1995 Cadillac DeVille SLS 4.6 Liter Northstar from North America

Summary:

Very Reliable

General Comments:

I bought this car in 95 and it have not had any major problems with it at all. At 100k I replaced most of the wiring in the engine and the transmission because... I had money to burn (nothing was wrong with the transmission when I replaced it). Nothstar engines are built to last, never had any problems with it. It gets about 20-25 mpg which is not all that bad. Despite its size and weight this car can MOVE and HANDLE very well, plus it’s a really comfortable ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2007

1995 Cadillac DeVille from North America

Summary:

Once you go Cadillac, you can never go back!

Faults:

Replaced brakes, calipers, and rotors at about ~180000 but I knew they had to be replaced when I bought it.

I blew one speaker : (

The "Service Rode Control" blinking light WILL NOT come off no matter what-even Cadillac mechanics looked at it for me.

Expensive on gas... but that's OK because my insurance is WAYYYY lower then a brand-new Pontiac so it makes up.

General Comments:

Great in the rain and snow because it's so heavy.

Still runs very quietly and like brand new. The only thing aside from the brakes that it had to go into the shop for was the usual change oil and transmission fluid.

Sooooo smooth...

EVERYTHING is automatic! I love fully-loaded cars!

Very roomy, people in the backseat aren't squished at all.

Lots of trunk room for anything... some subs perhaps?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th June, 2007

28th Mar 2010, 21:55

I would have to agree with the "EVERYTHING is automatic! I love fully-loaded cars!" statement, but, when you in a situation when things start to go bad, love isn't the word I would use.

Tracking down dual-zone climate control problems, trunk lid pull-down motor switch problems, memory seat module malfunctions, body control module malfunctions, steering wheel controls that work intermittently, speed-sensitive-suspension problems and the no-longer-produced $950/piece "Electronically Adjustable Struts", power antennas which sometimes stick and then the motor burns out trying to pull the mast down, air leaks in automatic load-leveling suspensions, power window regulators which break, power window switch malfunctions, which leaves you stuck with your driver's window down in a rain storm... The list goes on and on.

Convenience features are nice when a car is new. When cars start to get older, these features should be avoided... Diagnosing convenience feature problems on today's cars is a nightmare of wiring diagrams, digital-multimeters, test lamps, and code readers...

1995 Cadillac DeVille 4.9 V8 from North America

Summary:

Will only give it up to purchase a newer model!

Faults:

Only problem with vehicle is Service Engine Light comes on while extended driving.

General Comments:

This is my first Caddy of many other vehicles. Surprisingly, I have taken on my friend's STS at highway speed with ease, despite the non-Northstar engine! I continually get praises about the condition of my car, as well as previous stories. Seems like when you own a Caddillac, you become the victim of many in the upper-echelon!! My next Caddy will definitely be a new model DTS or STS. I LOVE this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2006

22nd Jan 2006, 10:14

You also become a victim of technicians at Cadillac dealerships, especially when you don't know anything about the mechanics of your car...

23rd Jan 2006, 11:22

You could also just take your car to AutoZone and they will use one of those Actron code readers and scan the codes for free. The code readers are nice to have, but the ones that decipher the code (instead of just giving you the code itself), and allow you to erase the codes, sell for around $150, kind of pricey for something that (hopefully) you will not be having to use on a regular basis...

23rd Jan 2006, 11:28

Actually a 1995 is probably not going to have the OBD-II system in it, they did not start using that until 1996. The code readers will not work with the older system, but in some GM cars you can put a jumper (paperclip works fine) between two of the terminals on the diagnostic plug, then count the number of times the check engine light flashes. You don't need a code reader, but you will have to have a reference to look up the codes, which you can probably find online.

23rd Jan 2006, 11:43

Code readers will work with OBD 1. Using a code reader, you can obtain information from the engine management system, and the ECM, in the form of a datastream.

OBD 2, is just more standardized. All MFG's had to have the same system, the same diagnostic plug within 20 inches from the steering column. They also produce a load full of more information, and every vehicle had to have this.

20th Oct 2006, 16:27

A 95 De Ville has a built in capability to pull codes without having a reader.

You just simply press both "warmer (red) " and "off" buttons together for a few seconds. The car will tell you what are wrong, although sometimes it does not.