1998 Cadillac Seville 4.6 litre from North America


Best Car I'll Ever Own!


I have had a small problem with oil leaks. It takes about a quart every 2500 km.

The CD changer jammed after about 200,000 km. But it was a pretty cheap fix.

The back left heating seat also is not working, that just started a couple of weeks ago.

General Comments:

This Car is unbelievable! I thought my previous car was great (Lexus Ls400) but this is in a league of its own.

This car handles like its on rails.

Great gas mileage. (27-31 mpg highway)

The interior is roomy and classy.

I have owned this car for 7 years and I have nothing, but good things to say about the 98' STS. I have put 224,000 kilometers on it and have only had to make a couple minor repairs.


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2007

1998 Cadillac Seville from North America


Great looks - poor workmanship


Use of oil was unbelievable. Engine replaced (new one put in) after 63,000 miles - currently experiencing transmission problem.

General Comments:

Very comfortable car, but totally unreliable. Everytime I drive I hold my breath praying it gets me where I want to go. Seems like I spend more time (and money) in the shop then on the road. Would I buy another Cadillac - highly unlikely. May have to go to a foreign make next time. Shame, because I always thought Cadillac was a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th June, 2006

23rd Jan 2007, 15:39

Totally agree. My alma mater is in AL, but I live in IL. I always wanted to go there for my alumni event, but I am scared to drive this car down there.

Cadillacs are tricky, because it'll ride like you're on a cloud at first, but when you stop at the gas station and take the keys out, then get back, the ignition won't ignite.

Don't buy Cadillac.

1998 Cadillac Seville STS 4.6 from UK and Ireland


American cruiser wipes the smile from Bavarian-oriented bigots


All 4 wheels misaligned causing harsh vibration at high speed. Had the wheels laser-aligned and changed the Goodyear tires for Pirelli 6000's - vibration gone.

Crack in the pump block caused a coolant leak. Block replacement was necessary.

Crack in the power steering filter caused fluid loss. Replacement filter required.

CD player mistracking.

General Comments:

I love my Seville. Despite some needed mechanical attention, it is still the best car I have owned to date.

Body styling is respectable and trim levels are excellent. The Seville doesn't look out of place on UK roads.

The ride is very comfortable and a real joy for anyone with back trouble; even on long journeys. The ride won't be to everyone's liking: in Europe, people tend to prefer a firmer (and harsher) ride. On smaller and slower UK country lanes, the ride can sometime be a little bouncy, so you'll have to take things a little less rushed, if you want a graceful rather than shaken journey.

Running costs are no worse than my previous car; it's no gas guzzler.

Dealer support in UK is very poor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2006

1998 Cadillac Seville STS 4.6L Northstar V8 from North America


One I could own for a lifetime


In reference to the previous owners who have brought up the fact that their Seville's seem to take a lot of oil. I do have the similar problem, but not to quite that extent. At first I noticed the car did seem to be taking a lot of oil, later to find out due mostly to my driving habits. Since the car responds when you hit the gas so well, I tend to be pretty heavy on the accelerator until I get up to speed. Who doesn't enjoy doing that at times? This rapid acceleration attributed to the burning of more oil in my case. I discovered that when I experimented being easier on the accelerator, which did have a perceivable effect on how much oil I had left at the next change. Yes, the car still takes oil, but it is a 275HP V8 mind you. I don't know of a lot of engines that size and bigger that don't. Especially my last car. Which had a 307V8, and took slightly more oil. So I would say that if this car has any downfalls at all, it would be the servicing expenses. But it's not big enough of a problem (in my case at least) for me to be bitter toward the car. I'm still very attached to it and would definitely buy it all over again.

General Comments:

I love the car. It's comfortable, roomy, quiet, responsive, classy, and has never given me any trouble. The whole oil thing is outweighed by the other attributes of the car to me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2005

4th Oct 2006, 00:24

I Love the car as well. I have 79,000 miles and experience the loss of oil as well, but have found if I keep the oil changes at every 3000 miles with 10W/30, I am only down half a quart which I don't think is too bad when there is still 6.5 quarts left.

I changed the front brakes and rotors at 48,000 (rotors had warped causing some vibration).

Changed the engine coolant at 60,000 miles.

I use Michelin MXV4 Plus XSE 100H 235/60/16 tires. I am on my second set and have been very happy with the wear and performance from this tire on this car.

The only problem with the car has been the deterioration of the felt inside the rear seat fold down arm rest and some slightly sweeky bushings in the front end suspension.

28th Jun 2009, 14:53

*also noticed the felt in the console in the rear wearing away, mushy feeling.. wondering if I should just rub it all off.