1993 Cadillac Allante Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1993 Cadillac Allante Convertible 4.6 Northstar from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6 Northstar Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired59800 miles
Most recent distance60060 miles
Previous carCadillac Allante

Summary:

Possible the finest car ever produced in the USA

Faults:

Oil leak. Common to the 1st year of production on the Northstar engine. The fix requires removal of the transmission and oil pan etc. If the leak is not too bad and you don't mind the drip, you can live with it. With a car this nice, it is really worth it to have it fixed.

General Comments:

The 1993 is the best choice, mainly because of the Northstar engine. Rated at 295 horsepower and with a total weight of under 3,700 pounds make this package a thrill to drive. The exhaust is throaty at idle, but quiets out when driving. The handeling is great and the style is timeless. The car is pure Cadillac with all the luxury and comfort one would expect. It is a real attention getter and most who ask about it think it is a new model. I have a 2002 Seville and I would leave it at home anytime to drive the Allante. The Allante out performs the new Seville and the appearance makes your heart race. Selling for about $66,000 in 1993 would equate to at least $90,000 in today's money and worth every penny. Truly a classic and one can still be had if you really look. I can think of no other current production car that approaches this machine. To fully understand the car, you will have ti drive one. If you get the chance, bring your checkbook.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2002

16th Apr 2004, 11:13

Have a 93 (for 4 years) and just love it. Agree with the writer.

23rd Sep 2005, 15:37

I have owned 3 corvettes during my lifetime and I had rather drive my 91 Allante than either of them. It operates so smoothly in every way. The acceleration is excellent and the ride is unsurpassed. It is very relaxing to get out on the weekends, just feel the machine. It is all original and loves to be driven.

1993 Cadillac Allante from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance16400 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

Beautiful, fun, but dangerous

Faults:

If the automobile sits in the sun and car temperature goes up, the doors refuse to unlock from inside and the driver and passenger cannot exit the car. This happened also on my 1991 Allante. It is a potentially dangerous situation. Cadillac knows and has published info and manufactured a replacement part which can no longer be obtained. Should be a recall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2002

6th Aug 2004, 13:09

Isn't this car a convertible?

29th Nov 2005, 13:59

<Sigh>...a convertible that also comes with a hard-top.

18th Apr 2006, 23:42

Guys, I like to consider myself an expert on these cars, I own a 1992, and know more than one should be allowed to know about these cars, and in years of working on both mine and others, and talking extensively to other owners I have never heard of this, I won't say it can't happen, but it can't be very common.

13th Sep 2009, 15:01

I have owned three of these cars, own two at the present and have never experienced this problem. Sounds like the old problem that occurred on the Corvair and Fiero; people were always hearing about something that owners never experienced.. Don.

1993 Cadillac Allante from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85750 miles
Most recent distance86300 miles
Previous carLincoln Mark VIII

Summary:

Overall, the Allante' proves that transportation is NOT going from point A to B!

Faults:

Began to run rough after second week of ownership. Tune-up at dealership was an astonishing $ 790!

I joined the Allante' Owner's Association for a parts source and receive their quarterly publication. Quite frankly they have frightened me with stories of $3,000 brake jobs!

General Comments:

I am a long-time collector and have never owned an American car of this calibre. The Allante' excels in every aspect: Power, comfort, convenience and timeless styling. All told, this car makes a Corvette appear utilitarian.

The fit and finish is flawless. She's a pearlescent white with flawless detail.

I was fortunate to purchase her from the original owner who had the local Cadillac dealership pick the car up at his home, take her in for detailing and return her. He, the owner, was very kind to sell the car way under "book" at $14,000!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2002

1993 Cadillac Allante Convertible Northstar from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Northstar Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carCadillac Allante

Summary:

A wonderful, reliable car that is worth the price

Faults:

Nothing so far. Other than changing the belt, hoses and fluids the car is exactly as it came from the factory. I have never had it in for a service problem. I do my own routine maintenance.

General Comments:

This my second Allante. The 93 is a superb automobile. The Northstar engine makes it a real great driver with more than enough power. I own a 32 Ford with a Chevy V8 and the Allante is probably as fast as the hot rod. A very comfortable touring car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2001

1993 Cadillac Allante Convertible 4.6 V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.6 V-8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

A soon to be classic with more power than you will ever need

Faults:

I have only had the car for a few months. No problems to speak of. The Northstar engine has a history of oil leaks. Mine has a very slight leak. Overall, too early to tell.

General Comments:

The "93" is the model to have if you can find one that is in your price range. The Northstar engine is strong, and smooth. It's like driving a Cadillac Corvette. I am content to just cruise in it knowing that it can keep up with about anything out there.

300 horsepower conected to a front wheel drive car is not for the faint of heart. First time I kicked it, it scared me a little. I haven't felt this kind of power since my muscle car days as a teen. Earlier models are not as powerful, but will still run with what's out there.

The bodystyle did not change over the production years, but the engine did get better over time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2001

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 8 reviews