2004 Cadillac CTS 3.3 from North America


Will never buy another one


This car has no retail value at all.

Lost it in a crash and the insurance did not even give half of the price paid for it. We went down close to 10.000,00$ owed to the bank.

General Comments:

Burned too much gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th July, 2008

5th Aug 2008, 12:20

This review is either bogus or not fair. You cannot fault a vehicle for depreciation. And even if you would have bought a BMW, which has the lowest depreciation, and drove it off the lot and totaled it 15 minutes later you would have owed, big time. Do not blame the car.

And there is additional insurance you can buy for such cases.

Again, don't blame the vehicle because accidents happen.

5th Aug 2008, 20:25

That is what you get when you finance a car.

4th Sep 2008, 19:43

I have a 2004 CTS with 51k miles on it, and it's time for a change.

The stability system needs work, the radio freezes up, and it rattles when you start it.

Might for a Charger RT next.

9th Mar 2009, 20:36

Ever heard of GAP INSURANCE? Look into it.

2004 Cadillac CTS 3.6 litre from North America


Awesome vehicle. A pleasure to drive


Car would not start and was taken to the dealership. It was a recall notice item and was taken care of no charge.

The only disappointment I had was that the tires were worn out at 38,000 K. I felt they should have lasted longer and mentioned it to the dealer. It ended up the dealer paid for one tire, GM paid for one tire, and I paid for two. Original tires were Good Year, but I now have Michelin's - we'll see how long they last in comparison.

General Comments:

I love the car - it's a pleasure to drive. It's my eighth Cadillac. I previously drove DeVilles and an Eldorado. Its very quick and responsive - makes me feel young again. It doesn't have the floating ride of the DeVIlles, but is more like driving a sports car. My next car will be a Cadillac.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2006

2004 Cadillac CTS 3.6 from North America


Nice car, but no more


Computer fault gas tank.

Computer fault-the car died (no warning)

Tires wear after less than 15000 miles.

General Comments:

Computers problems can happen, but the tires, it is not normal to get to this condition after this mileage. The dealer and all his experts can't do a thing about it - or prefer to ignore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th April, 2005

13th Apr 2005, 06:17

It's a shame that so many things have gone wrong with your car, as well as so many others who have experienced the computer failure. I test drove a CTS recently. It's light years ahead of my 1997 Seville SLS, but has a way to go before reaching "Standard of the World" status.

2004 Cadillac CTS from North America


The best car I have ever owned


Nothing has gone wrong yet.

Light doors... need to almost be slammed shut.

Shifter needs to be pushed very far forward unnecessarily into park to release key from ignition sometimes.

General Comments:

This rear wheel drive car is surprisingly quick and responsive at any speed.

The transmission hardly pauses between shifts wanting to go...go...go.

Take an on-ramp at 80 mph... it won't mind.

Stops on a dime.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2004

2004 Cadillac CTS 2.6L VVT from North America


The best car sold in America for about $30,000


There have not been any mechanical failures with the car.

General Comments:

The car is incredibly fast from a dead stop and often you leave everyone in your rear view mirror even though you had not intended to race anyone.

The base radio could be improved and I think it would be wise to upgrade to the Bose sound system. The radio controls for "Radio Data system" and the graphic equalizer are a little difficult to learn and would be very confusing for a guest driver in the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2004

16th Aug 2005, 12:41

I hardly believe it's that fast!

18th Jan 2006, 03:23

Believe it. Caddies can move faster than some think. I have a 90 DeVille that can squeal the tires even if you don't intend to. It took some getting used to, to take off without doing that at green lights.

29th Nov 2006, 17:54

I'm Not sure I agree about all GM cars being quick off the line. A buddy of mine had an 02 Grand Am before they traded it in for a Durango, and the performance was, well, underwhelming. When taking off from a stoplight, he had to rev it to about 5k RPM before it shifted from 1, just to barely get up enough speed to be ahead of traffic. If you're in the market for a used Grand Am, I would definitely recommend the 6 cylinder. Besides that, the car was great, but the Durango is even better.

5th Mar 2007, 12:03

Commenter 17:54's friend obviously had a Grand Am 4 with some pretty MAJOR problems if it was that slow.

I've test driven 2 new G-6 models with the V-6 and neither was as fast as my "quad 4" Grand Am. The reason I test drove 2 G-6's was to be sure there wasn't something wrong with the first one (if there was, it was also wrong with the second one). The older Quad 4's produced nearly as much power as the V-6, and were much more reliable.

If you look at the reviews, many more problems are reported for the V-6's than for the Quad 4's. The newer Eco Tech 4 is a very good engine, but nowhere near as powerful or fast as the twin-cam Quad 4. My 2001 4 is much faster than my V-6 Ranger or my 275 horsepower Envoy. It will smoke the front tires taking off even with the Electronic Traction System engaged. It may be an especially powerful one, and not a typical 4, but after driving the V-6 model G-6's I opted to hang onto it for another 100,000 miles.

26th May 2008, 10:57

What happened to the Cadillac reviews?

2004 Cadillac CTS 3.6L VVT V6 from North America


A true sports sedan


Nothing, I just test drove the car. Quality was excellent.

General Comments:

I love this car, I'm definitely going to consider buying it.

What's nice about it is that it beats the Mercedes C and E class and BMW 3 and 5 series in acceleration, handling and price. Road and Track did a comparison between the BMW, Jag and Mercedes, plus some other ones and they gave the Cadillac the #1 rating. And since it's larger than the others, it's roomy and comfortable.

The trunk is pretty good and the seats fold down. I also like how the 3.6 V6 Auto takes regular fuel instead of premium. Where the manual gets the 3.2L it takes premium. But next year the manual gets the better 3.6L V6.

I would definitely recommend this car along with Cadillac's new STS, the Seville replacement and since they're on the same platform, it should drive similar to the CTS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2004

17th Jul 2004, 10:26

I agree, Cadillac has made big strides. For those looking for an "upgrade," I would recommend the CTS-V (with the Corvette LS1). I have been trying to buy one, but there is a long wait list for it.

7th Jul 2005, 17:23

I have a 2004 CTS with the 3.6L V6 and the manual suggests premium fuel for "maximum economy and performance". The manual does not suggest regular gas as a routine thing. Might want to check your manual.