2004 Buick Rendezvous Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2004 Buick Rendezvous 3.4L from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.4L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles

Summary:

Like it

Faults:

No real problems.

Both my kids have taken this car to college with them. My son decided to drive over a large object rather than drive around it as everyone else would. As a result, the car need some work done to the front ABS system (replaced some parts that had torn off).

The only other thing was replacing the battery at 73,000 miles and the rear brakes at 50,000 miles.

The car runs great.

Some of the overhead plastic storage doors have come off. This may be a result of my kids rather than the car.

General Comments:

Lots of room and a great ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2009

2004 Buick Rendezvous 3.4L from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.4L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 kilometres
Most recent distance52000 kilometres
Previous carFord Econoline

Summary:

These vehicles depreciate in price drastically for a reason

Faults:

Both front wheel bearings at 52000 km, 10 months out of warranty.

GM will not reimburse, because work was not done by dealer. How was I to know? Very unfair, IMHO. $650.00 down the drain.

GM has lost two repeat customers (my wife, in the market for a mini van, and myself) for $650.00. Hope they enjoy my $650.00. Will never buy GM again.

Rear door/hatch pressure pad switch at 51000 kms, 4 months out of warranty. GM dealer will not reimburse, says once warranty is up, too bad. Had to buy part and install myself.

Rear window wiper blade does not clean window, spring is too weak, 3 months out of warranty.

Engine stalls twice while at low speed while under warranty. Dealer can't find problem.

General Comments:

I expect transmission, engine gaskets, door window motors, to fail anytime now, without GM help.

Will burn car in driveway rather than selling to innocent buyer.

Good looks and interior comforts suckered me into buying this car. Learned my lesson well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th April, 2008

16th Jul 2008, 17:17

We have a 2004 Rendezvous with about 66,000 miles. The car has been driven by my two children who are very rough on cars. No unusual problems. Vehicle is very reliable.

30th Dec 2009, 12:50

So your warranty is up and you replaced some worn out items, and are mad that GM won't reimburse you? Also how is that 650 dollars down the drain? Seems more like 650 dollars spent on fixing your vehicle to me.

Vehicles are expenses, not assets. It's not like GM designed a product to fail exactly when your personal warranty runs out, because that would be an amazing technological breakthrough.

2004 Buick Rendezvous from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carBuick Rendezvous

Summary:

Drives great in the snow, but what a money pit

Faults:

1 There was a recall for the back latch = noted for opening by itself.

2. The left front wheel bearing had to be replaced by 50,000, and the right side by 55,000. That was $1,300.

3. The front brakes needed replacing at 33,000 (they totally disintegrated). My husband does the break work and has never seen rotors like this in 40 years.

4. There was a recall for the covers on the C.V. joints.

5. Paint on the hood blistered and needed work. (covered under the warranty).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th November, 2007

2004 Buick Rendezvous from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired543 kilometres
Most recent distance73000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Montana

Summary:

Don't purchase it

Faults:

Until now, minor problems such as rear hatch not opening fully (replaced gas shocks and guides).

Now, since the warranty is over (60K), complete brakes front and rear, pads and rotors, rear hatch now does not open unless opened using the remote, sunroof motor cuts in and out, not fully opening or closing in 1 try holding the button.

Today front hub bearing went, another $600. Called GM complaint line, and although some vehicles of this model year are under a bearing replacement program, apparently our vehicle is not included. No wonder the "big 3" are in trouble. I won't be getting another GM product. 70000 kilometers and worn out!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th August, 2007

2004 Buick Rendezvous Ultra 3.6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carBuick Rendezvous

Summary:

It's a solid vehicle with lots of luxuries

Faults:

I had to update the "On-star" phone from analog to digital.

General Comments:

The Ultra is loaded with luxuries. It's very comfortable on long trips as the "Ultra" package offers adjustable and comfortable seats. The ride is a little stiffer and sportier than the CXL, but still very smooth. The "heads up" display projects the vehicle speed, current radio station, and turn signals onto the windshield so that the driver doesn't have to look away from the road. The radio controls are on the steering wheel, so you don't have to look away from the road to change volume or stations. The dash is done in woodgrain instead of the tin used in previous models. The 3.6L engine is plenty of engine to move the vehicle. The all wheel drive kicks in immediately on slick roads as do the anti-lock breaks. If looking for a used Crossover, I'd buy this vehicle, but Buick is discontinuing the Rendezvous, so I'll gladly move up to the Enclave.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2007

16th Jan 2009, 12:27

We own a 2004 Rendezvous also, but mainly the wife drives it. We have had our share of problems that seem to stump GM technicians, but it has sure cost us money for finding nothing wrong.

I hope no one ever has to replace the battery, what a nightmare. GM in their great wisdom decided to include a plastic encased nut under the battery tray (there is no access) which secures the battery mounting bracket. After four years in certain environmental conditions this nut and bolt begin to corrode. Come time to replace the battery, the plastic encased around this nut cracked under stress when trying to loosen the bolt. Once this happens the bolt just spins around. I literally had to rip the battery out of the vehicle to remove.

If your heads up display starts making "growling" noises when you first get into your car, check the battery out. The technicians could not solve this problem. By chance when the battery went dead a new battery eliminated the sound.

Intermittently the gas gauge and speedometer decide to give erroneous readings. Technicians cannot solve this.

Also changed out wheel bearings at about 40,000.

The heater also has its own mind. It seems to heat the passenger side better than the driver side.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 14 reviews