1989 Cadillac Brougham Reviews

1989 Cadillac Brougham Base 307 Olds from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 307 Olds Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired86900 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Classic and reliable American luxury

Faults:

Cruise inoperable at purchase, power antenna inoperable.

The day after purchase, a blinker bulb went out.

General Comments:

I just got this car and I love it. I have previously owned a 1975 Cadillac sedan as well as a coupe, and this is my third "classic" Cadillac.

I have heard that the reliability of these cars is outstanding. Even at 22 years old, the fit, finish, ride, etc is excellent.

The 307 engine is underpowered if you need to quickly accelerate, but otherwise is fine.

The interior of the car is attractive and luxurious, and has held up better than most luxury cars this age.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2011

29th Apr 2011, 19:42

These Oldsmobile 307's are known to have excessive carbon build up in the EGR ports. Replace the EGR valve and have the EGR ports cleaned out. Also, have the timing checked and adjusted if necessary by a professional technician. That should cure any sluggish engine performance.

30th Apr 2011, 16:20

Can't beat a Fleetwood Brougham Caddy!

These are one of the most elegant, luxurious cars on the road. Interior comfort cannot be matched by any other luxury cars, they don't even come close.

Long live the land yachts!

1989 Cadillac Brougham D'Elegance 5.0 from Denmark

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 kilometres
Most recent distance55000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

It doesn't get any better than this!

Faults:

The oil indicator needed to be replaced, but it costs less than 100 D. Kr (15 US Dollars).

Otherwise, no repairs for two years.

General Comments:

I have driven this beauty for two years with no repairs.

It does fairly good on gas compared to other full size cars, and it has got so much more style and comfort than any European built luxury car.

I have never owned a car that gave me so much pleasure to drive before.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2011

1989 Cadillac Brougham 5.0 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 kilometres
Most recent distance110200 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

To me, the name Brougham will be synonymous with Wallowing Land Yacht with the handling of a futon

Faults:

Well, let's start. This car was the product of an insurance pay-off, and I figured that I would go out and buy a substantially larger car than a 2002 VW Jetta, because let's face it, I'm a Cadillac man. Anyways -

When I bought the car from its second owner, it had been sitting parked in an alley way for six months, and I could tell the old girl had seen better days. There were small rust spots peppering the car, but she was a glorious looking thing. But for 1200 dollars, how could I say no? Well, always remember buyer beware:

* When backing it up out of the alleyway, its rusted out muffler had become embedded within the ice and stayed locked in place when the rest of the car moved away. New muffler, and replacement exhaust pipe $360.

* I noticed that the steering was sloppy, and I mean insanely sloppy, which made it difficult when it came to a narrow bridge on the drive home.

* On the white knuckled trip home, I was able to take some time to look more closely at the interior. The vinyl paneling and faux wood accents had begun to crack.

* Within a day, the motor that allowed the couch - no - seat to adjust back and forth blew out, but hey it's a Cadi, and there was still a lot of leg room.

* The gas gauge wasn't accurate, and at about a half tank it got stuck in place, making the actual amount of my fuel reserve a guessing game.

* Parking my car over a patch of snow revealed a steadily growing puddle of antifreeze.

* Finally I took the car to my local mechanic and he informed me that the rear wheel bearings were rusted to the core and needed to be replaced. Then he informed me that there may in fact be a crack in the motor, and that in his educated opinion, I should just cut my losses and put the car out to pasture.

General Comments:

Although, yes, a lovely car in its day, by the time it reached me in its 20th year of life, it had become nothing more than an average beater boat.

To me, its 5.0L V8 engine had had its power reduced to that of a four cylinder trying to push the mammoth car. It was fantastically slow.

The ride was very cushy, but it was difficult to be comfortable when I was spending all of my time trying to keep the car going in a straight line.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2010

26th Jun 2010, 01:14

Indeed, I do agree with you, and yes I was expecting some work needed to go into the car. But I'm sorry, even in the grandest of condition, the car sits as I put it - a land yacht with outdated handling. Don't get me wrong, lovely car, and I know that old car means bad handling, but as this is a review, I figured I would state the plain facts about my story, and give an honest opinion of what I actually thought of the car.

14th Dec 2010, 04:38

Handling? I've never had occasion to use it, living in the American Midwest. It's not as if most of us spend our driving time zipping down the twists and turns of the French Alps, on our way to the Riviera, wearing a tuxedo ala James Bond. No, most of us just slog back and forth on huge, straight American highways, places where an old rear drive V8 Cadillac Brougham is the best vehicle for the purpose.

13th Jan 2011, 16:28

Well, the relaxed comfort that comes from driving a Cadillac is all well and good, a principal that it should return to in my opinion. HOWEVER, if one were to look at luxury barges, that were coming out of Europe at the time, I beg this question - if Rolls Royce (who Cadillac used to only be second to), and Mercedes (a company that GM was and still is trying to beat out with slick models like the Seville) managed to keep their flagship sedans on the road with as nimble handling as a car of that magnitude could have, then why did Cadillac choose to make cars with handling with the sensitivity as the Titanic? I agree with you, North American road boats are grand cars, however the question rests.

15th Jan 2011, 07:17

Because a Cadillac cost less than half what those cars cost. Rear wheel drive Cadillacs had live-rear-axle suspensions, etc. Their handling was more than adequate for American use, and price was more of a priority than with those ultra-elite brands you mentioned.

6th Sep 2012, 12:35

Uh dude, a Rolls of the same vintage handles the same way as this Cadillac does. I've ridden in a couple of Silver Spirit/Spur cars, and they have that boaty handling too. I don't know about the newer Rolls-Royce cars though.

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 5 reviews