1994 Cadillac Fleetwood Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1994 Cadillac Fleetwood 5.7 V8 LT-1 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 5.7 V8 LT-1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired94308 miles
Most recent distance94411 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

King of the Road

Faults:

I bought this car with a broken gas gauge.

Seems to require a lot of general maintenance.

General Comments:

The seats sold me on my Fleetwood. I bought the car not 10 hours ago. I've always dreamed of owning a Cadillac like Elvis and Italian Mobsters did.

I looked first at a 2004 DeVille, which was very nice, but I was shocked to find that the '94 Fleetwood was FAR more smooth in ride quality, and you really can't beat its sheer, intimidating size and luxury.

I worked my way up the GM ladder of luxury, starting with Chevy, and today I proudly call myself a Cadillac man. This car doesn't take no crap from newer, smaller cars either. I mean it is extremely fast for weighing more than 2 tons! I'd like to see a stupid Honda do that.

I seriously cannot understand why people are into foreign cars, when the Cadillac Fleetwood is clearly king of the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2010

15th Jun 2010, 12:06

Yeah, the dirty little secret is that things (particularly automotively) are getting worse, not better. A 1994 will generally be better than a 2004. You should check out the 1984s.

16th Jun 2010, 22:22

Heh don't even bother with a 1984 -- get yourself a 1954 and be really happy.

31st Oct 2011, 08:47

Yeah, I don't know about the quality of 1984's, between the 4, 6, 8's and the 4100 motor, you're better off with a 1994, 1974, 1964, or that 1954...

30th Oct 2013, 23:33

I disagree dude. I have a 1984 Coupe DeVille with that 4100 motor. It has 24,000 original miles and it runs BEAUTIFULLY! Sure, it's not the fastest because it's only a 4.1 litre, so it really doesn't want to do more than 65MPH, and not even that going uphill on a highway, but if you consider the national speed limit was 55MPH when this car was made, that's not bad! It's big, has a lot of luxury, and if you maintain it properly, it will give years of happy driving. I know a guy whose father bought one new, and he ran up almost 200K on it before trading it, and never had a problem with the engine!

1994 Cadillac Fleetwood Brougham 5.7 LT1 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.7 LT1 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired122000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

Pretty, but not especially good..

Faults:

Battery 70.

A/c power module 130.

EGR valve 60.

Waterpump.

Heater hoses.

Interior lights won't go off.

Vibrates at speeds more than 70mph.

Steering wheel is off center.

Exhaust leak.

Trunk pull down.

Paint is thin.

Skin dents too easy.

Memory seats don't work.

Seat heat doesn't work.

Transmission bushing and seal.

A/c drain fell off soaking the interior.

General Comments:

Very pretty car, definitely the best looking car I've had. the engine runs smooth enough, but I find the auxiliaries to be noisy. the ride is not as quiet as one would hope since roadnoise echos in the cabin giving a low frequent rumble at low speeds. The car vibrates at high speeds. it doesn't handle very well it has lots of bodyroll and feels like an older car than it is. power is more than sufficient. interior and trunkspace is not as good as expected for a car that size.

The previous owner (original) had many major problems with leaks of all kinds. several bills show amounts of 2000-3000$

My recommendation is to buy a similar Grand Marquis which is a better car for less money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th December, 2006

29th Jun 2007, 11:20

Grand Marquis is definitely less costly to buy, but it's definitely not as luxurious or nearly the status symbol these Fleetwoods are. I would argue it's not as reliable in 200k miles of driving compared to the Fleetwood.

4th May 2008, 15:05

Your fleetwood was 12 years old with over 120k miles when you got it. Those minor things that were wrong with it should be expected. A similar year and condition Grand Marquis would've had just as many and possibly more things wrong with it. Believe it or not a Fleetwood actually cost less to maintain than a Grand Marquis or similar Ford product i.e. Lincoln Town Car.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews