3rd Feb 2004, 05:00

My thoughts entirely with you on your loss. I am in the UK and find it difficult to find these lovely beasts. Have found a 1979 425ci Fleet wood Brougham. Do you know of any specification as I don't know much about these? Whats the HP and top speed and mpg etc.

Many thanks

Jason Ellis.

27th May 2004, 22:29

What a sad testimony. My heart goes out to you, it seems as though people just don't value anything anymore. I inherited my 1977 Coupe Deville from my grandfather and it is such a cool car. I don't drive it daily for fear of something happening to it like yours. As far as power, the 425 of these years made 180 horsepower and 345 lb of torque. They can get around 15-17mpg, but the timing is critical and the carburetor, though an awesome design, can be tough to rebuild and get right. I don't know the top speed, but judging by the 2.73 rear gears, I'd say they are good for 120 mph. I hope you can get a new caddy soon, I sure wish I could help.

20th Jun 2004, 19:20

That's too bad about the car. I got a '79 DeVille about 3 months ago. Unfortunately It stalls, and I'm going to rebuild the carb. and get new spark plugs. If anyone has any other suggestions/tips about changing anything to get it to lay fat strips down the road instead of stalling please email me at nice_dictator7@yahoo.com. It has been the most comfortable car I've ever driven in. The electric seat is broken, so I'm really close to the steering wheel (all the way forward) but it doesn't matter. The leather seats make all the difference. I am a teenager myself, and it is crazy to think of destroying a car in such a terrible way.

17th Jan 2005, 22:14


I read the "Road Test Review" of the 425 Cubic Inch Coupe De Ville back in the late 70's, and they hit a top speed of 108 M.P.H., I know it sounds low, but the reality is the front of the car is big and creates a lot of wind resistance, therefore the physics prevent it from making more top end. These cars were very fast from 30-50 m.p.h.

We had a new one that my parents bought in Feb. 1978, that we owned until Sept. of 1991. Only major things that needed attention were the climate control system (new blower), new hoses, and a new rear differential-probably because I burned rubber in it all the time while I was a young 16 year old driver. It ran like the wind, and handily beat a lot of American cars back in the day, like most anything from 77-85 for example. These cars are solid, well built tanks.

23rd Dec 2006, 03:35

I looked at a `79 CoupeDeville on eBay. When I read your review I thought of a truly classic and wonderful vehicle. Oddly enough, Cadillac`s ads for that year called their products "the fulfillment of a promise made long ago". No words can express the insanity of your vehicle`s demise, but I hope you made yourself a promise to replace that vehicle, and that you fulfill that promise.

23rd Dec 2006, 10:05

Uh, check the date on the review... over four years ago. Think he's over the loss of his Caddy by now...

9th Apr 2010, 12:12

I just purchased a 79 Coupe Deville for 2,000; the best money I ever spent. It needs little work, but my main problem is the rear end. I am having trouble finding one; if anyone can help, please e-mail me at eedmond06@yahoo.com. I live in Baltimore MD.

29th Dec 2010, 20:07

The only consolation for what happened to your Caddy is this:

There is a special circle in HELL for anyone who willingly vandalizes an American classic car. It's the 11th Commandment in my own personal Bible.

30th Dec 2010, 12:01

I second that!