1992 Cadillac Fleetwood 4.9L V8 from North America

Summary:

Best car ever made

Faults:

Alternator replaced by me; first thing done when bought.

Idle air controller replaced by mechanic.

New battery.

Oil change just done.

Now running 100 percent perfect.

General Comments:

This car is my first and last car!! She is amazingly quick, powerful, and makes turns so very sharp. She glides down the street swiftly and quietly. Like many say, Cadillacs ride like dreams. It's so very true. You can go 75 on her and feel as if you're going 45. She does 18 MPG in the city and 28mpg on the highway.

Her seats are as comfortable as the furniture in my home. Perhaps, even better. My friends say they feel as if they are royalty in a limo Haha. So very roomy. Best car I have ever owned. Only car I will ever own. I'll keep her forever!

Her name is The Millennium Falcon. Why? When she had her alternator issues, she would stall at the funniest of times. But when she was needed, she showed me what she was made of. She's got it where it counts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2012

2nd Jun 2012, 11:36

I'm very glad you are enjoying your first car - first cars are always special. Be sure to take lots of pictures, so 40 years from now you can look back with fond memories.

However, you say it is your first car, and then go on to say it is the best car you have ever owned? Gee, I wonder why? I felt my first car was the greatest car on the road too, I think lots of us do in our youthful exuberance.

I must say, I tend to think your MPG figures are on the highly optimistic side, unless ALL of your driving is down hill, and a very steep hill at that, and I seriously doubt that it will be your last car or the only car you will ever own.

Please do us a favor and let us know if/when you sell it or trade it in. My guess is within a year or so you'll be driving a different "best car you'll ever own".

2nd Jun 2012, 11:48

By the way, an oil change isn't a "fault", that's routine maintenance.

3rd Jun 2012, 11:40

I was foolish enough to trade my dream car in. I traded in my 2005 Park Avenue for my first brand new car last year, and regretted it every day. I really feel dumb now, as I realized I could have afforded to keep that car if I hadn't bought the new car last year, and leased the Enclave that I now have. I shouldn't have let that one get away; I am pretty certain that is the nicest car I will ever have.

In short, even in a few years when you aren't so enamored with the car, you might just want to keep it, because believe you me, modern cars just don't measure up, even if they are shiny and new.

21st Jun 2012, 03:02

Thank you all!! I doubt I'll sell her. Haha, I take pictures of her like crazy!! Even dedicated a song - Cadillac ranch by Bruce Springsteen. Think my girlfriend's jealous haha. She's been problem free and still rides beautifully, very happy. It is special, I truly love my car. Wow man, selling your dream car was a very bad decision!!!

21st Jun 2012, 03:05

True, lil mistake. Thanks!

13th Mar 2013, 20:27

Wanted to say, I still have my baby! Running strong.

1992 Cadillac Fleetwood 4.9 V8 from North America

Summary:

It's everything that's good about a Cadillac!

Faults:

Normal maintenance such as 4 new tires; replaced battery; oil changes done by myself; replaced power steering pump myself; had rear brake line rust thru, replaced at dealership.

General Comments:

Very dependable in extreme cold and heat.

Handles very well, and has plenty of power for passing and merging on freeway.

Incredibly soft ride and very quiet. Lots of leg and elbow room in cabin, and big trunk.

Front wheel drive and traction control work great in snow and ice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2011

22nd Jun 2012, 19:33

Hey, I like your review. One thing though, I thought all the Fleetwoods were rear-wheel drive. Is it the newer body style that shared a platform with the Chevy Caprice and the Buick Roadmaster? Just curious.

23rd Jun 2012, 08:47

Regular Fleetwoods are FWD. The Fleetwood Brougham is RWD built off the Caprice platform.

23rd Jun 2012, 19:24

Thanks for the clarification.

24th Jun 2012, 14:00

To clarify further, the full-size rear wheel drive Cadillac was known as the Brougham from 1985-1992. The front wheel drive Fleetwood was introduced in 1985, and dropped after 1992. In 1993, the Fleetwood was again full-size and rear wheel drive (Brougham was an option package). Cadillac discontinued the Fleetwood after 1996.

1992 Cadillac Fleetwood 4.9L Port Fuel Injection V8 from North America

Summary:

A top-of-the-line car that is second to none

Faults:

The only issue I have had is that the strut plates are worn, but they have not needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

This car is VERY powerful! The 4.9 liter V8 delivers awesome power. I have never pressed the gas pedal more than half way down. The car takes off and passes like a champ. I've toasted a few sports cars with this beauty.

The car has a very large cab with plentiful leg and head room and a large trunk. The seats are very comfortable and the interior is beautiful.

The car is beautifully designed. I get compliments on it constantly. It is very classy and extremely sharp looking. It is not quite as big as some of the older Cadillacs, but it is every bit as elegant.

The car rides very smoothly. It is a little boaty, but I like the slight floating feeling Cadillacs offer.

The car's instrument panel is well designed and easy to use.

The Bose Gold sound system in the car is utterly fantastic!

Cadillac Fleetwoods are truly the kings of automobiles. I have never found a car finer. This car has everything, from the big things to little extras like a toll change dispenser and glass designed to keep the car cooler in sunlight.

I highly recommend this car to anyone. It is very reliable and drives like a dream. Why would anyone want to be seen driving anything else? Cadillac was certainly ahead of its time with this model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2003

17th Jun 2009, 13:32

I just got a very fresh 1992 fleet wood. I love it already. its like an old car with a new soul. they don't make cars like this anymore.. beautiful!