1997 Buick Skylark Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1997 Buick Skylark Custom 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

A waste of money

Faults:

Replaced passenger left back window motor at 47k.

Replaced passenger right back window motor at 48k.

Replaced battery, brakes, and alternator at 48k.

Replaced heater core at 50k.

Replaced both oxygen sensors and catalytic converter at 55k.

Developed a knock in the engine at 66k.

Seats have started to wear badly.

General Comments:

This car was very comfortable, yet very unreliable. It did not handle interstate miles very well. This car cost me a lot of money, and now it has a knock in the engine. Great stereo though!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th November, 2003

15th Feb 2004, 14:05

I also have a 1997 Buick Skylark & the Quad 4 motor ALWAYS gets that knock. I also know Cavaliers and other GM cars qith 4 cyl. motors get noisy.

24th Sep 2004, 08:31

Turn up the volume on that great stereo system and the knocking noise will immediately disappear!

1997 Buick Skylark Custom 2.4L V4 Gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4L V4 Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

Another crappy geezer ride

Faults:

The car has always had problems with starting, the first occurrence being not even 1 day after I purchased it, and my dealer told me it was nothing. A RECALL hadn't been done that caused the car to catch on fire if the starter is on too long. $0.

The rotors went bad the day after the warranty expired. $225.

The tape deck spits out tapes with an unknown error message. Not fixed.

The window motors are slowing down. $?

General Comments:

I only bought the car because I had 2 crapmobiles, a 1987 AMC Eagle sedan, which leaked/used/burned 2 quarts of oil in only 1500 miles, and a 1986 Ford Crown Victoria which had began to clack when decelerating. I got the worst deal of the century on this car.

The interior is comfortable.

The car is not as ugly as my previous cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2003

11th Jun 2003, 15:05

I'd get rid of the other 2 and use the money to fix the Crown Vic (or buy another one) ;)

1997 Buick Skylark Grand Sport 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

A sporty Grandpa car

Faults:

The car runs great, or at least most of the time. I do find myself however gassing up quite a bit and buying coolant a lot.

Also, if you need this car serviced hopefully you know someone that can do it because if you have to take it in it's going to cost you.

I had some minor front end work done. I didn't think it would be that much, but when I got the bill, I thought to myself was it really worth getting the work done?

General Comments:

I think that the GS model of the Skylark is a fine car to own.

I think the handling is alright for a boxy car.

I do like the pick up, both on the road and on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2003

1997 Buick Skylark Custom 2.4L Quad Four from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4L Quad Four Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

A good car with high repair costs

Faults:

My water pump had to be replaced at 84,000 miles and cost $500.

At 89,039 miles, the brakes went out requiring front pads and one rotor and cost $100.

Both front window motors stopped working at 94,942 miles and cost $200.

The heater core blew at 105,000 miles and cost $350.

The motor mounts now need to be replaced at 115,000 miles. The projected cost is $400.

At 115,000, All springs and shocks in the car need to be replaced with an approximate cost of $750.

General Comments:

This is a decent car, but it costs a lot to repair. When it is not broken, it has a lot of power and the ride is relatively comfortable for a compact sedan.

This car is not expensive to buy, but a heap of money to have fixed. To anyone who wants to buy a 1996-1998 Skylark, save your money for unexpected repairs!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2003

1997 Buick Skylark from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

A perfect car for work transportation

Faults:

Drivers side window motor went bad.

General Comments:

This vehicle has been a God send, in that it is the most reliable vehicle we've had in a long time. Driven 95 miles daily, it has been little or no trouble to us.

Downside is the room for the driver. Sets too low to the ground, with seats that are low as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2003

1st Apr 2004, 11:02

I have a 1997 BUICK skylark. That was purchase new. I have 160,886 miles and it is running fine. I wish they were still making the car.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 26 reviews