1995 Cadillac DeVille 4.9 V8 from North America


Will only give it up to purchase a newer model!


Only problem with vehicle is Service Engine Light comes on while extended driving.

General Comments:

This is my first Caddy of many other vehicles. Surprisingly, I have taken on my friend's STS at highway speed with ease, despite the non-Northstar engine! I continually get praises about the condition of my car, as well as previous stories. Seems like when you own a Caddillac, you become the victim of many in the upper-echelon!! My next Caddy will definitely be a new model DTS or STS. I LOVE this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2006

22nd Jan 2006, 10:14

You also become a victim of technicians at Cadillac dealerships, especially when you don't know anything about the mechanics of your car...

23rd Jan 2006, 11:22

You could also just take your car to AutoZone and they will use one of those Actron code readers and scan the codes for free. The code readers are nice to have, but the ones that decipher the code (instead of just giving you the code itself), and allow you to erase the codes, sell for around $150, kind of pricey for something that (hopefully) you will not be having to use on a regular basis...

23rd Jan 2006, 11:28

Actually a 1995 is probably not going to have the OBD-II system in it, they did not start using that until 1996. The code readers will not work with the older system, but in some GM cars you can put a jumper (paperclip works fine) between two of the terminals on the diagnostic plug, then count the number of times the check engine light flashes. You don't need a code reader, but you will have to have a reference to look up the codes, which you can probably find online.

23rd Jan 2006, 11:43

Code readers will work with OBD 1. Using a code reader, you can obtain information from the engine management system, and the ECM, in the form of a datastream.

OBD 2, is just more standardized. All MFG's had to have the same system, the same diagnostic plug within 20 inches from the steering column. They also produce a load full of more information, and every vehicle had to have this.

20th Oct 2006, 16:27

A 95 De Ville has a built in capability to pull codes without having a reader.

You just simply press both "warmer (red) " and "off" buttons together for a few seconds. The car will tell you what are wrong, although sometimes it does not.

1995 Cadillac DeVille from North America


Like the car, despite coming maintenance expenses for failing transmission


The car's automatic transmission doesn't work in reverse. The problem is worse when reversing uphill. I suspect I'll be replacing the transmission soon.

Driver's seat back appears torqued, or twisted away from it's original straight forward position.

The car is only getting 20 mpg on the highway. I suspect this may be related to the transmission problem.

General Comments:

The car gives the ride one would expect from a Cadillac. It is quiet.

I found it to be surprisingly peppy for a car its size! Long rides on the highway are relaxing and stress free.

Electronic instrumentation is working as expected. Nice to be able to see Instant and Average MPG. Outside temperature is a plus as temperatures transition to above and below freezing.

The sound system is original... and excellent!

The trunk is remarkably large, and probably holds as much as older station wagons!

Anti-lock brakes work fine, and make the car fairly safe to drive on snow and ice!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2004

1995 Cadillac DeVille 4.9L from North America


A lot of flash for little cash!


The service ride control light comes on. I called dealer and they said if it rides ok, it's probably just a sensor (few hundred $$).

The seat cushioning wore flat (probably a heavy 1st owner), and seat back looks like it's moving where it meets the bottom, but could be the bottom leather sliding forward???

Does not have ability to have heat come out dash vents, only floor vents.

Windshield wiper on passengers side stopped working in ice storm. Drivers side still functions properly, probably broken linkage?

General Comments:

I only put about 7,000 miles on the car, but so far has been a reliable car. (except the ride control). It handles a lot better than I expected. I taken off ramps at highway speeds. It has good acceleration for it's size and measly 200hp 4.9L V8. I wanted the North star, but if I had the 270-300hp, I'd only beat on the car. Surprisingly my De Ville gets 30 miles per gallon at 70 miles per hour on the highway according to the computer. Less MPG @ 55 MPH. You can almost fit a Yugo in the trunk! I'm 5' 11" and have trouble reaching the things in the back of the trunk. And unlike my Chevy Tahoe, it has cup holders that work!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2004

10th Jul 2008, 15:23

The windshield wiper could just be a loose screw. The same thing happened to the driver's side wiper in my 95 DeVille and the bolt (screw?) just needed tightening down.