1995 Buick Riviera Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1995 Buick Riviera V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Great looking, but unreliable

Faults:

Almost the entire cooling system has been replaced over the last six months. It began with a cracked intake manifold and has resulted in almost every piece of the system having to be replaced.

The ABS sensors continue to malfunction causing my ABS brakes to turn on while driving, sometimes at high speeds.

General Comments:

This is a love/hate relationship with this car. My Rivi is the most fun car I have ever owned. It looks great, is extremely comfortable, and handles like a dream for such a big automobile.

However, I have never had so many problems with a car in my life. This car began nickel and diming me to death only two weeks after I purchased it. In the two years I have owned my Rivi I have spent over $3000.00 on repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th September, 2002

1995 Buick Riviera 3.8L Supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8L Supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired126600 miles
Most recent distance129000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Know what your buying

Faults:

Two days and 40 miles after purchasing the car from a GM dealership, the engine started to miss upon acceleration. The engine needed a tune-up. Technician suspected possible engine damage due to the miss.

Then steering wheel shook. I had to replace the strut seats. The steering wheel still shakes a little after doing so.

The supercharger bearing was grinding. I had to replace the supercharger. Super-chargers are expensive new or used.

The car was in the shop for the entire month of November, which was the same month I bought it.

The seat-belt recall was not even performed.

The dealership tried to stick me with the entire bill around 2000 dollars.

General Comments:

The Riviera is supposed to be a luxuary car, yet a compact disc player was an option in 1995 as was the supercharger. A player is standard equipment on an Oldsmobile Aurrora as was the 250hp V8.

The interior and exterior are very plain, much like any other Buick.

The super-charged 3.8L engine moves the car and has excellent passing power. I wouldn't want to drive this car with out the supercharger.

Even with 129,000 miles the car have very little road and wind noise, and is a pleasure to drive.

The car is very bouncey when going over bumps, at moderate intown speeds. The car however floats over bumps at lower speeds.

Fuel economy for the 1995 SC 3.8L is poor in-town and excellent on the highway.

The seats are not as comfortable as my previous car's. Buick uses cheap leather which wears out quickly if not taken care of regularly.

The cup holder tensioner spring broke.

The fuel door release freezes shut in the winter after going through a car-wash.

This car is very solid. It rides like a new car even with high mileage. It is too bad GM couldn't sell more like the Aurora and Riviera.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th April, 2002

27th Sep 2002, 22:39

Water will freezes in the winter. daaaa.

3rd Mar 2003, 01:24

You say the 1995 Buick is bland like the rest of the Buicks? I think your glasses are distorting your vision.

24th Jun 2003, 16:23

I have owned my 1995 Rivi for three years now. I have spent a couple thousand dollars on her and would spend a couple more if I had to. The only real problem I have experienced is a shaking sensation at all speeds. New tires and a brake job haven't seemed to help. Overall, my Rivi now has 170,000 miles on her and and expect to get another 170,000 out of her before retirement.

13th May 2005, 19:01

I have a 95 Riv that doesn't have a supercharger, was told to stay away from them, but mine can leave something to be desired passing uphill on the freeway. I agree it must be rare, mine is the only one I've seen without it.

24th Jan 2011, 01:37

I think my 95 Riviera is great. Don't know what people are saying about the plain and cheap interior. I have 110K on it and it is a Northern car. The seats are perfect with no rips, holes or cracks. All doors, compartments and holders work perfectly. Maybe some people do not respect a work of art.

This car just makes me feel good when I go for a drive.

Would not trade for newer J car.

25th Jun 2011, 04:09

You say you have a shaking sensation at any speed?

I would check the CV axles, as with any high mileage and powerful FWD car, they tend to wear out and eventually seize. They are easy to replace and fairly cheap. About an hour per side if you're mechanically inclined, and then it will need an alignment.

But I would start with looking at the CV's first.

1995 Buick Riviera 6 cylinder - supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder - supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

Never again

Faults:

1st engine - piston failure.

2nd engine - From factory with wrist-pin missing! Imminent failure!

Is that enough? Yup!

Bad fit and finish.

General Comments:

Bought the car used and was talked into an extended warrant by the dealer, thank God. First engine went, then a week later second engine went! My crap Pontiac 600 was more reliable than this! Soon the car was sold.

Other points - seats too wide, needed a V8.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st June, 2001

25th Jun 2001, 09:29

So you had bad luck with one Riviera, big deal, it could happen to any car, ANY car. You can't blame the car for it, blame the mechanics that worked on it. If the second engine blew a week later, I would rethink who does my mechanical work. How is any of that the fault of the manufacturer or the car's?

1995 Buick Riviera 3.8L supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8L supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 kilometres
Most recent distance118000 kilometres
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Very comfortable and safe luxury car

Faults:

I replaced the tranny since it was slipping. Cup holder broke, and it costs a mint (250 + tax) to fix it.

So I left it as is so far.

The traction control module died, (1000$) didn't fix it.

2 front ABS bearings went, fixed it (under warranty).

Rack and pinion went under warranty.

Electric seat had a corroded wire, fixed it myself, dealer wanted 250 + tax, fixed it myself in 15 minutes.

Makes a noise when turning... shock bearing... that's it!!

General Comments:

Comfortable car.

Turning radius sucks.

Suspension is decent, but more for luxury (duh?)

Too big and hard to park.

Bad forward and rear visibility.

Stupid looking dash.

Good performance.

Stopping and going (modified the car with a PROM from fastchip.com).

Great gas mileage..

Sure ain't cheap to fix though!!!

For the money it's a good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2001

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 23 reviews