1997 Cadillac Eldorado V8 from North America


Beautiful and powerful, VERY expensive to keep on the road


Heads warped, replaced with newer engine-3500$

Heater core went out-500$

Many many other engine problems-1000$+

Window would not roll down.

Antenna broke.

Coolant leak.

General Comments:

It was a gorgeous car with plenty of power, but it cost so much to keep up and running along with the rising cost of fuel that I was forced to sell and buy a 08 Lancer.

Nothing is more gorgeous than a clean Cadillac on Vogue tires and chrome wheels... until it cost you 3500$ to get another engine. (not to mention a fill up was almost 80-90$)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th May, 2008

2nd Jan 2009, 16:25

I have a 1997 Eldorado ETC w/84000 miles. I am sorry for the person who has had trouble with his, I have had no major problems with mine, this car has performed beyond my expectations, and most importantly, my wife loves it.

2nd Jul 2013, 13:32

Love my '97 Caddy ETC, and I do not think I will ever part with it unless I just get a deal I can't refuse. 78,000 true miles on it, black on black leather. Every accessory available, and everything works. Powerful, steady ride and dependable. And paid for. Hope it may someday be a classic.

12th Jul 2013, 16:58

The ETC model is very collectible. Had a 97, paid 5000 and sold it for 8000. Had 150,000 miles. Do some research online; you may be surprised.

1997 Cadillac Eldorado Northstar from North America


Subtle, powerful and elegant muscle car


The "Northstar O-Ring" leak was diagnosed and fixed (at GM's expense less deductible) at about 67,000 miles, just before my GM Extended Service Program expired--I was never so happy to pay a $250 deductible!

General Comments:

I had this car chopped into a convertible by Coach Builders Limited in Florida, who did a beautiful job (hard boot). Car was an immaculate used example with 59K on it when bought in '02. Car is very tight.

I like the heavy Cadillac feel. I drove a Chrysler Sebring convertible, which looks nice, but it felt so cheap that I sprang the extra bucks to build the Eldo Rag.

Northstar performs beautifully. Only suffers from the O-ring defect, but once that's fixed, you're OK. Cost of that repair is about $2800 at the dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2006

1997 Cadillac Eldorado ETC Northstar 4.9 from North America


Looks and handling make this car outstanding!


The moon roof does not seal properly when closing the moon roof. I have to manually "adjust" the roof to make sure it seals properly.

The Northstar engine has been a dream to operate, NO PROBLEMS WITH IT.

Rear visibility is a little challenging at times. It has great get up and go, and floats along during freeway driving.

VERY COMFORTABLE TO SIT IN. I don't get tired after long drives. The BOSE sound system is incredible. I really love the looks of the car, and I get lots of admiring stares from folks.

The white diamond paint job just glows, whether is be sunny or overcast, but is expensive to repair scratches because of the three layer paint process for this particular color.

General Comments:

This car will soon become a collectors item, so don't be afraid to hang on to these models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2005

1997 Cadillac Eldorado De'Elegance 4.6L 32V Northstar from North America


A very high performance luxury sedan!


Driver's memory seats have been replaced because they would work infrequently.

General Comments:

Dual exhaust on the car sounds great when the pedal is smashed into the floor.

275 horse power North Star engine is very fast and reliable.

Lots of rear seat room.

High quality leather, looks, feels, and smells great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd June, 2001

14th Jun 2005, 12:06

The Eldorado isn't a sedan, it's a coupe.

30th Jan 2009, 08:37

I agree, sedans have four doors, Eldorados are luxury coupes. But I will also agree that they are the one of the most amazing cars on the road, with possibly the best engine ever built. Keep buying foreign four cylinder, when we can make V-8's that still get 26MPG. Pure American perfection.