limit and then I have to let it get down to 20mph to go again.

General Comments:

I love the room in this car, the seats are luxury and my girlfriend loves to sleep in the car instead of her bed laugh out loud!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th March, 2005

1995 Buick Regal Custom 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carMazda MPV

Summary:

A great drive train in a less than inspiring package

Faults:

Cigarette lighter doesn't work.

Power antenna does not work.

Doors and trunk lid seem to need a little lubrication.

General Comments:

My wife recently inherited this car from her grandmother and so far it has been great.

Engine is very impressive. Lots of power. You have to keep an eye on your speed because the engine is so smooth it is easy to get going faster than you think.

The quality of the interior materials is not the best, but nothing is broken or cracked and it all seems tight and rattle free.

Definitely not one of GM's better exterior designs. Kind of plain and uninspiring, but maybe that's what they were going after.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th August, 2004

17th Oct 2004, 03:18

I love the exterior design. Sure, it's plain, but the body style is gorgeous and it's the simplicity that makes it so. Plus, I think it impresses the driver way beyond the looks. The engine's power shocked me when I first drove the car.

1995 Buick Regal gran sport 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Not worth buying, unless it is a second string car

Faults:

The heat core went out water pump went out changed alternator, a bunch of electrical problems meaning sensors, power locks etc.

General Comments:

The engine is good, but, interior and exterior is probably the cheapest ever made and that is the luxury addition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th August, 2004

1995 Buick Regal Custom 4 Dr 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 kilometres
Most recent distance252000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

Avoid at all costs

Faults:

-DRL working only intermittently (caught @ 65k, fixed)

-Many LED's in the instrument panel, HVAC controls and radio have stopped working before 100k (60k miles)

-Transmission had to be overhauled twice between 62 and 106k - had to be changed at 106k (a 4000$+ experience I avoided with an optional extended warranty)

-Has needed: 3 alternators (77,152 and 202k), 3 heater cores, 2 power steering pumps (90 and 160k), 1 water pump (soon after I bought it), 1 Gas tank and fuel lines (In 2000, corroded through after only 5 years on the road!)

-HVAC controls still not working properly (Never did even after many "repairs")

-Many brake woes in my 6 years of ownership (Very costly too...)

General Comments:

This car is the ultimate lemon I ever owned.

Its reliability, as well as the dealer practices have brought me, a previous die-hard GM fan, in the arms of a Japanese manufacturer. My wife has owned, for the last 5 years, a North-American made, Japanese branded car and for these 5 years, she has had fewer problems than I have had in any 3 month period of ownership of this Buick. The only thing that seems to hold up on that car is the engine itself, which is a model of the kind, stil burning only half a litre of oil between oil changes (5000km).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd July, 2004

16th Jul 2004, 02:21

Dude, get over it. You bought a lemon, obviously. It's not par for a Buick, if you read the rest of the reviews on them. So just get over it and move on. Just because you bought one GM car that sucked doesn't mean they all do. And believe you me, the Japs build lemons, too. Just ask my stepsister, what with her Honda Prelude that breaks every other day! I know where you're coming from: I bought a '85 Caddy that treated me VERY poorly (although it never left me stranded, unlike my stepsister's car...) I sold it and bought myself another GM product, a 93 Pontiac Bonneville, and am proud to say that it is practically bullet-proof :) So get over it, and give GM a much-deserved second chance.

10th Oct 2004, 23:40

I think my review in Toyota Tercel 1994 "the car that deserves respect" shows how Jaoanese cars can go bad, and GM comes out as a winner in a long run. Read all the comments as well. By the way, does you wife's car have also 252K?

17th Nov 2004, 22:00

Hello!

Your experience with your Custom Buick Regal is similar to mine. I have spent about $15,000 in the last years replacing brakes (countless times),the transmission at 106,000km, alternator, HAVOC.

The only thing I love about it is it's comfort. I have a 2004 Camry also, but I still prefer my Buick :S. I will never buy another one but at the same time i refuse to sell it.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 18 reviews