1999 Cadillac Catera from North America


This car is haunted by gremlins


Transmission at 65000 miles problems with headlights, problems with dash lights and speed ohmmeter stopped at 70000 miles. alignment problem that had to be fixed with blow torch.

General Comments:

Very nice driving car just doesn't want to work most of the time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th October, 2006

1999 Cadillac Catera 3.0L V6 from North America


Unsafe and unreliable


Anti theft module is going out - no code available to replace.

Mass airflow sensor went out.

Power sunroof opens and shuts on its own.

Doors unlock and lock on their own.

Seat belts come undone.

The car will not shift out of park after a while of running.

Cannot lock the vehicle because I may not get in.

General Comments:

I would never suggest this car to someone, I cannot sell or trade this car in to anyone. I will NEVER purchase another Cadillac again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd October, 2006

30th Mar 2011, 18:55

I agree with you 110%.

That's funny, when I bought mine it had 73000 miles on it and now it's 130000. I had the transmission replaced three times, yup THREE times, at around 80000 miles, now it's 130000 tranny is slipping, not a surprise.

My radio comes on when it wants to. LOL. The moon roof does what ever it wants to, oh my smog failed LOL.

Can I just blast it? But than I would have no car. My only means of transportation and yeah, no one would buy it or trade, they laugh at me. :(

1999 Cadillac Catera Sport 3.0 V6 from North America


Update on my Catera. Had to get rid of her. She started acting up every now and then. It would crank, but not start. Sometimes it would start and sometimes it wouldn't. At first I suspected the fuel pump. That wasn't it. I then changed the fuel filter. That wasn't it. I then thought that it could be a coil pack or Crank Pos. Sensor. Turns out that the computer went to heck. It would have been over $2000.00 to repair. I just didn't feel that I should be putting so much money in a car that was under 9 years old. I still miss that car, and if I had millions of dollars I prob. would still be driving it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th August, 2006

1999 Cadillac Catera from North America


Never buy a Cadillac!


Have had 2 of the 4 O2 sensors replaced.

Brakes replaced twice.

Water pump replaced.

Worn seats.

Driver side door stuck closed and now fixed, but won't stay open without holding it open.

Numerous (4) oil leaks that had to be fixed.

General Comments:

If you own one of these cars the best thing to do is drive to the newest cliff and drop it off the side.

When the car is running it's so comfortable and rides so smooth, but when it's broken and has to be fixed it always costs and arm and a leg. It's in the shop right now and is going to cost me $1500 to get it back in running condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th May, 2006

19th May 2006, 17:41

The Catera is not a real caddy!

Its just a european imported Vauxhall Omega badged as a Caddy. I would say don't buy a fake Cadillac buy a real caddy.

1999 Cadillac Catera from North America


A disaster for the consumer and there is no recourse whatsoever


I have had the battery replaced at least 10 times in 18 months.

The head gasket blew at 50,000 miles.

Right tire rod replaced at 45,000 miles.

Three set of tires because of this.

The dealership was never able to located the electrical problem. I ended up trading for a Toyota.

General Comments:

This is the worst car ever put on the market.

Cadillac realized their problem and refused to correct it.

As a single woman this was very dangerous for me to be stranded countless times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th August, 2005

15th May 2006, 12:07

I am just as dejected about this Cadillac product. I grew up in an area that recognized Cadillac as a leader in car brands and the ultimate dream car. The Catera has insurmountable electrical problems that the Manufacture has ignored. The true marker of quality is admitting a mistake and attempting to correct it. Cadillac's answer was to discontinue the model and leave us owners holding the bag. I have experienced lights that would not turn off, intermittent starting. automatic lock problems and some sensor problems. Each time I end of paying a hefty fee to the dealership and ultimately the problems continue. How can an owner get redress for the obvious manufacture problems. I once worked in NHTSA and still can't seem to figure out how to go about getting the Maufacturer to take responsibility.

10th Sep 2006, 23:49

My 99' is a big piece of crap. I got it from a private seller, #1 problem, and went to do local emissions, not passing of course. The MIL or check engine light was not working properly. $400 at the dealer to fix because nobody around dares to even touch this car.

Then after that was solved, another problem arose with the left bank #2 oxygen sensor. I replaced it myself with factory equipment - $140, and the computer would not reset the trouble codes, so to the dealer again. $300 later problem solved and emissions passed, but safety = "nope".

Factory tint on the front windows right on the illegal limit in Utah, so I had to find somebody to overlook this. I purchased the car in the first part of August of 2005, and wasn't able to licence the car until late September - another $120.

One year later it's not passing. Again some kind of air pump problem - p0411 secondary air injection improper flow detected, and the dealership is stumped. I'm scared of how muchit's going to cost this time.

Oh, and I had to get the crank sensor replaced about 2 weeks ago. The car was leaving my wife stranded every other day.

If you're looking into buying a Cadillac Catera, good luck. I've heard horror stories and good stories. It's a beautiful car, but it's going to put me in the grave!