29th Jun 2001, 12:14

I have 95, it is an awesome car. It is natural to think that if your car falls apart, that all Riviera's are bad, but don't think that since you are having a bad car problem that the Riviera's are bad cars.

17th Jul 2001, 19:55

Likewise, just because your car is good, don't think that the manufacturer is good. The major (if not the whole) point of this web site is to gather statistical data based on which consumers can make decisions. Anything could happen to any car, that's true. When many owners submit reports of the same problem, however, we must give it a serious thought. If you have a good car, wite a good review. If you have a bad car, you write a bad review. Either way, your review is one point in the dataset, and is in no way the authoritative judgment. To me a bad review is at least as valuable as a good one. Quality of service, and skill level of dealer mechanics are important part of ownership of newer cars also.

7th Sep 2001, 10:34

1. If the wrist pin was missing as you say, the piston would not be attached to the connecting rod, but would be loose in the cylinder. This engine would never even start let alone leave the factory.

2. You say the fit and finish was poor. I have spent seven years in the auto body business and I can tell you that the fit and finish on any Buick is excellent, especially the higher priced models.

3. You say the seat was too wide. What could that mean? Did they hang out of the car when the doors were open?

I don't believe you ever had a Buick Riviera.

19th Dec 2001, 07:23

I have a 1995 Buick Riviera. I love the car. I have one minor problem though. Anyone know where I can find the electrical diagram for it? I have a short somewhere that effects the wipers, horn and traction control. If someone can help me that would be great. Thanks.

17th Jun 2002, 15:47

I love my Rivieras! However, things are starting to go wrong - it is turning 90K soon. Anyway, anyone know where I can get some help locating a Climate Control problem? Fuses - good, could it be a relay? The blower motor burned out? Help!!!

29th Sep 2002, 15:20

I have a 1995 Buick Riviera I absolutely love the car. I got it with 45,000 miles now it has 61,000. I have done burnouts with it and raced it at the track it runs 15.95 stock. But when I changed the transmission fluid the transmission is slipping real bad. But overall the car is awesome.

11th Oct 2002, 01:02

I purchased a '95 Riviera new June 28, 1994. I have 123,614 miles on the car now and have had no major repairs. Fuel use from purchase to date is 5,642 gals or 21.9 MPG. I had 3 minor problems with the car that the dealership was not able to fix. I wrote to Buick on each of these items and never received a response. I fixed one of the items myself, the other two I just lived with. By the way, I have driven GM products for 39 years, but I just purchased my wife a new import.

The first item was the door sill trim plate, the rear end of which was not supported and broke repeatedly. After the dealership replaced it 3 times, I shaped a wooden block to support it, it has been fine since.

The second problem is the fuel gage. It reads high until it gets below 1/4 tank, then goes to the warning light in approximately 40 miles. When the red light come on, I have 3 miles to find fuel. At 1/4 tank I have 2 gallons, not the 5 gallons the owners manual says I should have.

The power steering is the final problem. Often when the engine is at idle, the power assist is not there. So when parking, I can either man handle the steering wheel or keep the engine rpm up and ride the brake.

14th Nov 2002, 11:10

I have a '95 Buick Riviera, which I purchased in March of 2000. I bought it with 51,000 miles. It now has a little over 74,000. I love this car. I've had some work done; power steering pump and reservoir replaced, new master cylinder, occasional brake pads and an engine belt.

Lately, I've noticed that once I turn the engine over, my gages light up, then grow dim and the car struggles to continue running before recovering. Yesterday, I noticed severe front-end shuddering when I accelerate quickly to overdrive at low and high speeds. My local guy performed diagnostic tests and suspects that it might be the supercharger. He doesn't want to touch it and insists that I take it to the dealer. I'm going to do so in the morning. I can just imagine what this is going to cost me, but I'm still a huge Riv' fan.

20th Feb 2003, 12:33

I cannot believe all the good reviews that this review bank/data set contains on 95 Rivieras; it's like reading about a completely different vehicle. Both myself and my brother own them, 95 & 98 (supercharged) respectively. They both have low miles and are pampered as well.

The good looks and handling notwithstanding, they have both suffered continual and random electrical shorts ranging from window, lock and horn failures to life-threatening engine stalls. These cars have turned the joy of auto ownership into a complete and utter nightmare. It appears that once these cars hit about 3 years or so, the cars pick up a neurological disorder.

4th Apr 2003, 09:11

I bought a 95 Riviera in March of 2002 with 105,000 miles on it. It now has 120,000. The rear shocks I believe, have a leak, which makes the air motor go on ALL the time... even when the car is off. I have had to replace the radiator, and the brakes. Other than that.. everyone loves it. I only paid $5500 for the thing.

It's not a bad car for back-seat activities too.

4th May 2003, 20:47

My 95 Riviera started shaking when I accelerate. Any ideas? No engine lights are coming on, and it seems to be driving fine (except for the shaking). It's not the tires, because it shakes while it's in park.


23rd May 2003, 17:23

I have had my Riv for 5 years now. I just put in a new engine and had to have the transmission overhauled and last year I had the supercharger rebuilt. A lot of money for this car, but still love it $6000 later.

12th Oct 2003, 15:40

I found a 1995 riviera that belongs to an old lady, She only wants $4,500 and the best part is that it only has 18,000 miles on it. I hope the odometer wasn't tampered with,Is that posible?

5th Nov 2004, 19:27

I have a '93 Buick Riviera. I know, not the same body style as the newer models. But, I must say that your problems sound like they may have been due to poor workmanship on the part of whoever worked on your car. Bad fit and finish? Not that I've seen, even in models newer than mine. Seats too wide? It's a luxury car, it's going to feel a little plush and roomy, it's built to do so, and it does it excellently. I have to say, I'm impressed that mine has 146k miles on it and it drives and feels like new, with the interior still in mint condition, and only one small rust spot on the fuel door. More proof? Basically the same frame, engine, and transmission on my '88 Oldsmobile Toronado Trofeo. Even older (but with only 86k on it) has had no major trouble either. And yes, the seats are quite ample as well. Hats off to GM design, quality, and performance. Both of them are practically showroom condition.