1997 Buick Skylark Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1997 Buick Skylark Custom 3.1 2ND Generation from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 2ND Generation Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carBuick Skyhawk

Summary:

A four door jet

Faults:

This car has been very good since all the recalls were taken care of. Cudos to GM, the work was done efficiently and in a friendly manner. The car itself has had to have no major work done to it.

General Comments:

This is an incredibly comfortable and fast car for the level of car that it is. It was the last year of the car and they just started to get it right. Buick is a good car no matter what level your buying!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2003

1997 Buick Skylark Custom 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired34011 miles
Most recent distance36600 miles

Summary:

Not a great buy!

Faults:

This was my first official car and I will never buy a Buick again. This car has been such a pain in repairs and all. Grandparents bought it for 7,000 and I think it is worth about 2,000.

35,000 Miles---->Needed new Battery and Positive Battery Cable was corroded and leaking battery acid. (Still during dealer's warranty for me)

36,600----->Needs new alternator and totaly died on me. When 4 days earlier I had taken it to a mechanic when I noticed my battery light coming on, who told me that it was probably just a computer error and told me my battery was fine considering it had been put in only two months earlier.

General Comments:

The Car is wonderful on the highway and increases speed quickly, nice car for highway driving.

Does not get good gas mileage even on the highway.

Cruise control is awesome!!!

City driving wise the car is not as great.

Very skittish with turns and does not hug the road as other cars might!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th November, 2002

1997 Buick Skylark Custom 2.4L V4 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4L V4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles

Summary:

A bargain-priced sedan with expensive repairs

Faults:

The transmission went at 40,000 miles.

$1500 for a rebuilt one.

The brake pads and rotors had to be replaced at 30,000.

The windows wouldn't roll down after 60,000 miles.

Water pump replaced at 80,000. $650.

The driver's power door lock stopped working after 90,000 miles. $250.

The rubber stripping around the doors is staring to deteriorate.

Now rain water is leaking into the passenger compartment.

General Comments:

I have had a lot of problems with the car, but I do love it. It's very comfortable and has a great factory sound system. It also has good get-up-and-go for a Buick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th November, 2002

1997 Buick Skylark Custom 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carFord escord

Summary:

A nightmare from GM

Faults:

Everything

What a junk.

The control arm bushings had to be replaced after 55k

The alternator bearings make squealing noise

The belt pensioner needed to be replaced at 60000 miles

The shocks and struts had to be replaced after 60000.

The water pump gave up at 75000.

The whole engine is built poorly

You can't get to any part if need to be replaced so it makes the repair extremely expensive.

Oh I forgot the brake pads last 20k

Only the car is heavy and the rotors are small.

I'll never buy a GM again

Could have a Nisan or Toyota instead of this piece of junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th May, 2002

1997 Buick Skylark Custom 2.4 liter 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance99600 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Surprisingly reliable car (aside from the typical GM quirks)

Faults:

Driver side window rolls down, but only periodically rolls up (it started rolling down crooked right after I bought it and it has gotten progressively worse, so now it won't work at all).

Ignition module replaced at 75,000.

Brakes seem to always need attention.

General Comments:

This car is surprisingly peppy, although a bit on the loud side when you punch the accelerator.

Traction control works awesome in snow!

It rides nice and has had relatively few problems.

I have owned this car three times longer than any other previous car and I intend to keep it a while longer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th May, 2002

1997 Buick Skylark Custom 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 kilometres
Most recent distance147000 kilometres
Previous carGMC Corsica

Summary:

A very nice car

Faults:

Mm head gasket blew at 147000 kms. I only owned it for nine months. I AM NOT VERY IMPRESSED. The new engine will cost me $3500.00 plus labor.

General Comments:

This car is very fast and smooth driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th June, 2001

1997 Buick Skylark Custom 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

The most reliable car I ever owned and I highly recommend it for the price

Faults:

The lower control arm bushings needed changed at 45,000. Cost was $140 in the shop, installed.

The alternator went at 87,000 miles. It gets hot in this model and even has an air induction tube for cooling. Cost $95 self-installed.

General Comments:

Low end pickup is torquey and surprisingly strong. Almost makes it a sleeper on take off. Slow at the top end, the power drops off at 75 MPH and up.

I beat on this car for 70,000 plus miles and had no major repairs.

Body rolls a lot on fast curves. It holds the road fine but not designed for handling a performance ride with my package.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2001

5th Feb 2002, 09:08

I have the 98 skylark custom and I've experienced the same things. I've beat on this vehicle with only scheduled oil and transmission fluid changes and other normal wear items. I have 149K on the vehicle now and it's the dead of winter so I'm keeping my fingers crossed that I'll make spring without any surprises.

1997 Buick Skylark Custom 3.1L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Not too bad for the price I paid

Faults:

I had to fix the brakes at about 40k and I just had the 50k tune up done on it. Also, I put new tires on to reduce the shaking a little at higher speeds. Either then that, I do an oil change every 3k miles. Other than that, it's a great little car..

General Comments:

This car is quick, but at times it doesn't seem to want to move at higher speeds. It also shakes a little at around 75mph, which I don't see why, the speedo goes to 120mph..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2001

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 26 reviews