2001 Buick Regal GS 3.8 Supercharger from North America

Summary:

I bought this car as a second car. I still have my Camry, but may look to Buick when I replace it

Faults:

I bought this car used last year. Nothing has gone wrong in 12000 miles.

General Comments:

The car is really a very nice car.

Looks like a Buick, but runs like a sports car

Very comfortable ride and quite

Every option you can imagine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2006

2001 Buick Regal LS V6 from North America

Summary:

This car is one of the worst investments I've ever made

Faults:

Had to replace transmission 3 times.

Check engine lights comes on frequently.

Power windows stop working constantly.

Paint on door is beginning to wear away.

An emissions plug melted.

Catalytic converter went.

General Comments:

This is one of the worst cars I have ever owned. It seems that I've spent more money repairing this car, than I actually spent buying it. The transmission on the car went three times within a two year period.

Whenever I filled my gas tank up with gas, the check engine light would come on. When they hooked the car up to the computer to see what the problem was the results came back saying that I had no properly put the gas cap on correctly. This has happened more than 15 times.

The power windows have had to be replaced on several occasions.

The paint on both sides of the car is beginning to chip away.

An emissions plug melted causing the car to make off noises. When I took it to the car garage they said they had never seen anything like this happen before.

The catalytic converter went just recently (December, 2005), and the car mechanic informed me that if it had gone 5,000 miles earlier GM would've paid for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th December, 2005

2001 Buick Regal GS 3.8 Supercharged V6 from North America

Summary:

Great car, I love it.

Faults:

Nothing. It's held up better than I expected, as I tend to be rough on my cars.

General Comments:

Great car. Handles well, great acceleration, comfortable on long trips. I like the interior room, on my last car my left elbow was forever hitting the door when I made a trun, never happens now. I've had a 1986, 1993, and now this 2001 Regal. This car is a great improvement on the 1993, which was in the shop fairly often and had iffy performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2005

2001 Buick Regal GS 3.8 from North America

Summary:

Having previously owned a 1991 Buick Regal, I am even more disappointed in the 2001

Faults:

Within four months of buying a brand new 2001 Buick Regal I had to have the front rotors resurfaced. They would not replace them, only resurface them.

I had to have the entire steering rack replaced at 35,000 miles after I felt a soft clunk in the steering column (primarily when turning). You could even feel the "clunk" in the brake foot pedal. Luckily, this was under warranty.

A little over 2,000 miles later the "clunk" returned in the steering column and brake pedal. I am now being told the problem is two-fold. I have to replace both front tie rod ends and the front rotors at 37,000 miles.

General Comments:

I owned at 1991 Buick Regal for 10 years and replaced the rotors (front and back) twice. Additionally, the rotors (front and back) were resurfaced once and turned several times. It doesn't look like they have fixed the problem. Before buying the 2001 Buick Regal, I asked if the rotor problem had been resolved and was assured it had been. Apparently the problem has not been resolved.

It seems like the 1991 and 2001 both have rotor problems, but the 2001 has an added problem with the steering rack and tie rods.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd November, 2004

16th Feb 2005, 19:11

I had a 1991 Buick Regal GS with the the 3800 Motor and I never had problems with the brakes or the steering and I just bought a 1995 Buick Regal GS. I havent had any problems with it.

27th May 2005, 00:29

I just bought a 2001 Buick Regal LS today. I love it!! It rides very smoothly and it's got very convenient features. I bought it because it is well-kept and has a good reputation. However, I've noticed that people have made references to rotors and "clunking" on this website.

I had the dealer to turn the white-wall to the inside to make the car look more sporty. Then, I noticed that when I exited the interstate, there was a vibration when the break was applied.

Is this the "clunking" that is being referred to?? My car has only 39,000 miles and I thought maybe it's because it hasn't been driven rigorously enough over the past 4 years.

I also want to know about gas mileage. Right now, it doesn't appear that the gas mileage is any good. What's the average?

Any comments??

6th Aug 2008, 23:23

I understand that this review was posted a number of years ago. However, I was PREVIOUSLY a GM mechanic and may be able to shed some light on this "clunk in the steering". The problem is not likely in the steering rack, and is DEFINITELY NOT in the brake rotors (warpage in the brake rotors cause a steering wheel shimmy during braking). The "clunk" is most likely caused by excessive clearance in a part of the steering column. There is a section in the column that is splined in order to collapse in a collision. Gm has had problems with clearance in these splines causing a "clunk" feeling, most noticeable when turning at speeds (i.e. a highway exit ramp). There ARE updated parts available. If a shop is installing parts that aren't required, I suggest that you find a new repair facility.