1996 Cadillac Fleetwood Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1996 Cadillac Fleetwood Brougham 5.7 LT1 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7 LT1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carCadillac Seville

Summary:

Why would they stop making such a great car?

Faults:

Radiator needed replaced (Cracked plastic holding tanks).

Tie-Rod Ends failed.

Pinion seal in rear differential.

Starter replaced at 130,000.

Traction Control Light on steadily.

General Comments:

This car is the best. I cannot honestly complain about anything yet. The seats are comfortable and the car is ideal for long trips, however most of my driving is around town. The LT1 motor has ample power. This car always turns heads and I get compliments about it all of the time. It took forever for me to find one in the color combination I wanted-triple black. GM was really foolish to stop making these. They are the last true Cadillacs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2005

19th Apr 2005, 12:02

Why did they stop making it?

GM wanted to use the Arlington, TX factory where they were building the B-bodies to build more SUV's, which were apparently more profitable.

So it was goodbye Roadmaster, Caprice, Impala SS and all the other B-body models.

29th Apr 2005, 07:18

I wrote to GM in 96 pleading with them not to stop making the B-Bodies... they told me the same thing that SUV were more profitable. I was most upset about the Impala SS..They said don't worry.. it may return in the future...I'm still waiting for it.. and NO the current line of Gimp-alas can't even come close.

1996 Cadillac Fleetwood 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

The Cadillac Fleetwood, '93 to '96 is the finest car ever made

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

This is the finest car for the money ever built. You can buy a $60,000 import, or you can pay around $10,000 for a used '96 Fleetwood.

The Fleetwood is a sure head turner. I get asked at the gas pumps often what the year is, is many available.

Neighbors stand and watch as I wash & wax it in the driveway.

This car literally floats on the interstate. I would hate to drive all night, as the comfort that envelop's me would make it hard to stay awake.

The one recommendation I have is be sure and get the Fleetwood Brougham. The standard cloth seats are not up to the Cadillac tradition.

Shame on Cadillac Motors for discontinuing this museum quality automobile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2004

4th Sep 2004, 02:30

"...at the gas pumps often"

I'm sure that is the case with this car!

24th Oct 2004, 14:57

It is the greatest car. It took me 5 months to find one in near perfect condition. I bought it mainly as a collector's item and for long trips as I own a 2002 Olds. Instead, I drive the Olds once every two weeks so it doesn't rot. The Brougham sound system is upgraded to super concert sound system. I am disappointed when I arrive at my destination as I do not want to leave the car. I have had to pay extra ($10.00) to park it in an NYC Garage. It may use more gas than small cars, however you don't have to drive it as far. (Due to it's length) In a parking lot, it is easy to find as you can just look down the rows and it sticks out. (about two feet) I can talk about it for hours and I usually do. I really love my Brougham!!

1996 Cadillac Fleetwood 5.7 LT1 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7 LT1 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

A hot rod granny-mobile

Faults:

Replaced front pads and turned rotors at 40,000.

Transmission blew up at 49k, but that had to do with too much horsepower.

No problems since the transmission.

General Comments:

I originally wanted an Impala SS until I found this Cadillac. It has the same engine, transmission, and drivetrain as the SS, both are rated at 260 hp stock. I decided to get the Cad because it was cheaper and you could fit six people in it. And mine is black, like the SS.

So far my lists of mods includes Accel high performance ignition module and plug wires, Bosch platinium plugs, Hyper tech Power Programmer, SLP ram-air intake, Hooker long tube headers, a custom y-pipe with an electric cutout, (stock exhaust after the y-pipe), and a 150hp shot of nitrous. Transmission has been rebuilt with strengthened parts and a yank 3000 stall torque converter. Rear end came with a posi-trac stock, with new 3.23 gears.

All of this is good for a 1/4 mile time of 13.4 with slicks. Not bad for a street car that weighs about 4300 lbs.

I love the look I get from people at the drag strip and on the street when I throw open the cut-out, making the car go from whisper quiet to running open headers.

This Cadillac is the ultimate sleeper, since it looks bone stock. Looks like something your Grandpa would drive.

I have only two gripes, handling and the interior. This car rides awesome, but under steers and leans like crazy. The whole interior, except for the seats, looks like a tarted up version of a Chevy. Nothing to write home about.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2004

28th Jan 2004, 10:21

For the money you spent on upgrades to this Fleetwood, you probably could have gotten a decent SS and then not look something akin to a fool when you show up at the dragstrip in a Caddy.

14th Jun 2004, 20:23

I agree with the Fleetwood owner. Why get an SS? Everyone and their brother has a hot rod Chevy. Not everyone has a hot rod Caddy. Also, when you line up with someone at a streetlight in any SS (not just an Impala), they know you have a hot car. Line up with someone in a Fleetwood, especially 1968-1972 & 1994-1996, and they WON'T know how hot your car is until they get a good look at your taillights. I speak from experience - I had a mean '71 that surprised quite a few hot Chevys.

10th Nov 2007, 20:49

Great review on the Caddy! I've got a Chevy Caprice with the same LT1 and drivetrain. What a terrific car it is! The only thing I don't like about it is that it looks like an ex-police car, which is not the look I'm after (and it isn't an old cruiser, but it looks like one). Mine's lowered and I've used the Bilstein shocks. These are mods you could do to the Caddy as well! Your review makes me want to get a Caddy and make the same mods to it! Great job.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 7 reviews