1989 Chevrolet Astro CS 4.3L V6 from North America

Summary:

A bullet proof tank that goes forever

Faults:

Overall this vehicle has taken a lot, but still keeps ticking. In over 100K miles the vehicle has had the following issues:

Worn out idler arms never replaced

2 brake jobs.

2 Complete tune ups.

Brake lines rusted out.

Replaced 1 set of tires.

Exhaust system keeps falling apart.

Fan control resistor rusted out.

3-4 clutch burned out at 101,000 miles.

Strange electrical problem with the windshield wipers (turn on by themselves as times)

Side door fell off (hinge broke)

Interior light switch drained battery down.

Shocks shot and never replaced.

Back door latch broke a couple times and could not get the door open. Fixed for now.

10 oil changes (if lucky)

General Comments:

This van is like driving a tank. If you need to haul something it can do it, if you need it to race against mustangs at 130 Mph it will do it (not happy) This van has been offroad, hill climbing, and any where else in between and still squeals the tires every time. I have to admit for a vehicle that does not get much service attention it does not slow it down at all. I think this is the best mini-van they ever built.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2003

19th Jan 2004, 11:20

I am the owner of a 1993 Astro and I generally agree with your comments. Many of the same things that happened to this Astro also happened to mine. Speaking of which I notice your blower fan resistor rusted out, I believe mine is too, but I can't find where it is located, could you see your way clear to sending me a note and telling me where it is located?

Thanks

Mike Lelinski

ho11ywood885@tds.net.

17th Mar 2004, 10:21

For sure. I have an 89 with the factory 5 speed and man does she ever go. This van has been off road as well and nevr lets me down she starts up on the first try every time with 380,000 kms on her. I'm 19 and this is my second van and prolly not my last.

GO Leafs Go.

21st Jul 2004, 10:16

An Astro is NOT minivan. It is classed as a small truck.

2nd Mar 2008, 01:19

It should be classed under small tank instead.

1989 Chevrolet Astro CL V6 from North America

Summary:

Greatest made American van

General Comments:

This is the best van that I have every purchased. I was a little worried when I purchased my Astro Van. My van runs great for having over 200,000 miles on it. Chevy makes the best American vehicles on the road. I will never go back to Ford again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2003

1989 Chevrolet Astro RS 4.3 V6 from North America

Summary:

Great

Faults:

Well when we first got it, it was GREAT for the 1 or two days of having it. Ran great for a day and a half. Of course, we bought it used and thought it was going to be a GREAT runner until the main seal went it in the 1 day we owned it.

Then after that the crank shaft went in the engine. GRRRR. Now my van has been down for 4 weeks trying to get the other engine in it. I will say this - the motors they put in those vans are a pain in the butt to get out if you're a back yard kinda person. Take my word on this, take it to a shop and get it fixed that way. I know sometimes it's the cheaper route, but with these vans, take it to someone who has stuff to do it with.

Now the problem is the power steering bracket will not stay on right, and the bolts are broke that go into the block so my van is going to be down maybe another week or so. GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR.

General Comments:

But other than that, well I would really buy one of these BRAND NEW IF I HAD THE MONEY AND CREDIT!!! For real I would. They're a very good van and great room in there for a mini van. I can't wait till it's going again so I can take it for a ride once again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2003

1989 Chevrolet Astro CL 4.3 Vortec from North America

Faults:

I just bought it a few weeks ago for $850.00. It had a little damage in the back and a few electrical problems, and I haven't had problems with it yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2002