1995 Buick Regal Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1995 Buick Regal Custom 2dr. coupe 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100050 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Keep Looking

Faults:

What things haven't gone wrong.

I am sorry to say that this is by far the most cheaply made car I have ever seen.

The plastic seatbelt holders broke off, when I slightly touched them.

The latch to the glove box snapped and broke, the passenger door no longer opens from the outside, and the right blinker is frozen (I have had mechanics look at it and they don't know whats wrong).

The arm rest no longer latches, and the plastic around the seatbelt latch basically cracked and fell apart.

Onto the larger and more expensive problems the heater core, I do not know how many times its been changed out, but I do know it was changed only a year ago and it broke again 6 months ago.

I recently replaced the windshield because of a chip that turned into a 35 inch crack directly in the line of sight.

There is something wrong with the transmission, although I am unable to pin point it.

When I back out to the right there is a noise (sounds like the tire may be rubbing against something inside the wheel well).

There is a loud knocking sound anytime day, night, cold or hot.

General Comments:

This car has a lot of get up, but for me the negative over powers the positive.

I keep the car very well maintained, so I am a little confused at the pile of problems that I can only imagine are just beginning to pile up.

The things I enjoy about it include the lower back lumbar supports, the gray blue cloth interior, the layout of the dash, and I love the roominess of the car.

I believe that these problems come with age, but they are costly. I am looking to repair and sell my car in hopes I find something more reliable that does not have these problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th November, 2003

19th Jan 2005, 21:29

Mine has two hundred eight thousand miles on it and it's still going strong.

16th Jul 2005, 01:43

I think that this is a great car. I agree with the 3.1 being not so great the 3.8 is 150x better. but I love this car mine only has 20,000 and I've had no problems.

1995 Buick Regal Custom 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

A good performing family sedan

Faults:

Very little in 21,000 miles.

BUT...The car has an intermittent miss that the dealer cannot find, the front drivers strut pops indicating the strut bearing is bad, but it isn't a serious problem yet.

General Comments:

Overall and considering this vehicle is an ex-police detectives car I am very pleased. The county I purchased it from maintained the vehicles with synthetic oil and kept them very clean.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2003

29th May 2004, 15:39

I know exactly what you mean. I test drove one today, but my dad would not buy it for me because it had a miss. But overall it's a great car. Really big, though.

1995 Buick Regal custom g/s 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance103220 miles

Summary:

Not worth the money, but very reliable!! Go for a Dodge Neon that was built on a Wednesday!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car while I've had it, but before I actually bought it, I had the dealer change the serpentine belt, and fix the cruise control.

The seats are comfortable, but do not support your back very well, when you drive long distances to work and back everyday.

The sound system is not as good as my previous car '87 Cutlass Cierra Oldsmobile.

As many times as people say this 2 door is not a granny car. I am 18 years old and I think it is a granny car.

This car slips when it is wet the tires seize up, The dealer says its normal for them to seize up that it is the ABS braking system, I disagree. It could cause an accident.

My car is surprisingly slow, it has no power. I had a '99 Cavalier 2dr. coupe RS 4 cyl. and it had more power than this V6.

General Comments:

Nice family car!

Nice Granny car! I am going to give it to my grandma when I pay it off and get my '03 Dodge Neon.

The size is amazing, but is the reason the performance is bad.

It is great for reliability. Last night I left the Dome light and vanity lights on for 19 hours and The battery was fine. It held up great, started right up.

I don't like the fact that my discman doesn't adapt to the cassette player, and I can't find an adapter that will.

It is so hard to find nice steering wheel covers, the steering wheel is not a 16" standard. No, it is a 16 1/2".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th January, 2003

10th Jan 2003, 16:23

Steering wheel covers?. Granny car? First of all, I own a 1995 Buick Gran Sport. When he says g/s is that what he means? GS "Gran Sports" only came with the much more potent 3.8, not the 3.1. My friend owns a 2001 neon and let me tell you, I would smoke him, for the first 100- 150 yards or so, until my pushrod motor ran out of breath. It's a nice "personal luxury" car as it was meant to be. If you want to go fast, buy a Corvette!

13th Nov 2003, 09:56

I have a 1994 regal with all the g/s options including the 16 inch wheels. it also has the 3.8 it is a fun car to drive and handles excellent. if you don't like a harsh ride then don't buy one, I don't mind it at all.

9th Dec 2007, 18:04

Although the steering wheel is 16.5" you can still get 16" steering wheel covers on. Its harder to do, but possible. In order to listen to Cd's I originally bought a cassette adapter, which worked fine.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 18 reviews