1983 Cadillac Deville Coupe 4.1 from North America

Summary:

Can't help, but love it

Faults:

Power antenna never has worked.

Replaced stop lamp switch Dec. '04.

Replaced valve cover gaskets Dec. '04

(still leaking oil somewhere)

Replaced fuel tank and pump Jan. '05.

Replaced alternator Jan. '05.

Replaced water pump Jan. '05.

Bad coffee stains in floorboard from previous owner (s)

General Comments:

For a car this big, it gets great gas mileage.

Isn't too quick off the line.

Isn't too quick on the line.

Rides like 'cloud nine'.

I don't mind replacing the parts, just as long as I figure out ahead of time which ones need to go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2005

29th May 2009, 20:41

HAHA love the rhymes. I'm getting an 82 Deville soon, can't wait!!!

1983 Cadillac Deville Sedan Deville HT4100 V8 from North America

Summary:

A great luxury barge except for the weak engine

Faults:

The camshaft and lifters wore out as is typical with this engine. This cost about $250.00 for parts and a few days time for me to repair.

The pickup coil bit the dust at an intersection. Fifty dollars for a tow and twenty dollars for the part.

The rear main seal leaks oil badly.

The engine is very small for the size of the car. It takes forever to reach resonable highway speed. Hills are a chore.

This car sucks gasoline due to its small engine. It has to overwork itself to produce meager power.

The paint is thin and is chipping in odd areas, but it still is very presentable.

The air injection tubes for the emission system rusted out and were difficult to find replacements for.

General Comments:

The car is large and very roomy.

The leather seats still look new and are plush on long trips.

All of the gadgets still work as well as the power windows.

The body is rust free after 21 years on the road.

The vinyl top has held up well and is blemish free.

The car rides nicely, but is a pain to drive on hilly roads due to the small engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2004

16th Nov 2004, 11:26

My car has many electricl nightmares, such as the windows not working and the gas gauge not telling the amount of fuel.

1983 Cadillac Deville Coupe 4.1 from North America

Summary:

Consume, Waste, and Pollute... The Cadillac Dream

Faults:

The windows roll down and up slowly and sometimes not at all.

Steering and accelerating this land yacht is about the same as a boat.

There is only one setting for the heater & A/C...HIGH.

General Comments:

I love this car. I haven't had it very long, but it literally is a land yacht for an American. I have heard many stories about all the problems with this car, but I still love it either way.

The interior is very roomy and has plush seats. Many times I have fallen asleep (not driving) in these seats.

The body is was is relatively good condition when I bought it. The car has been stolen 3 times and was involved in a shootout, but even through that, it looks great. People here in Utah marvel at the bullet holes in the side, but I love the overall impression the car gives off... it definitely turns heads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2004

2nd Jul 2004, 19:41

Wow.. bullet holes? Now that's class :-D.

1983 Cadillac Deville 4.1L from North America

Summary:

A 3 Ton mess

Faults:

Front gas shocks.

Rear air shocks.

AC Compressor.

Climate Control - Heater stuck on.

Power seat.

Power steering leak.

Transmission Leak.

Engine leak.

Master cylinder leak.

Did I mention that this car leaked a lot?

Original engine melted at 47,000 miles.

General Comments:

First, the positive:

This is the most comfortable car, possible ever designed. Picture two very comfortable and expensive sofas, now place one about three feet in front of the other and design a very large and heavy automombile around them. My DeVille, which had the Velour seats, was often my favorite place to take a nap on cool spring afternoons.

The body styling is classic American style. Lots of chrome, the tail lights are remnants of the old tail fins, and a carriage top. She looked like a regal old lady, proud and dignified.

OK, Now for the bad:

Cadillac tried to be high tech during this time, there was only one problem, technology sucked in 1984. The climate control system which was clearly borrowed from the Sputnik space program was either stuck on full blast AC, or Full blast heat, there was no "off" with this car.

The power seat was stuck. The wiring and switches all had to be replaced, this was more expensive than it was worth to have done. As I later found out, the power seat problem was trademark for many cadillacs of this era.

Worst of all was the engine. When driving a V-8 powered, three and a half ton mass of unholy American excess, you would expect the rear tires to be instantly turned to a puddle of molten rubber the instant that the accellerator is firmly pressed. Not with this model, Cadillac decided to use a horribly built, all aluminum (although I am convinced that it is made of thin paper) V-8 that put out an impressive 125 HP. Keep in mind, my four cylinder hatchback that I drive now puts out 130. Cadillac somehhow expected a 125 HP engine to move the twenty foot long and six thousand pound oaf with authority. The idea was that this was supposed to be a fuel efficent car, but because it was so underpowered, I had to constantly drive with the pedal slammed to the floor so any any fuel efficency that it was spposed to have was thrown out the window.

Not only was this a weak engine, it was also a terrible engine. The first one melted (yes, melted) at only 47,000 miles. The replacement, with only 22,000 miles leaked oil from every "seal" possible. As I found out from later research, the HT-4100 as it was called, was a disaster. The aluminium was of poor quality.

If you want a caddy of this body style, get one made before 1980 with the Cast-Iron 425 V8, or go 1986-91 when they used the always bulletproof Chevy V8. Otherwise, I would reccomend using the car in a demolition derby, as you will most surely win with this beast, and after the derby is over, remove the seats and place in your living room, as the stores do not sell any furniture that is as comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th March, 2004

10th Apr 2004, 17:31

Check this out man,

I own an 83 cadillac coupe devile and it still has its stock 4.1 L. Last summer me and my friends drove it to Reno (For hot August nights) all the way from Sacramento. The car was running smoothly at 80 mph with the ac on. Just recently, after being stored for nearly six months, I started it and drove from Sacramento to Bakersfield. This is almost a four hour drive at 80mph also. Oh, did I mention that it only took $15 in gas? Anyways these cars were built good and built to last.