1994 Cadillac Eldorado ETC 4.6 Northstar from North America

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

Alternator @ 145,000.

Water pump and belt @ 150,000.

General Comments:

I bought this car used with 105,000. I drove it seasonally (summer) from April - November from 2003 through 2006.

I drove a lot of hard miles in town, racing and showing off as I was 18 when I got it.

Besides normal maintenance (tires, brakes etc.), the only thing that had to be replaced was the alternator once in the 50,000 miles I drove it, which happened after driving it 16+ hours straight in hot weather. Cost me $50 for a junk yard alternator and $50 for a local mechanic to install it.

The last time I drove it (155,000) the little belt went for the waterpump (which happened after I was spinning out excessively trying to get up a hill during an early ice storm). Cost for the belt: $12.

Bottom line: Loved the car. 20 mpg avg, faster than almost anything on the road, looked awesome, comfortable, reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2009

1994 Cadillac Eldorado Touring from North America

Summary:

Comfortable, but expensive

Faults:

I have had quite a few problems with this car. I did all repairs myself, but in parts general run in the $100-$150 range.

78,000 miles "Service Ride Control" light came on, cost was $1400 to fix, I never did and it ran fine.

80,000 miles, one of the engine pulleys broke and cut all my belts.

85,000 miles, radiator cracked ($320), also the ignition coils went ($100 for all 4, easy install though)

90,000 miles, my alternator blew ($150), this was a real pain to install.

As far as cosmetics go, the leather wears normal for leather, and cracks appeared in the wood at 75,000 miles.

General Comments:

Very relaxing ride, sound system is great. I enjoyed riding around in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2009

1994 Cadillac Eldorado 4.6L Northstar V8 270hp from North America

Summary:

A fantastic car that never stops taking your money

Faults:

Had a short in electrical system when I got it, causing driver's side parking lights and some dash lights to not work.

Starter and entire A/C system had to be replaced shortly before I got the car.

Northstar burned oil at a surprising rate.

Power door lock switch failed at 66,000 miles.

Trunk pull down motor failed at 67,000 miles.

Front brakes needed replaced at 71,000 miles; caliper slides had seized up.

Rear brakes and calipers needed replaced at 72,000 miles.

Rear wheel bearing failed at 72,000 miles; cheaper to replace entire hub assembly.

Master cylinder replaced at 72,000 miles.

Transmission failed at 74,000 miles, replaced with used transmission that had 53,000 miles on it.

Torque converter of new transmission failed at 74,000 miles.

Power steering pump failed at 74,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is the most comfortable car I've ever owned. It had an impressive amount of features and seats comfortable enough to put in your living room. Rear space was excellent for a two-door, enough to hold two adults over a long trip with no complaints.

This Caddy would seriously fly if you put the pedal down, but power during modest acceleration is not very satisfying.

Great looking and driving car, but overall not the quality you would expect from a Cadillac. Parts were extremely expensive!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th February, 2006

6th Apr 2006, 09:29

Look everybody...that's my brother!!! Ford Pinto's are better... and more reliable. Uglier though... with a higher chance of death.

1994 Cadillac Eldorado Touring Coupe 4.9L Northstar; 295 HP from North America

Summary:

A fun car to drive and have, but far too much investment for anyone with realistic expectations

Faults:

Water Pump went bad at 110,000 miles-- $125.

Oil Pan Gasket leaked oil at about a quart per 300 miles, replaced at 118,000 miles-- $180.

Starter needed replacement at 118,500 miles-- $300.

Wiring Coil replaced when the car was bought at 104,000 miles-- $240.

Both front wheel bearings went bad at 117,000 miles-- $300 each.

Missing wheel center caps-- $25 each.

Seats slight wear on the leather.

Radio cassette deck not functioning at time of purchase-- $50 from Ebay.

Transmission went bad at 118,000 miles-- $2875 from Aamco.

Exhaust Gas Recirculation Valve and passages needed replaced and cleaned at 115,000 miles-- $300.

Trunk lid pull down motor bent when purchased-- $100.

Glove box latch wouldn't close for some reason, and would fly open at the most inopportune times-- $50 at a pull-a-part junkyard.

Engine needed replacement or lifters cleaned; sold car, but quoted between $2500 and $7000 for this final fix.

General Comments:

The Eldorado was very good on gasoline mileage after the wiring coil replacement; it got about 20 mpg city and 26 mpg highway.

With 295 horsepower, it was a wonderful sports-luxury car. The car itself was fun to drive and handled very well. The trunk had lots of space, and there was amazing leg room in both the front and rear.

However, the car required LOTS of tender loving care, and even changing the oil and filters and checking fluids (basic preventative maintenance) didn't help that the car needed a lot of other fix-up maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd August, 2005

22nd Nov 2005, 15:55

Thanks for the great review. It looks like this is just another GM, just with higher part costs. It looks like I won't be buying one...

23rd Jul 2006, 22:46

It may also depend on who owned it, and how they drove and took care of the car. Cadillac cars will last forever if they are treated gently. This is also one of many cars. You cannot rely on what one person says about their personal experiences.