1982 Cadillac DeVille Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1982 Cadillac DeVille Coupe Deville 4.1 HT-4.1 V8 from North America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.1 HT-4.1 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

Parts replaced: Throttle body vacumn, brake lines, fuel filter, front suspension, rear springs, pcv valve, engine belts, oxygen sensor, and valve cover gaskets.

General Comments:

The HT-4100 engine in this car is known to be extremely unreliable if not properly cared for, mainly if one fails to change the coolant on a regular basis. The cams are known to go flat, and main bearings are known to wear prematurely.

My car has been good to be other than a leaking valve cover gasket, and a faulty oxygen sensor and throttle body vacumn (which took forever to diagnose). I take extremely good care of it though, and drive it very slow and very easy. The car is underpowered to say the least (125 hp on 82' models, pushing a 3783lb. car). The ride is exceptionally comfortable, though handles poorly in the snow. Handling is very smooth, and you feel very little of the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2007

1982 Cadillac DeVille Coupe Deville 4.1 V8 from North America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.1 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired103950 miles
Most recent distance110030 miles

Summary:

Perfect car for cruising

Faults:

Front shocks needed replacement after purchase.

Climate control works when it wants to.

Gas gauge doesn't work.

Headliner sagging.

General Comments:

Smoothest ride ever.

Plenty of room for all passengers.

Stock symphony speakers sound great.

Superior suspension- and its not air ride.

Leather seats are so comfortable.

Acceleration lacks - big car, underpowered engine.

Roughly 16 mpg city.

Cadillacs not known to be reliable, but I've had virtually no problems with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2006

1982 Cadillac DeVille Coupe 4.1 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.1 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Faults:

The air conditioner has gone out along with a channeling duct.

The exhaust system has a hole in it.

General Comments:

The car is extremely comfortable and has an incredible ride.

It seats 6 comfortably.

It is very reliable and at 20 years old, it still gets 17 to 18 miles to the gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2003

20th Jul 2004, 01:07

I was wondering if you could help me out? I have overheating problems with my 82 coupe and I was wondering if you knew anything about the engines about them or if you would know what to do? If so e-mail me back at CoUpEoNDuBz@yahoo.com

18th Jan 2010, 17:43

Flush the radiator... change the thermostat... put fresh coolant in it...

1982 Cadillac DeVille De'elegance 4.1 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.1 litre Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 kilometres
Most recent distance148000 kilometres
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Underpowered highway car

Faults:

My heat comes on by itself.

I have a lifter noise that I cannot seem to stop.

My engine has a hard time picking up speed from a stand still.

My power mirror's won't work at all.

General Comments:

The ride weighs out the minor problem's I have.

The metallic silver really stands out.

My power moon roof is big and fully functional.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2003

1982 Cadillac DeVille Coupe HT4100 from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission HT4100 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired88967 miles
Most recent distance92954 miles

Summary:

A solid reliable ride

Faults:

Plastic bumper/fender fillers deteriorated.

Catalytic converter bad.

Headliner sagging.

Erratic electronic climate control.

Engine oil leaks.

Transmission leaks.

Rear axle no oil and worn excessively.

General Comments:

Considering the price ($1200.00) I paid, I find that the few repairs or fixes I have made have been worth the cost. So far the car is running quite well except for an erratic engine speed at idle. I believe there may be a problem with the EGR control valve.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th December, 2002

10th Mar 2009, 11:37

My erratic engine idle was caused by worn accelerator shaft ports in the throttle body, causing the TPS to intermittently set at a different angle. I had the ports filled in and re bored to spec, and a long extensive and expensive gremlin chase ended.

Hope this helps.

1982 Cadillac DeVille Sedan from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carMazda B2000

Summary:

Greatest car in the world

Faults:

First car I've ever owned. Bought from some old guy who told me it was running great. Have had multiple problems.

Radiator leak.

Power steering pump went out.

Headliner collapsed. Stapled it back up. Looks better than before.

Fuel pump just quit.

Had massive oil leak.

Trunk won't stay up on its own.

All can be expected by a 20 year old car that's probably been sitting in a garage for the last 10.

General Comments:

Nice smooth, comfortable ride.

Extremely roomy.

Nicest car on the road.

Even with all the problems I've had with this car I wouldn't trade it for anything. I love this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2002

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 10 reviews