1998 Cadillac Seville SLS Northstar from North America


New ones are pricey


So far nothing wrong with the car.

General Comments:

The car is great. Fast, handles well, drives smooth and is comfortable. I have just purchased it (an immaculate used 1998 Seville, 72,000 miles) from my neighbor. Very happy with the car, he took impeccable care of it. He just purchased a brand new Seville. When he got the 98’, he went through the same tire vibration as everybody talks about (dealer replaced parts and pieces, but to no avail). Using the dealers Hunter GSP9700 balancer (that is able to account for road force) they solved the problem with new “hand picked” tires. The car has no vibration now.

He picked up his new Seville in Cleveland, OH and drove it back to Memphis, TN. Yes, the vibration was present! Went to the dealer and the Hunter, after 3 tires or so he has no vibration. Both cars run on Michelin's.

To say these cars don’t have a problem with delicate/critical tire balance would be an omission of obvious facts (far too many postings of the same problem). I don’t believe it has anything to do with tire brand… I still love the car, and for the $10,000.00 that I paid for it, I feel I got a great deal.

Now, what will I do when I need new tires (in about 15,000 miles or so)? I will go to my local tire shop (that has a Hunter or other balancer that can account for road force), explain the issue, and make sure they will stand behind the tires. Other than waiting for GM to do something about it, what else can I do? I am open to suggestions…

Bottom line, (from what I have gleaned from the info available) this is a suspension design problem that presents itself when tires do not roll with equal pressure (road force) against the pavement. The analogy being that you can balance a football to spin true around an axis perpendicular to its length, but it certainly will not roll on the ground this way. Keep in mind; road force will not only be caused by a tire being out of round. A “hard” spot in the tire composition will also cause this. In this regard a tire company with a better Q.C. System in place will likely have a better tire…

By the way, mine also uses just over 1qt of oil per 1,500 miles. I can deal with that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th January, 2004

27th Feb 2005, 14:56

I agree with that last report and I say that I love my car very much. it's a 1998 cadillac seville with about 119000 miles on it and I also have to add about 1 quart every once and awhile, but I can do that. the tires seem to shake once and awhile, but if you clean them out I have found that to help. other that that the car is great and I will always drive a cadillac.

8th Jul 2006, 20:56

It is true. People are complaining about Cadillac's front end shake. Stop complaining. The tires are at fault. Change the tires and you will see no bumping around. Today's quality tires are at question.

27th Jul 2006, 09:29

My 2005 Deville suffered from a vibration that would come and go at any constant speed above 62 mph. After numerous wheel balances and tire replacements, the dealer checked and replaced the hubs (wheel bearing assemblies). Now it's smooth as silk.

Have the dealer check the front and rear hub tolerances.

9th Jan 2008, 10:49

As an introduction I was the guy that originally started this comment. Well, with 140K on the odo I sold my Seville. Reason for the sale was as follows. AC went out, approx $2K to get it fixed. ABS light kept coming on, no idea what it was or wasn't. Check engine light on off, on off don't know? Seat memory would sometimes work, sometimes not. Finally, I had the opportunity to buy my buddy's mom's Civic (w/ 56K miles) for $5K. I sold it for $2K. Cost me $8K to drive it for 70K miles, well worth it in my opinion. Would I get another one? First let me say I would drive just about any car if I could get a good enough deal on it (hence the Civic). Few cars are worth the money new. So in the end, no, I would not buy another Caddy (unless the fantastic deal). Good luck with your cars. But boy, it sure did drive nice!!

1998 Cadillac Seville STS Northstar from North America


I feel as if I'm part of the car and not just driving a car


Sometimes the engine idles rough, though not always, and the seat belt covers have come loose on each side of the front seats.

General Comments:

So far I am pleased with the vehicle. My last car was a 1994 SLS. I was satisfied enough to buy the STS and so far it has been a joy to drive. My wife is small and finds the seat adjusts enough to fit even her small height. Visibility is excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2002

8th Jul 2006, 20:59

Rough engine idling comes from water in gas, or impurities in gas, too.

1998 Cadillac Seville STS 4.6L 32 Valve V8 from North America


I wish I could drive the Seville all day

General Comments:

For the vehicle's size, the acceleration is mind blowing.

The Bose stereo system is awesome, I've had it cranked all the way up and never a drop of distortion.

I honestly can't think of anything bad to say about this vehicle, I love the throaty growl the engine makes and the cars effortless cornering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2002

1998 Cadillac Seville Concours 300 Northstar from North America



General Comments:

For a car of this size, it really moves.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 1998

1998 Cadillac Seville STS Northstar 300hp from North America


Driver side door would lock, and intermittently refuse to open. Dealer replaced the lock. No further problem.

General Comments:

Have owned prior STS cars, this one, built on new platform far exceeds the others. Out performs many "performance" cars. Ready to move from boys car to a mans car....this is the way to go! Performance of a sports car, comfort of a luxury car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 1998