Cadillac Cimarron Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1987 Cadillac Cimarron 2.8 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

I like it even if nobody else does

Faults:

Right now it has a miss and or rough idle at low RPM.

Nothing major just routine maintenance.

General Comments:

This car never lets me down. It always starts when I turn the key, even if something is wrong. I can always make it to the parts store.

The interior is comfortable and it rides like a "CADDY" for sure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2006

21st May 2008, 08:59

I rather like the Cimarron myself, as I also like the Cavalier it was based on, but it seems that the idea of a glorified Cavalier wearing a Cadillac badge didn't go over well with most people. From what I hear, though, the Cimarron really isn't such a bad car.

21st Oct 2010, 11:06

Good review, and an outstanding title for it. I happen to like the Cimarron too, and would very much like to own one someday. It's one of a long line of cars I'd like to have, but perhaps partly because it's so unwanted it is a car that, more often than not, someone could eventually come to own.

Another reviewer called the Cimarron... what was it? "a baby Mercedes at a bargain price". Yes, I think that was it. That describes this unique and unusual Cadillac well, too.

So I can assure the reviewer that he/she is not alone in liking the Cimarron. The Pinto, the Edsel, and the DeLorean all have found folks who like them. The Cimarron will too if it hasn't already.

22nd Oct 2010, 03:33

I think it is important to remember that in the mid-1980s, there were still good cars around - real cars - like full sized Oldsmobiles, Cadillacs, Lincolns, etc., with real V8 engines and rear wheel drive. Of course the Cimarron didn't compare very well with those, but in light of the terrible over-complex and unreliable high-dollar garbage that's been foisted on the consumer ever since, the mid 80s Cimarron is a pretty good car.

1986 Cadillac Cimarron 2.8 Liter V6 Engine from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 Liter V6 Engine Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Previous carCadillac Cimarron

Summary:

Great car for being a Cadillac

Faults:

It had minor repairs all through the years I owned it.

General Comments:

Before I sold it I had invested a lot of money into my car. People have their views on the Cadillac Cimarron, but if properly serviced, it can be a great car to own. It wasn't fast like the Nissan Maxima, but quite near.

I put new paint on it, and installed a power glass moonroof, new headliner, many engine parts to keep it running great. It was sold for 2500.00 dollars and guess what, it still runs today...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2005

18th Aug 2005, 22:14

I have owned a 1986 Cadillac Cimarron, with the 2.8L V-6, with all the power options. It has over 200k miles. It runs great. I only paid $500, and for the money, I'd say it's the best car around. It gets me from point A to point B... and back. Plan to keep it until the wheels fall off. Or, until a better deal comes along.

1986 Cadillac Cimarron from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Cadillac's Biggest But Reliable Mistake

Faults:

Went through 3 alternators due to an undiagnosed problem.

Leather seats were somewhat worn.

Broke driver's seat on first day of ownership (seats were cheap, I was about 300lbs and tried to reach for something in my back pocket. A small crate against the backseat fixed that problem).

Power mirror's did not work due to broken switch.

Coolant/anti freeze leak.

Coin holder was attached to the base of the gear shift. It broke leaving $3.50 in quarters inside.

When making only right turns, the steering would go manual on me.

Also, when making right turns, every once in a while the windshield wipers would turn on and shut off without the switch being used.

Roof leaked when it rained (mostly on the passenger side).

No heat & A/C.

Car would not pass inspection. Had to pay $25 extra and a case of beer to have it 'passed'.

The power passenger front seat was broken and stuck in a high position.

Driver's side sun visor kept coming down while driving.

While driving for the first 5 minutes or so, the needle in the temperature gauge would go all the way to the red zone, stay there for a few seconds, then go down to the normal spot. This freaked me out the first time I saw this happen. When I gave the car to my friend a year or so later, I didn't tell him about that. His reaction was the same as mine.

General Comments:

Although it was a glorified Chevy Cavalier and considered a cruel joke in the industry, this car started up in all kinds of weather and was very reliable. It was the first car that I didn't share with anybody so it does hold a special place in my heart.

Loved the pick up. Very quick car.

Never got stuck in the snow.

Liked the flip top moon roof.

Used to like the malfunctioning ignition feature in which you can take the key out while the car is on.

All in all this car was a big piece of crap, but it got me to where I had to go with minimal to no headaches. It was quoted in a documentary that the Cimarron was 'Cadillac's biggest mistake'. Well it was an honor to own a piece of automobile history. Now it's probably a cube of crushed metal in a junk yard somewhere. It served it's purpose and it was time to move on to bigger and better things.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2005

9th Mar 2005, 16:24

I'm glad your mistake was so good to you for so many years. I never rode in a Cimarron, but would love to know if the ride was more Chevy or Caddy.

29th Apr 2005, 09:44

I am the proud owner of a Cimarron, and I just have to fix a few minor things on it before I can drive it, but I am hoping I like it. If it handles anything like the way my Chevy Celebrity did, then I will be happy. As for people cutting the Caddy down, I like odd cars, and I think it's a sharp looking car, the last few years anyway. My hope (though many may think I am insane), is to fix it up, and turn it into a bit of a sporty car.

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 8 reviews