2001 Cadillac Seville SLS 4.6L from North America


This car is the best caddy ever made, but the vibration at 65-70mph makes me insane. Everybody is talking about tires, but that did not fix my problem.

GM not trying fix the problem for costumers does not surprise me, they are only collecting bonuses instead worrying about selling cars. Can anybody tell me exactly what is the problem?

General Comments:

Best of the best.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2010

15th Dec 2010, 05:51

OK the vibration can be eliminated. The car is very sensitive to the road.

1. You need Michilen Symmetry or Good Year Assurance tires.

2. Road force balance

3. 40 PSI in tires not 32 PSI. That will solve the problem.

6th Aug 2011, 15:52

Heard the same argument - to change the !@?+#! tires or not.

Read this.

Had the same exact problem with my '01 STS. Came from the factory fitted with Goodyear Eagles - worst tires ever made in my opinion. Even while driving the car like an old lady, was lucky to get 30k miles out of them. And all the time had terrible vibration at speeds of 60+ mph. Got into fights with front-end alignment guys and tire mounters (balancing) to no avail.

Got a set of Michelin's about 5 months ago. Wow. Now like driving on a cloud - at any speed - without compromising the legendary STS handling charteristics. Unbelievably smooth and quiet! After 10k miles, almost no signs of wear. The Michelin's come with a 60k warranty, and they're cheaper than the Goodyear Eagles.

If you're putting any brand other than Michelin on your STS, you're wasting your money in my opinion.

2001 Cadillac Seville STS 4.7L from North America


Best handling car for the northen climate


Steering column had to be replaced.

Head lights.

General Comments:

The heads lights were very costly, and dealership fees for the replacement bulbs were same as light...

Car Quest cost for bulb was $100.00, and Midas put the part in; total cost 145.00. Dealer 993.00.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2010

8th Sep 2010, 16:04

You title your review "Best handling car for the northern climate" and then go on about headlight replacement. Pretty vague review overall. What makes this such a great winter car? I have experience with Subaru, and they are the best winter cars out there as far as I am concerned.

Elaborate a little. Everyone knows dealers rip you off totally when you come in for simple parts like headlights. I was quoted $750 for a trailer hitch, and I got it done elsewhere for $226.

2001 Cadillac Seville SLS Northstar V8 from North America


This was a bad choice for me


2001 Cadillac Seville SLS Problems.

1. Ignition Switch became intermittent and digital display panel would go blank, after starting the car. At first, if I jiggled the key, it would come back on, then no instruments. I would rather have high quality standard, separate gauges.

2. The “Check Engine” indicator to come on.

A P1133 fault code, plus 9 other codes came up on a OBD2 Scanner. Replaced both front O2 sensors on each bank, upstream of catalytic converter and erased the codes.

3. The car developed a bad shimmy at 40 mph. Had to replace the worn-out right front ball joint.

4. Several of the system services warning indicators have since come on (battery, air bags, security system, ABS, and a couple of others I can’t remember). The car drives OK and everything seems to work, so I think the computer is confused. Someone told me that the computer needed to be reset. I guess this is something like rebooting your PC. One website said to disconnect the battery negative connector, but another said not to??

I am going to fix this GM monstrosity and sell it ASAP.

General Comments:

The Seville still looks and drives good, but I have had a lot of electrical and mechanical problems. The Northstar V8 engine takes up almost the entire engine compartment, which makes it very hard to work on and equally expensive to have repaired. There are also a number of cheaply made plastic parts that have broken on the car.

I think I have purchased my last American car, they just cut too many corners. My wife has an 01 Camry, which never had to go back to the dealer for any warranty repairs or anything since, except battery, tires and front brakes, which I installed myself. I now see why Toyota is so popular.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th July, 2009

2nd Mar 2010, 21:48

Are you kidding me??? Camry better???

The problem with STS/SLS is actually their owners. I've been owning Seville's since I have memory, you have to do all the scheduled services on these cars, and a 10 buck oil change won't cut it. I never have problem with these cars.