1993 Cadillac Eldorado Touring Coupe 4.9L Northstar V8 from North America

Summary:

A money pit that's good while it lasts

Faults:

Well, the car worked perfectly fine. Literally, nothing went wrong with it, until everything went wrong.

I first started noticing problems one night on a trip back from another city about 30 miles from where I lived. The RPM started jumping all over the place while on the highway. No amount of slowing down or speeding up would remedy the problem. So we pulled over, turned it off. Let it cool down for a while. After getting back onto the highway, it did it the whole way back.

Then a few weeks later it started to run hot; took it into the mechanic and he had no idea what was wrong. Kept driving it, only to have it almost overheat on my way out to the local mall. On the way out a mechanic took a look at my car (kind stranger) and told me there was transmission fluid in the engine coolant! Luckily the car was able to whimper home and I didn't have to tow it. Unfortunately it would've cost almost the same as the cost of the car to have it replaced. The transmission broke in such a way that the transmission fluid was getting into the coolant, and then cooking the engine.

General Comments:

Initially I was in love with the car. The interior was incredible, had pretty much every feature you could've asked for in a 93, heated seats, climate control, electric windows, sunroof, everything. The seats also were extremely comfortable and the ride was like that of a cloud. It was also really roomy (I'm 6'3") and I had no trouble driving the car and feeling comfortable. I even took some friends places in it a few times and the back seat was roomy enough for almost anyone.

Next, the power! The car had a 300hp V8, and every day it felt like it. When just driving the car casually you would hear and feel this low-end burble that would shake the car ever so slightly. It really felt like you had a monster under the hood, and every time you stepped on the gas, you knew it.

The only bad part about this car really, was the reliability. After only 3,000 miles and change, the car was "totaled" by its own bad craftsmanship. No car should break the transmission that early in life, and with only 130K. It was an incredible disappointment after liking the car so much. And because of the fact that it sputtered out after only 3 months of driving, I'll never be another Cadillac buyer again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd May, 2016

2nd May 2016, 15:37

The Northstar is a 4.6 litre. The 4.9 pushrod was the base engine, which would have served you a lot better.

2nd May 2016, 20:35

Hate to break it to you like this, but the car was not "totalled" because of poor workmanship.

It was because you flogged it on and on and on, when the radiator was disintegrating and everything on the dashboard would have been saying you should stop.

3rd May 2016, 02:22

You should've taken this car to a technician for further diagnosis. The common mistake most all used Cadillac owners make is taking this type of car to a shade tree parts changer or grease monkey. These types of 'self proclaimed' mechanics usually have little to no knowledge in diagnosing or properly repairing these types of cars. Transmission fluid in the coolant is most likely caused by a leaking transmission cooler located in the radiator. Replacing the radiator and flushing the system would've solved that problem.

5th May 2016, 06:09

You didn't have the 4.9L Eldorado. You most likely had the 4.6L Northstar.

16th Oct 2016, 04:57

I agree, I have owned 3 different cars with the 4.9 engine; it's a wonderful engine.

I have also owned a 4.6 Northstar engine, nothing but problems with it, they are way overrated with the praise they seem to get. The last Eldorado I sold had 200,000 miles on it (4.9) and it's still going strong for the new owner.

1993 Cadillac Eldorado 4.9 from North America

Summary:

A Cadillac that never failed

Faults:

Plugs and wires at 83,000 miles.

Water Pump as always on any Cadillac I owned, this one went at about 110,000 miles.

Air conditioning compressor and dryer at 128,000 miles.

Front Wheel bearing assemblies replaced at 134,000 miles.

New front struts at 134,000 miles. I replaced with Monroe Sensa-Trac struts. This car had speed sensitive suspension and dealer struts are $823.00 a strut.

At 167,000 miles the vinyl on the door panel cracked. It cracked along the fake stitching.

General Comments:

This is a great car. It never broke down on me. I take the same care of it as I do all my cars. Oil change every 3,000 miles with Mobil 1 Synthetic along with a Mobil 1 oil filter. Engine uses no oil at 169,000 miles.

This car does not have the quality in the steering components as my 1999 Lexus ES300. It seems the Cadillac has more play in the steering than the Lexus. However, the car is solid and drives great.

When you put new non-electronic struts on you will get a warning that the suspension needs serviced since the electronic struts are gone. GM makes a relay you can install to make this message go away.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2005

13th Jan 2011, 20:08

I loved this car, and regard it as my most fun car ever. It had something like 280hp? Very fast. Once got it up to 130 mph. Super slick.

Got it with around 100,000 miles on it. Every repair was super expensive, and it only took a minor accident to total the car.

I had multiple issues with over heating. I replaced the water pump and muffler. Both were about $800 a piece.

Wouldn't recommend unless you were handy with cars! Huge pain in the ass.

5th Sep 2012, 18:24

I traded in this Cadillac last October, and drove it in with over 210,000 miles on it. The transmission was starting to slip. I loaded it up with Lucas and traded it in on a 2007 STS. This car served me well. The engine was still perfect and used no oil.

10th Nov 2012, 15:26

Thanks for the info on the Lucas transmission fix. I never knew this product existed, but from what I've read on their website, it's a life saver for slipping transmissions, so will try some for my old MB sedan. Thanks again!

7th Aug 2013, 01:35

Can you please tell me if the Lucas transmission product worked for your Mercedes Benz? I have a 1985 MB 500SEL, and I think the transmission is starting to slip, so I am wondering how this product worked on yours. If anyone else knows, please respond and thanks! =)