2001 Cadillac Seville SLS V8 Northstar from North America


I love it!


I notice the vibration of the wheels when I accelerate to 65-70 mph.

The drivers side seat does not heat up.

The car has cut off twice while I was driving at a low speed. I'm not sure why, but a friend has told me it may be a sensor going bad.

General Comments:

I have had the SLS for only a couple months, but I do love the car. It is a smooth ride! It picks up speed fast, and looks nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2009

20th Jun 2009, 20:29

"The car has cut off twice while I was driving at a low speed."

- The crankshaft position sensors might be going bad.

2001 Cadillac Seville STS V8 Northstar from North America


Unless you live next door to a Cadillac dealer and have deep pockets... stay away from this car!!!


Suspension Sensor faulty, $300+ repair

Stalls for no reason

Theft Deterrent system faulty, $600+ to repair, had to have it towed to dealer

Service Engine soon light goes on after gas fill up and stays on for a few days

Battery Post broke although located under seat. Had to have it towed to dealer. No Explanation from Dealer except to replace...Expensive!

General Comments:

Comfortable, classy looking. Loved the powerful engine but completely unreliable car. Handled beautifully.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th September, 2008

27th Sep 2008, 10:09

My 01 STS I bought new. The only problem I EVER had was the crank sensors (wich caused it to stall), but that wasn't very expensive to fix. Sounds like someone had a bad dealer. But my STS just hit 110,000 miles. These are great cars. Just like any other vehicle you must maintain it. A "broken battery post" sounds like owner neglect. Oh and my battery post never broke.

2001 Cadillac Seville sls 4.7 northstar from North America


Extremely well built American luxury sedan


A knob on the interior broke off, but the dealership fixed it for me.

General Comments:

This car has been very reliable.

It is very luxorious inside (power headrest, etc.)

When you mash on it, you get pushed into the back seat.

It does 0-60 extremely fast for a car of its size.

On the highway it glides along and when I need to pass, it has all the power I need to pass anyone out there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2006

2001 Cadillac Seville sls 4.6 from North America


The only complaint I have is the 65 to 70mph vibration. I have done my research, talked with people on line, dealers and other owners in my area.

This is what I found. I replaced lower control arms with new gm updated ones, i replaced wheel bearings, rotors, tie rods, axles, hubs and last, but not least michelin, symmetry tires. None of these things help. The problem is a combination of two items. First I had my tires road force balanced that took care of a lot of the vibration, but not all. the second thing is lower motor mounts. These two things together have totally eliminated my problem. Just to let everyone no the only reason I kept my cool and went threw all this is because besides the vibration this car is awesome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd September, 2006

2001 Cadillac Seville SLS 8 Cylinder from North America


Over priced


Plastic rocker panel on the driver's side was replaced at 13,000 miles.

The right tie rod end was replaced at 20,000 miles.

The driver's seat heater coil was replaced at 21,000 miles.

There is a serious front tire vibration at 70 miles per hour.

General Comments:

The SLS handles very well as an American sports sedan.

The car is very responsive and has superior acceleration.

However, the overall quality of the car is very suspect relative to the high sticker price.

Tire vibration is the latest issue, and it appears others are having the same problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th June, 2004

1st Nov 2004, 23:09

You might try different tires. I don't know why, but I installed a set of Goodyear Eagles on my STS and the vibration ended.

2001 Cadillac Seville SLS 32 V Northstar from North America


Inconspicuously classy


I've had no problems with it so far.

General Comments:

The first time I saw this car, it was love at first sight.

My husband had been trying to get me into a different vehicle, but I didn't see anything I liked until I saw the SLS.

I have had my SLS for almost a month and love it!

It is the smoothest shifting car I have ever driven.

It is comfortable, roomy even for my husband who is 6' 1"

Excellent acceleration and handling.

All the gadgets took some getting use to, but now I am spoiled.

We are planning on enjoying this car for a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2004