Checker A11 Reviews

1982 Checker A11 Winkoff 267 CID from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 267 CID Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

A classic cool ride

Faults:

Seat belts wore out.

The car almost rusted away when I wasn't looking.

General Comments:

I love this car. It is under powered, slow on take off, and corners like an elephant. It is basically ugly, and gets poor gas mileage.

However, it seats eight people when the jump seats are used, and rides like a brick on glass (smooth). Best of all - it is a Checker!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2004

18th Apr 2004, 13:37

Yea, it's not hard to believe how it could rust away when you weren't looking.

Checkers were not easy to look at even when they were new.

17th Jun 2004, 02:58

As a cab driver I wish that they still made the Checkers, as for the Crown Victoria's we use today as taxi's there is not enough room especially with a shield put in. I'm sure if they still made Checkers with todays technology they would be evn better cars for the taxi-cab business.

4th Feb 2008, 14:28

I have a 1981 Checker Winkoff A11 Extended Chasis that I need to get rid of if anybody has interest.

24th Feb 2008, 06:17

Where is the checker and how much are you asking? e mail me at slammer992@aim.com.

12th May 2011, 21:41

Checker stopped in 2009, when they filed for Chapter 11. They were sold off piece by piece until all that was left of the once proud giant was a name.

A damn shame.

But, that might make it cheaper to resurrect it as a car maker.

30th Dec 2011, 22:52

The reason it was slow was the 250 Chevy straight six. If it had the 350 (even though at the time GM turned them into garbage), it would have been far better.

1977 Checker A11 Taxicab 250 six cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 250 six cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance157000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Both a challenge and a joy to own one!

Faults:

I've had to replace the flywheel.

Replaced the alternator.

Replaced most of the front suspension.

Replaced the power steering pump.

3 or 4 brake jobs.

Some electrical problems.

Floorboards and the tops of the rear fenders rusting out - these are typical rust spots for Checkers.

Of course there are the common "wear items" such as suspension parts, hoses, bearings, and anything else you'd expect to need attention after 20 years.

General Comments:

Former taxicab.

The drive train has never let me down.

I suspect upkeep is no more than any other car its age.

Size makes you feel secure.

Does well in snow.

It is no performance car; it's not speedy.

It's about as aerodynamic as a brick.

Room in the rear seat is incomparable to anything less than a limousine.

Parts can be a challenge to find.

If you don't want attention, don't drive a Checker.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2004

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 2 reviews