1988 Cadillac Eldorado Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1988 Cadillac Eldorado from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Previous carCadillac Seville

Summary:

Black Cadillac's are "head turners"

Faults:

Blew one water pump after another, needing belt replacement each time. Very costly.

General Comments:

Car drives like a dream.

Fast car.

Always in the repair shop.

Each used Cadillac I have had has it's own unique problem, that repeats happening.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2005

12th Apr 2005, 11:04

"yo, here comes that dude with the black Eldo again"

"bet he needs another "water pump" again, eh?

"he sure does... I need to make my boat payment this month!"

1988 Cadillac Eldorado 4.5 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.5 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

This caddy is quick and responsive for its age and miles

Faults:

The car had a few problems when I recently purchased it.

The cooling fan motor, cost $400.

The water pump, cost $500.

Air conditioner compressor, cost $1000.

Washer censor, cost $32.

General Comments:

The car has no rust or dents, and the cabriolet top is in excellent condition.

The interior is spotless except for small cracks on the door armrests, easy repair.

Parts and labor are expensive, but the car is worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2004

12th Sep 2004, 02:10

I have the same vehicle. The cooling fan cost 45.00 if you don't buy the housing which never goes bad anyway. install time took me 15 minutes. the water pump cost 160.00 installed. I think you really got taken on the prices you quoted, but I do really enjoy my vehicle as well.

5th Aug 2010, 14:01

I have an 88 and it has 102000 miles on it. In the two years that I have owned it, it has been a dream car. All I have had to do to it is replace the fuel pump and filter, give it a tune up and brand new tires. The motor and tranny have been tip top from the get go.

1988 Cadillac Eldorado 4.5 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.5 liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired190169 miles
Most recent distance195684 miles
Previous carPontiac T1000

Faults:

Air conditioner compressor jammed up and engine would not turn cause of that ($ 784)

Left rear turn signal module went out ($325)

Lower ball joints and alignment ($ 450)

General Comments:

This is a great and true American luxury car.

Eldorado is a great car, but can be costly when needing a repair.

The car can almost blow the doors off of anything on the road (very very fast)

The 4.5 Liter is a great engine and can withstand very high mileage with no problems.

Cadillac Eldorado from this year has a very classy look to it that will never go out of style.

This is my first Cadillac and my second car and I will keep this car no matter what,maybe even buy a second Cadillac.

When I first bought it the mechanic said at 190,000 miles it sounds and looks better than most other luxury cars with just a little over 100,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2004

12th Feb 2013, 13:15

I just purchased a 1988 with 129123 on it. The car runs like a dream and is very clean. The rear seats look brand new, and I'm trying to find replacements for the front due to splits and cracks. I love this car, and plan on keeping it forever. Not bad for $1000.00.

1988 Cadillac Eldorado 4.5 V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.5 V-8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

My first Caddy and it's a winner!

Faults:

Air conditioning evaporator lost power, had to be replaced.

Stock radio cassette (player went bad, bought a new Jensen unit with a CD changer).

General Comments:

This car is a fine example of a "high maintenance" vehicle. I expect more things will go wrong, since we're at the 100,000 miles mark, but with a good dealer, we plan to keep this Eldo.

The body is in absolutely mint condition, thanks to the previous owner's meticulous maintenance.

Incredibly comfortable, with plush leather and an infinite number of seat comfort selections.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2001

3rd Feb 2005, 12:13

Can you post some pictures? I'm very interested in your interior and exterior of your cadillac.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 8 reviews