1984 Cadillac DeVille D'elegance 4.1 HT4100 from North America


The best land yacht ever!


I replaced the battery and oxygen sensor.

General Comments:

I love this car, its very comfortable. it rides very smooth, it has lot's of room, it gets good mileage for its size and weight. it is a little underpowered though. it handles good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2004

1st Apr 2007, 11:58

I owned a 1984 fleet wood brougham d'elegance. It was almost completely loaded missing only leather interior and moon roof. Everything else including fire mist metallic paint was included. It had 75,000 miles when purchased and everything worked. What a nice car. Only major work done was changing a rocker arm and radiator. The 4.1 liter engine had to work hard though with a 3.55 axle out back. I sold this a few years ago and it has been converted to a 1951 Buick Road master. Apparently the frames are nearly identical.

1984 Cadillac DeVille Sedan 4.1L Fuel Injected from North America


One of the best Caddies since the 1970's


Replaced alternator.

Replaced water pump.

Replaced front seat motor transmission.

Replaced exhaust system.

Converted from R-12 to 134a refrigerant.

General Comments:

This car is comfortable and handles like a dream.

It is a little underpowered, but not too bad.

Highway mileage is about 22 or 23, city is about 17. Not bad for a full sized luxury car.

Extremely reliable, has NEVER failed to start and run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2004

11th Nov 2006, 15:12

It is the best car I ever had. It was tan with a cocoa brown rag top.

1984 Cadillac DeVille Sedan 4.1 V8 from North America


Very luxurious and extremely fun to drive


The tailpipe was rusted so it had to be replaced.

General Comments:

This is a beautiful car. I got it from the estate of a 98 year old woman, who had the car chauffeur driven. This car is showroom clean. I belong to the Cadillac club and have entered this car in several events and I have won a couple of trophies. Driving this car is a real treat. It has very plush leather seats and plenty of get up and go. This car is quieter inside that any of the new cars I have owned. This, along with a great "original" Dolby sound system make for a cool ride. Even though we only drive it about 1,000 miles a year, it starts like a dream every time. This is the last of the large American luxury boats. Too bad they don't make them like this any more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2002

1984 Cadillac DeVille 4-door Sedan 4.1 litre Digital Fuel Injecti from Australia and New Zealand


Magnificent comfort, but could use more power


Air conditioning compressor replaced three months after purchase.

Alternator replaced two years after purchase.

Throttle Position Sensor and Coolant Temperature Sensor have been replaced.

General Comments:

I hear lots of stories about the unreliability of the HT4100. I've done around 75,000 miles since I bought it in almost five years, and it is still smooth and trouble-free. Maybe this is because I change the oil every 3,000 miles and the coolant every year, and use the all-important coolant tablets in the radiator.

This is the most comfortable car I've ever owned, and its only drawback is the lack of power. I drive it daily, and thus it has to be reliable. As most of my driving is in peak-hour traffic, comfort is more important than raw power, so it suits the purpose.

Power leather seats, climate control, and all the usual Cadillac options make this car a real pleasure to drive. If/when the motor does eventually fail, I intend replacing the motor and keeping this car.

Considering the weight of the car, fuel economy is surprisingly good. The digital fuel injection is faultless and a credit to General Motors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2002

6th Jun 2010, 07:56

I have an '84 Caddy 4.1 liter Sedan Deville too. It is really a very reliable and trouble free car. It gets around 17 mpg fuel consumption and is a very comfy car to drive. Mine has around 116,000 miles. Repairs have been few and inexpensive for me. I have a high opinion of it.

I am now having the 2nd occurrence of climate control trouble. The blower will not turn on even though the compressor cycles. I found out that the climate control is not longer available either in new or re-manufactured version. I am currently looking to rig a switch to operate the blower, in the hopes that this will work the air, defog, and heat when needed.

Appears that ground is switched to the blower fan when the climate control calls for it. Battery is always applied full time, even with the ignition switch turned off. So a switched ground may do the trick for me. Anyone out there know of a supplier for original climate control head units for this car?



1984 Cadillac DeVille Coupe 4.1 from North America


A luxury car that laughs at tree-huggers


I had to replace the shocks and tie-rods.

The previous owner was a 93 yr. old man who had bought the car new. The automatic trunk motor is burned out, and I still have to fix that.

The air conditioner takes a while to get going, also.

General Comments:

This is, without question, a very nice car.

My sister has a top of the line, new infinity, and I will take the pepsi challenge with her any day of the week.

This car is built for comfort, not for speed (I have the 4.1 liter engine).

I love this car and hope it will last forever. It only gets cooler. It is more comfortable than your living room couch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2002

8th May 2003, 22:03

I bought my baby blue 84 Coupe De ville this past winter and I love it. I drive 70 miles total to work and back and it does hurt my pocked a little - considering the fact that I used to drive an Acura Integra, but I don't mind. Everyone gets out of my way. This car has more room than some SUV's that I've test driven and it drives much smoother. I love it.