1976 Cadillac Fleetwood Seventy-Five Limousine 500-Cu.-In. from North America

Faults:

Needed front suspension parts replaced.

Air conditioning recharged.

Some brake work, including master cylinder.

General Comments:

My model Cadillac is the limousine.

Nine-passenger capability (thanks to rear jump seats), power partition window and rear footrests.

Car is just over 21-feet long (252.2 inches, to be exact) and weighs 6,040 lbs.

Front seat is leather and rear is crushed velour- both black in color.

Despite its huge size, it's surprisingly easy to drive (as long as there is enough room). Very comfortable ride and since the engine produces lots of low-end torque, performance is ample.

When I bought this car, it had a white vinyl top. I had it dyed black, so now the car is triple black. Looks very elegant! Only 834 '76 Cadillac limos were built, so you don't see many driving around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2004

13th Dec 2004, 21:07

Must be tough parallel parking that beast, LOL!

4th Nov 2005, 12:55

OH MY! I've been to Paris and I can't even imagine seeing such a large sedan driving around Paris let alone where would one park it?! You'd have to be incredibly rich to afford gas for it too! LOL! Can you get premium gas in Europe? My 72 Fleetwood has a dislike of regular and seems to only run on premium.

1976 Cadillac Fleetwood Brougham 60 Special 501 from North America

Summary:

For $12,000.00 a car well worth caring for

Faults:

I drove this vehicle from Chicago through the heat of the summer down to Houston, Texas and it performed superbly considering it had been stored and rarely driven. The original tires were still on the vehicle and only one caused a blowout, most likely due to inaccurate tire pressure.

AC froze up 3 times after having been on for 5-6 hours continuously in 95-100 degree heat. After turning the system off for a half hour it worked fine once more.

General Comments:

Car was perfect on the freeways and I took it down more than one gravel road.

Interior is one of the most comfortable I have ever been in.

The acceleration is impressive.

Gas mileage was about 8-12 miles per gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2002

8th Jul 2005, 21:54

I think this car would be great with an overdrive transmission. Super luxury with descent gas mileage.

1976 Cadillac Fleetwood De'Elagance 500 CID from North America

Summary:

Don't bother buying one

Faults:

Everything went wrong with this car,

I think it hated me! It has left me stranded a lot. Also parts are vary expensive.

General Comments:

Will not buy another Cadillac in my life. It was quick for a tank, though.

I will be going back to Lincoln in the same vintage era (1976).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd May, 2002

10th Jul 2002, 13:55

Keep in mind that when you bought this car it was 21 years old. If you are buying an older car, have someone check it over. That way if something does happen at least it won't surprise you. Good luck.

19th Nov 2002, 01:23

In response to your question "what is the difference between a 1976 Fleetwood & a 1976 Sedan DeVille"...

The most obvious difference, of course, is the window treatment of each car. The Sedan has a hardtop treatment with an opera window in the rear "C" pillar. The Fleetwood has more formal pillared windows. Also, the wheelbases are different - that of the Fleetwood being slightly longer than that of the Sedan.

The interior differences between these two models is subtle - but different. The Sedan door panels have a "simpler" treatment while the Fleetwood door panels have more faux wood trim. The front doors of the Fleetwood door inserts have an integral map light & the rear seat passengers have map lights in the pillars as well as pull-down footrests.

23rd Feb 2004, 23:48

The sedan DeVille has a hardtop this year, no B pillar. The Fleetwood had the B-pillar. The DeVille was a hardtop until 1977 then it was harder to tell from the body style.