1995 Buick Riviera Reviews - Page 4 of 7

1995 Buick Riviera from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carNissan Quest

Summary:

I like the styling and performance

Faults:

The power steering was becoming difficult to turn. My neighborhood mechanic flushed the system and it has been fine. He also did a tune up and it runs really well.

General Comments:

I have long wanted one as a third car, but all that I saw were over-priced. I got this one in immaculate condition and keep it at my house in PA where I only go about a month every summer. When I get out on the interstate it really takes off. I usually drive slow, 55-60, but not with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2003

1995 Buick Riviera Superchraged 3.8 SC from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 SC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carBuick Riviera

Summary:

High miles equals high dollar amounts

Faults:

Paint is peeling off from all around.

Sometimes, the car turns off while driving.

The battery drains for no reason from time to time (while parked)

Check light won't turn off.

Bad local mileage.

General Comments:

A beautiful car, that gets you noticed. Smooth and fast. It is a luxurious car that's fit for an American.

However, be prepared to pay heavy maintenance. For the most part, only the dealer can get you out of trouble..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2003

1995 Buick Riviera from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carBuick Cadallac

Summary:

An overrated

Faults:

All within the past 9 months:

Air compressor replaced.

Water pump replaced.

Serpentine belt replaced.

Power steering pump replaced.

Multi-function turn signal (nearly $700)

Transmission rebuilt.

General Comments:

Love the look of the car. Like the way it drives, and it handles well in ice and snow. Like the way I look in it!

But it has been a total lemon.

Currently having to replace the battery, which is the dumbest design (being under the back seat).

Electrical system is on the blink with panel lights coming on and off, the temperature light won't turn off when turning off the car, the blower will not turn off.

Overall, it has been a nightmare. Too bad, since it is such a nice looking car.

I will never buy another Buick anything, and may never buy another GM product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th October, 2003

4th Dec 2003, 20:00

I would have to agree. I have already replaced the water pump and have a number of things I need to fix. Such as:

1. the passenger seat's lumbar control and storage pouch broke.

2. passenger side lock stopped responding to the key-less entry and has to be unlocked manually.

3. the car's acceleration is choppy and by the looks of things might need a new transmission.

I could go on, but there is no point.

1995 Buick Riviera 2 door coupe 3.8 supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

I love this car!!!

Faults:

The passenger side window sometimes refuses to work, although this is rare.

The factory CD player doesn't work.

The transmission was rebuilt at 60,000 miles. It wasn't designed to deal with the extra torque the supercharger adds in my opinion.

Twilight Sentinel lights don't work.

General Comments:

I love this car. I am 16 and drive the car to school. I get positive comments from everybody.

The seats are extremely comfortable, and I have gotten compliments from everyone who has ridden in it. All of the amenities are well placed, and I love being able to hide the cup holders and ash tray. Dual climate controls also are very handy.

The supercharger adds a great level of sportiness to this car that is very heavy. It moves this car along very well for weighing almost 2 tons. My Oldsmobile also has the 3.8 and is no slouch itself, but this blows it away. I broke the tires loose in the Rivy doing 35 mph. My friend was with me who drives an '85 Camaro, and he was very impressed.

The suspension also handles the weight well and keeps the car from feeling like a boat.

I practically stole this car for $2500. It's worth at least 6k and is an amazing car. It's a Buick that will take an Eclipse GT, believe me!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th September, 2003

1995 Buick Riviera 3.8 liter Supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 liter Supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Miles of comfort, great performance, high high maintenence

Faults:

My transmission went at 60,000 miles at a cost of $2200. These '95 transmission are not designed to handle the supercharger in my opinion. Also, many of the plastic trim pieces in the cabin broke off: the rear passenger air vent, the drivers side power lumbar support button, the Traction control button, the door spring on the center console storage bin. Other features just stopped working, like the trunk release and the fuel release. The temperature gauge control needs to be pressed really hard to work. The steering wheel has an unsafe jiggly movement side-to-side. Sometimes the climate control system goes blank for no reason. The glove compartment light and engine compartment light do not work unless the car is running, a feature/defect which makes these convenience lights useless when your having car trouble.

Also, the sunroof leaked because the rubber drainage tubes simply got disconnected inside the A-pillars. The aluminum finish on the wheels is wearing off, and the paint on the hood of the car seems to chip whenever a knat hits it. I don't want to hear about the fact that it's an 8 year old car to justify this kinda of wear-and-tear, because our '84 Audi 4000, which had a lot more wear and tear, but had no plastic pieces brake off or paint/wheel finish fading, even 10 years later. Unfortunately, this car has been unreliable a drain on the wallet.

General Comments:

It spite of all the problems I have had with this car, it is an absolute joy to drive. It is the most comfortable car I have ever driven. It is the most beautiful car I have ever driven. I get compliments from every person who has sat in the car (they especially like the after market genuine wood dash I put in). I don't quite understand the online criticisms I've read about this car driving like a boat. It handles corners very well and keeps you firmly in your seat. With a G-Force gauge, I clocked this car doing 6.81 seconds from 0 to 60 (power braking). The tracion control handles well in the snow, as does the ABS.

I agree that the cabin is monotonous (everything inside is blue!), but the aftermarket wood dash turns it into a show car. I like the design and the gauges, especially with high center console. Its also very room (I managed to fit diagonally, 8 foot plastic building corner beads in the cabin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2003

5th Nov 2005, 20:12

The battery is underneath the back seat, closer to the passenger side.

8th Feb 2009, 18:19

The transmission went bad from power braking.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 23 reviews