1997 Cadillac Seville Reviews - Page 3 of 8

1997 Cadillac Seville STS 5.9 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.9 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

Expensive, but mum was worth it!

Faults:

Engine overheated, cracked aluminum block, idiot light did not come on, had to replace engine.

Drivers side window motor.

"trunk sucker" electric latch.

Wiper resevoir kept leaking.

Passenger motors on pass. seat worked intermittently.

Front seat leather wore out quickly, back seats looked new (cause they were never sat in)

Car stank like a yappy 15lb. Jack Russel (oh wait, that's not a manufacturer defect, but a mum's pet defect)

General Comments:

This car is a tank!!!

Bought for mum, she HATED it... said "too big luv" it's like piloting a cruiseliner; but she eventually fell in love after reading the owners manual and realizing it did everything, but make coffee, it rode like silk, and when punching the gas it practically sprouts wings.

Then it started breaking. I must have put 5,000US (about 8,000UK) into fixing it. Mum hated it again. Gas prices went up, TERRIBLE mileage. GET RID OF THIS THING she yelled.

Then she crashed.

The death of the Seville was on Feb 14th, 2005, when mum was hit head on by a drunk driver in a giant suv. She was doing about 40, they turned into her at about 30. After extracting her from the wreckage and a helicopter ride to thew hospital later, they said "just bruises". I FIRMLY BELIEVE this car saved mum's life. Post wreck, the engine was pushed under the dash, the steering wheel was physically bent, and the entire front (incl front frame stanchions) was 15 inches long to the base of the windshield.

And just bruises for mum.

The best several thousand I ever spent.

Love ya mum.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th January, 2007

1997 Cadillac Seville SLE Northstar from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Northstar Automatic
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Summary:

Wouldn't buy another without warranty

Faults:

Changed the spark plugs, and wires as there was a miss in the engine at 68000 miles. However when the car is cold it starts very hard. Sometimes I'm not sure it will even start. Starts normally when the engine is warm. Also there is a oil leak of which the Cadillac dealership states is a midsection seal oil leak. They stated this a $1800.00 repair bill. The car drives very good, and was a Arizona car in great condition.

Does anyone have a idea on the hard start problem?

General Comments:

The car when running is very comfortable, and lots of power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th September, 2006

1997 Cadillac Seville STS 4.6 (J) from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.6 (J) Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Looks good, very comfortable, bad investment

Faults:

Water pump has been replaced twice and still leaks coolant from somewhere.

Electrical problems caused car to cut off going down highway.

Misfires on cylinders 2 and 7 at different times.

General Comments:

This car is great as far as comfort is concerned.

Too many computers and sensors all over car causing serious headaches.

Oil consumption not to big of a deal even with 90,000+ miles.

So expensive to repair even for the smallest of problems.

Front wheel drive in a big car with a V8 was a dumb idea.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st March, 2006

4th Apr 2006, 12:19

"Front wheel drive in a big car with a V8 was a dumb idea." OK, try having a rear wheel drive "big car" in winter, its not pretty. So that was the point of making these cars front wheel drive. Second, have you even tried to figure out why the car misfires? My car did that once, it was the plug wires. The water pump issue? Could have been the mechanics fault, not the cars.

1997 Cadillac Seville sts 4.6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance180300 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Faults:

It needs a lot of gas, and the info computer is a bit mixed up, but overal I love the car.

General Comments:

Fast, luxuries, power every thing and sexy I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2005

1997 Cadillac Seville STS 4.6 liter V8 Northstar 32 valve DOHC from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.6 liter V8 Northstar 32 valve DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired101800 miles
Most recent distance139573 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Achieva

Summary:

A stylish, inexpensive alternative to BMW with amazing performance and comfort

Faults:

Battery terminals were very corroded. We had to replace them after they became a headache. The air ride suspension can get expensive to repair, but nowhere near as bad as Lincoln's.

At about 115,00 miles the heater core had an electrical problem which cost about $400 to replace. The engine had to be dropped down to get to it which brought up the cost. Otherwise it would have been a lot less.

The front driver's side wheel bearing was replaced at about 132,000 miles. This cost $300.

The windshield was smashed by a rock on the highway and the Insurance company paid for 100% of the replacement cost.

That's been it over the course of over the last 2 years and 38,000 miles.

General Comments:

If this car was rear wheel drive and had a six speed manual transmission it would be one of the best cars in the world. This is why the new STS was made RWD and is getting rave reviews. When my friend Mike's dad got one of these in the early 90s the Northstar 300 Horsepower engine was considered to be magic. After a ride in it back in 1995 I wowed to get one someday. My only regret is that I didn't hold out for the pearl white. This car will accelerate like a Porsche 911 Turbo all day long! I've found out firsthand that the top speed is electronically limited at about 135mph. I KNOW this car could do 150 with the computer disabled.

The STS is a comfortable, stylish modern musclecar. Very civilized and conservative on the outside, but a real sports car on the inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2004

9th Dec 2004, 09:30

Thanks for the great review. I also love my 97 SLS. Yes there have been its problems, but once I pound that accelerator and I feel that smoothness rush through teh engine compartment, it all goes away.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 21 reviews